We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History?”
Review of Grand Hotel Londra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Londra
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel must have had its days in the past, though in the year 2011 it just felt old. We had a great view from our room which had an enormous bathroom and the hotel was just 2 minutes walk from the beach, but these few good things might not be enough to comfort yourself if you expect more from a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TolgaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

A very nice old-fashioned hotel, probably 4-stars when it was built some decades ago, that still deserves these stars for the service and the feeling of "grandeur" they offer. They have to make some serious restoration though, and reject silly practices of the past, like the charge of 7 Euro/person for the use of the pool (they say they just charge that money for the use of towels in the pool area, but ...it's ridiculous). The rooms are spacious, tall and very welcoming. The garden of the hotel is almost as nice as the well known municipal gardens of San Remo, and Villa Ormond, a former private property that now houses some of the San Remo Festival concerts every summer. The pool area is excellent, and the parking facilities in the garden can be almost adequate for all the guests of the hotel. The breakfast has excellent quality and quantity, and the behavior of the staff is excellent too (I read the customer reports dated back at 2004, and think they had an attitude problem at the time). We hope we stay again in that hotel, when we are around...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank takitsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked two nights at this hotel and stayed only one. San Remo is a horrible place with few beaches and few nice spots, and this hotel is nowhere near 4 stars. We booked via a special offer website, and I sincerely hope no-one ever pays full price for these rooms. The first room we got was without air condition (at 32 degrees) and looked out on a pidgeon net in a back yard. I managed to get a room higher up with air condition, but it was small and run down - not at all comparable with other hotels we had booked at similar conditions. The staff was friendly, but I had to insist on parking for our car - I have no idea where else we should have put it. The pool is very small and wasn't clean, and we found out after our arrival that both towels (4 EUR) and sun-beds (7 EUR) were at extra cost. The breakfast was the worst of all of our 2-week Italy trip, especially the instant coffee from coffee machines. Other guests wearing wifebeaters to breakfast didn't help, either. Don't go there, don't even go to San Remo. Just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a very big hotel that was probably a very nice place to stay . . . back when San Remo was the holiay destination of the rich and famous. Eighty years on the place looks like it has barely been touched since. The room was dated and cluttered (it also smelled rather fusty), and had furniture that really belong in a Poirot episode.

Adding to this we had breakfast served in an astonishingly large ballroom, a bar that shut before 11pm and a lift that was possibly the slowest man-made moving object I've encountered, and all in all this is not a hotel I'd recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We booked online and we got a really good deal. I was initially worried because the reviews I read online were not great. We stayed two nights at the end of June. Our room had a view of the sea looking towards the centre of San Remo. Our stay was really lovely for the price. The staff were all more than helpful, the room was really comfortable. The breakfast was sufficient and the lunch we had by the pool was tasty. Yes, they charge for the chairs by the pool, which I have a small gripe because I think if you are going to charge the pool area should be a bit cleaner, getting a steamer and cleaning it properly ALL around the pool would be a good idea. Aside from that I liked the hotel, it has a certain old world charm about it which gives it character. If you are looking for everything to be absolutely perfect in every way, here is not for you. It was about a 7 min walk to the casino. The old town is definitely worth a look and there was a lovely restaurant on the sea front down the road opposite the hotel. We also visited the famous Paolo e Barbara restaurant in San Remo which was really amazing food. San Remo is in a lovely spot. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 506, was lovely and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malibugirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Check summed it up really, lots of staff but none of them showed any interest in checking us in. The room was ok, with a large bathroom. However tried for 30 minutes to get a drink in the bar - No one appeared so we left and walked into town. The breakfast was pretty rough and all in all for a hotel to rate itself as 4* the experience should have been a lot better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

This hotel, as we were told by one of its guests, was THE hotel on the Riviera when it opened over 50 years ago but alas it is a little tired now. The Tapestry is a little faded, the marble slightly cracked, the plug in the sink just didn't quite fit but the overall effect is very pleasing. We enjoyed our stay there because the staff were very good and it felt homely on a grand scale. We only had the bed and breakfast option so we only ate at breakfast which was adequate although some hot food would have gone down well. We were pleased with our bedroom which was kept very clean. Judging by the amount of activety in the grounds it must have been their early in the season tidy up which would account for the few guests staying. The morning we left was a 6.30 start and as breakfast was at 7.30 the receptionist kindly put together a bag of snacks for us which we didn't request. I have given it an average rating because I think the money paid didn't add up to what we received by modern standards but if you want huge character with some nostalgic charm you might like to try it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atjo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#21 of 43 in Sanremo
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa - San Remo
Hotel Europa - San Remo
#30 of 43 in Sanremo
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#6 of 43 in Sanremo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#13 of 43 in Sanremo
164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eveline Portosole
Eveline Portosole
#31 of 43 in Sanremo
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Londra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Londra

Address: Corso Matuzia 2, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range: £68 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Londra 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished hotel dating from 1890; set on the Promenade Imperatrice, surrounded by palms and flowers, near the casino and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Londra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing