We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant of our North Italy trip!”
Review of La Pignese

La Pignese
Ranked #30 of 341 Restaurants in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“The best restaurant of our North Italy trip!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The manager was glad to tell us the story of the restaurant which started about 100 years ago. The seafood meals (especially Bouillabaisse) was incredibly delicious. It's great to come the first time to a place and to feel like everyone there is your friend there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZeposNastya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    112
    36
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dreadful!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This was a waste of my girlfriend and my time. Waiters were rude, and barely took any notice of us, it was hard to get any service and once our meals arrived they were disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattylovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sochi, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We had a dinner at this cosy place - dishes were great and atmosphere was so nice!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I was excited by food and wine - everything was delicious!and we got to know Marco Ventimiglia,a charming owner of La Pignese!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank InnaFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Waste Of Time”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

dinner with family on week night.
don't waste your time with this substandard restaurant, many better places available.
it was recommended by our hotel driver, i should have checked tripadvisor first!
first course was ok, but second course a disaster, hair in the food, served cold, tasteless.
seems the microwave was not working well. waiter had an attitude,service break down at the end.
they are ranked too high at number 48.
noticed the owners seem to hover in the dining area and are surprised when food is rejected.
they need to spend their time in the kitchen making sure the food is prepared correctly.
never again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
852 reviews
722 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Tradition, Quality, Hospitality”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Most people value tradition when it is matched with peerless quality. It is a significant achievement when a family has steered a fine restaurant through 93 years of public service through all manner of times and still appears to be going strong, There is plenty of competition in San Remo today, and the current financial turbulence must make it difficult to maintain high standards and stay in the black. Still, La Pignese appears to have achieved that balance.

We dined at this restaurant for lunch on the recommendation of our hotel here three years ago, and returned today to have an equally enjoyable meal of high quality. The restaurant sits at the far end of a very busy restaurant quarter overflowing two old small squares of the old fishermen's quarter. Today,a busy road and a marina, rather than fishing boats are nearby. When it is too cold to sit outside, there is a pleasant view of extensive flower beds through spotless glass windows.

The menu is not extensive, but everything we have had both times was prepared well and was attractively served. Spaghetti with baby octopus in a local olive sauce was an excellent starter. A rollade of fresh branzino stuffed with local artichokes, spinach and pine nuts, garnished with slices of potato and a delicate cream sauce was superb.

The restaurants dessert cart has plenty of temptations. The wine list had a respectable selection of wines, particularly and appropriately in those from Liguria.

We found the service to be polite, professional and perhaps just a bit slow, but we weren't in a hurry. I did feel the service staff were very kind and genuine people that would likely be a little more informal and personable with regular customers. Unlike another prominent restaurant a few doors away, I did feel our business was appreciated even as transient visitors.

This restaurant maintains the name of Trattoria. We did not expect an extensive range of dishes. Better to do what you do well. The dining room is simple, but attractive. The photos of famous people who have dined there, and honors belonging to the chefs are tastefully displayed, and understandable in a place that has earned its popularity.

I don't know what minor or imaginary slight lost them their Michelin rating a few years back. Perhaps it is the use of plastic cooling bags on the white wine (they still have wine buckets for sparkling wine and requesting customers). Or maybe it is the slightly slow service. As far as we are concerned, it it the quality of the food on the plates that count.
The local and french clients who we were sharing the dining room with seemed to agree. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pignese also viewed

 
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to La Pignese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing