We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Fantastic room with sea view, wonderful and helpful staff, amazing spa and sea water swimming pool with restaurant serving delicious fresh salad and sea food- a really wonderful break. We will certainly go back. on arrival we were upgraded fro a garden view room to a beautiful room overlooking the sea with a double balcony. Delicious breakfast taken on the terrace. Nothing was too much trouble and the reception staff were very helpful in booking restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sardine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was our 4th trip to this hotel but we had not been for 6 years, what an experience from the moment you book this hotel the service from its staff is incredible, thank you Carlo for making the reservation so straightforward and for giving us such a wonderful room, stayed on the 1st floor where the rooms have amazing terraces with sun beds and tables and chairs for secluded outside sun bathing !! The best sea views in the whole hotel. We could not fault the room at all.
We stayed for the festivities of the 15th of August and had wonderful food and a great live show with DJ in to the early hours.
The hotel spa is relaxing and peaceful and the breakfasts on the terrazza overlooking the sea are the best we have had !!
We will come back.......

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Leading hotel of the world? I question it. This is a hotel with a magnificent view overlooking the sea. The rooms are very spacious, but dated, the pool with sea water is in absolute need for renovation (mosaic stones are coming off, sand in the pool, ), the terrasse for breakfast needs to be refurbished...The hotel foresees a place at the private beach, but it works with cards that the "friendly" receptionists need to provide you. They only have a very limited number of cards (much too few) and we finally got during a 6 day stay one time the occassion to go after begging to get them at 00:01 for the next morning (family with 3 kids). Not normal at that level and that price. The tennis court is dated and needs renovation, the basket ball/hard core football pitch forget it, the fitness has 3 modern machines (but they were always free - maybe the Russians do not like fitness:)). Staff is not overly enthousiastic and during our stay, we never saw anyone taking a brush to clean the terrasse during or after breakfast (pigeons took care of it). The wifi is free but works again with cards containing codes for 5 hours - we are in the 21st century... Please adjust. And please verify your bill...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaHotelSanremo, Direttore generale at Royal Hotel Sanremo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen the Royal Hotel Sanremo for your recent holidays in August and for sharing your experience.

I am aware that leisure time spent by clients is very precious and that very high level of comfort, facilities, services and care of details are expected. We constantly strive to meet our guests’ needs and expectations. Both positive and negative comments are welcome and helpful to improve our standards. They are also taken in due evidence for our maintenance, restyling and renovation works we regularly carry out during our seasonal closing.

I am delighted to learn that, generally, you enjoyed and loved the days you spent with us, finding our hospitality, service, staff and food excellent. If, on the opposite, any inconvenience occured or you felt any discomfort, please allow to me to express my sincere apologies and regret.

I noted with pleasure that you also appreciated the room you were assigned overlooking the sea which met with your expectations. With regard to the critical points you put in evidence about the bed, wi-fi connection, TV reception system not working, I will of course make good use of them to prevent future occurrences.

Referring to the swimming-pool that you found lovely, I kindly let you know that the entrance is free of charge for our guest. The charge of Euro 50,00 you mention for its use applies only to non-resident guests. Concerning the state of the pool, it is true that it needs big maintenance works. It was designed by Giò Ponti and inaugurated in 1948, being an important and protected historical piece of work. We have planned its total renovation among our investments by the end of 2015 keeping its original style, in co-operation with the omonimous Foundation in Milan.

In addition to this, I take the opportunity to update you in a more extensive way. Our guests’ satisfaction represent our priority. To achieve this, every year we regularly plan important maintenance and restyling works with a blend of tradition and innovation during our closing months. Team trainee courses are regularly organised up to 4,200 working hours per year.
However, despite our commitment, sometimes some negative aspects may arise in particular during our peak season with the maximum occupancy.

We love our property and we have been successfully devoting many efforts and much passion to keep our “ 142-years old lady” always young and fresh, being rewarded by continuous trust and fidelity from our clientele. Our hotel is an historical one with its own atmosphere and its own architectural shell very different from a hotel chain or a new property. This gives unique charm and appeal many guests are looking for, becoming regular visitors.

Last, but not least, I would like to add that our score on Tripadvisor for which we have been receiving the Certificate of Excellence since 2010, reaches 85% placing the Royal among the top-ranked hotels in our area. With Booking.com our score is 9.1, while at the recent yearly inspection of The Leding Hotels of the World in July, strictly run by a “mistery guest”, our score totalized 86.1% ranking us at the second position among our competitors from Santa Margherita Ligure to Saint-Tropez, including the Principality of Monaco. These results are higher that the ones achieved in the previous years and we are proud for this.

Feeling confident that our position has been clarified, I will de delighted to welcome you again among our valued guests in the near future, assuring you that we will do the utmost to make your stay most comfortable, relaxing and pleasant and hoping that you will not see a different reflection in the mirror from the bright smiling the Royal will offer you.

In the meantime, I wish you a nice continuation of the season and send you my warmest regards from the sunny Italian Riviera of Flowers,

Marco Sarlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

stayed at hotel for 2 nights and was very impressed. we stayed in a modernised suite on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the sea. the view from there and from the rear of the hotel by the pool is as spectacular as any ive seen in 30 years of travel. yes its a hotel with history and the pool is a little old round the edges but it has class and our room was newly refurbished with modern flat screen tvs, tasteful bathroom and quite a soft bed by italian standards. would have no hesitation to recommend.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank AdamCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed (2 of us) at this hotel from the 11th to the 16th of August. we got a renovated room, overlooking a tree, practically out of the balcony was a full tree staring at us in the face. I am tree lover but i paid and booked a full sea view room with balcony. complained and got moved to a full sea view room. Beautiful view, great gardens views, no faults here.This hotel has the potential to be a GREAT hotel , but in desperate need of Cultural renovation! the problem here is the staff, not friendly receptionists, probably overworked, not friendly restaurant staff ,neither in main rest nor in beach restaurant. I made a serious effort to engage the staff and succeeded in getting smile , but it should not be this way! i then tried the tipping route: when i could not get proper service i tipped,generously, the tipped waiter then disappeared totally!!! i have seldom regretted tipping but this time, was serious regret
Internet, only valid for 5 hours(but free), ancient connecting system, used when we were doing 56k shhhhhhhh zzzz , etc.. for those of you that remember this.
staff were all middle age, so probably long serving staff, but lacking motivation. EXCEPT housekeeping staff they were great, fast, effective and very friendly (without tipping)
Now the pool:
A mixture of sea water and chlorine (in some overdose) makes the water a serious eyes hazard, But it does not end there. most parts of the pool are rusted, tiles have fallen off the edges in tens of places, stones put as steps that are seriously dangerous if one falls on them , and almost everywhere, algae. enough said.
to get a place at the beach you need to race to the reception not late that 08:00 to get the voucher. pity really. very poor value for money
and for the young of you, i think the average age at the hotel was around 65!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kdante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaHotelSanRemo, Direttore generale at Royal Hotel Sanremo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the preference given to the Royal Hotel Sanremo for your recent holidays and for having taken time and trouble to write a review.

We constantly strive to meet our guests’ requests and expectations. Both positive and negative comments are welcome to help us improving our standards of facilities and services. We also take them in due evidence for our maintenance, restyling and renovation plans we reguilarly carry out during our seasonal closing.

I am perfectly aware that leisure time clients spent is very precious and that very high level of comfort, services, facilities and care of details are expected.

I carefully looked into the matter. Please allow me to express my apologies and regret for any inconvenience or discomfort felt during your stay with us.
I took good note of your concerns and I will of course make good use of them.

With regard to the room you were assigned that didn’t comply with the sea view you expected, after your complaint, we gladly and promptly give you a full sea-view room that you much appreciated. We are at our guests’ disposal and willing to handle and solve any inconvenience in an assertive way during their stay with us.

Concerning your remarks about the unfriendly attitude and lack of motivation of the staff, in particular at the Reception Department and at the Restaurants, I investigated and I assure you that the team is trained to meet our clients’s needs using professional and kind manners. When necessary, appropriate measures are taken to make the staff members realize how much important are the efficiency and friendliness in order to prevent any future occurrences. Team trainee courses are also regularly carried out for more that 4,200 working hours per year.
However, despite our efforts, some negative aspects sometimes may arise during a peak season with the maximum occupancy.

As for the pool, it was designed by Giò Ponti and inaugurated in 1948, thus representing an important and protected historical piece of work. We have planned its total renovation among our investments by the end of 2015 keeping its original style, in co-operation with the omonimous Foundation in Milan.
About your concern for the chlorine, it is not overdosed. It regularly complies with the directions of the Italian Public Office in charge and daily tests are strictly made by our Bathing Attendant.

Referring to the problem of voucher for getting a place at the beach, unfortunately it occurred this year, due to the fact that we had a huge increase in the requests. Maybe guests prefer to go to the beach instead of using and relaxing at our swimming-pool. The beach doesn’t belong to our property, but it’s a private lido with umbrellas and sunbeds where we have a fix allotment from June to September thay may be increased upon request to the managing company, according to availabily. Therefore, the beach management is not in our control. We never describe or sell the beach as a guaranteed service, but as free of charge, “according to availability”. For next summer, we will of course examine and finalize a different solution to prevent any complaints from our guests.

You also mentioned the age of our guests. Please, kindly note that during summer season we have around 50-60 children under 12 years while the average age of our clients is 43. They are of all ages and all welcome.

Finally, just to update you, our score on Tripadvisor for which we have been receiving the Certificate of Excellence since 2010, reaches 85% placing the Royal Hotel among the top ranked hotels in our area. With Booking.com our score is 91.1, while at the recent Leading Hotels of the World inspection strictly runned, as usual, by a “mistery guest” our score totalized 86.1% ranking the Royal Hotel at the second position among our competitors from Santa Margherita Ligure to Saint-Tropez, including the Principality of Monaco. All these results are higher that the ones of the previous years.

Hoping that our position has been clarified, I would be delighted to welcome you again among our valued guests in the future, should you consider to give us the chance and plan to travel to the Italian Riviera of Flowers. We will do the utmost to make your stay most comfortable and enjoyable.

In the meantime, I thank you once again for sharing your experience and wishing you a lovely continuation of summer, I send you my best regards,

Marco Sarlo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this venerable institution in the storied town of Sanremo on the Italian Riviera. We loved our visit, but I think that many other travelers might find some of the things that we were able to overlook (because we've lived in Italy) a little disappointing.
The room was clean and spacious, with a marvelous view of the sea. The bed was somewhat hard. If you've stayed in older European hotels, you know what I mean. And it can be fine. But if you're used to the very plush and comfy bedding used by most international luxury chains, you'll be disappointed. Wifi is very slow. Again, if you're on vacation and looking to disconnect like we were, it isn't a problem. But if you're like many vacationers who still want to be connected, you may be frustrated. The TV offered movies and other entertainment choices (for a fee) but the system wasn't working and despite the sincere efforts of the staff to fix it, it just didn't seem to want to work.
The pool area is large and lovely. We enjoyed laying out. But there is a charge of 50 euros to use the pool facilities and get a lounge chair. That seems a bit steep. And when you see how many pool tiles are missing, cracked, patched or otherwise in disrepair, you may feel cheated for having had to pay.
Lunch at the pool was always lovely, with great food and service.
All of the staff we encountered were warm, charming and incredibly helpful.
Again, we loved our stay. But we were coming there, perhaps, with different expectations than most. We wanted to disconnect and enjoy a slice of Italy that we had not seen before.
I'd say that it was a little 'Sunset Boulevard' in its overall feel. A faded movie star, still seeing a different reflection in the mirror from what everyone else sees. A little worn around the edges. A little more investment in the property would easily restore it to something truly spectacular.
We would stay again, for sure.
But for those who are thinking 'Four Seasons' or a similar experience given the reputation of the hotel and its location, you might want to reconsider your choice or reframe your expectation.

Room Tip: It seems that some rooms are renovated (based on their website pictures). We were not in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The location and setting of the hotel is amazing. Beautiful gardens, right across the beach, and great pool for adults and kids, great design and very comfortable. The kids club and activities are fantastic, well done to the team. The buffet breakfast is stocked extremely well but the stand-out would have to be the lunch by the pool. It has so many options and the quality of the food is superb. The only downside was the squeeky floor in the room, but everything else about the room negates this issue, it was spacious, very grand, great furninshing, extremely clean, large beds, and awesome bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#10 of 43 in Sanremo
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#13 of 43 in Sanremo
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#17 of 43 in Sanremo
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Sanremo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Sanremo

Address: Corso Imperatrice 80, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanremo
#1 Casino Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanremo
#5 Family Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range: £128 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Hotel Sanremo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Sanremo is an exclusive property rich in history and tradition, just the ideal choice for guests seeking intimacy, relaxation and luxury. Uniquely located on the charming Italian Riviera of Flowers, it is set in its lush subtropical park, close to the seaside and to the centre of town with its Casino and shopping area.The hotel boasts 126 beautifully and individually decorated rooms and suites, spacious public areas and a heated outdoor sea-water swimming-pool with children's section. Dining options include Restaurant Fiori di Murano with beautiful views, Salad Bar delle Rose for a light lunch, Pool Restaurant and Bar Corallina, with pizzeria and grill in the summer, as well as gourmet Restaurant Il Giardino on the terrace for alfresco candlelit dining in the intimacy of the park. All these restaurants serve top-rated cuisine with a choice of exquisite regional, Mediterranean and international dishes.The Royal Wellness features signature treatments and a "no prescription" wet zone with hydromassage pool, emotional showers, hammam, Vitarium, relaxation area, herbal tea and juice corner. A most welcoming, luxurious and stylish oasis, just perfect to indulge mind and body, to pamper yourself in a refined and cosy atmosphere/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Sanremo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Remo
San Remo Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing