We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia a plenty & very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nostalgia a plenty & very accommodating”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel looks grand if not a little weathered and in need of a lick pf paint on the outside (especially the shutters which could do with a nice bright colour to jazz them up a bit)...the welcoming from reception staff was warm and friendly and we were escorted to our room and shown in and they checked whether we were happy with bed config etc, so all nice touches with the personal service. I was a bit unsure of the room on arrival, high ceilings, old furnishings etc and not my usual cup of tea as I probably normally go for a bit more chic and modern or faux retro rather than actually ancient!...but on the plus side the rooms were large and clean (apart from the dust bunnies that blew off the top of the huge wardrobe when we opened the window!) and all was comfortable and friendly in the hotel.
Over the 5 nights we stayed at this hotel and in San Remo the nostalgic charms and the history and former elegance and grandeur of this hotel and resort really won me over. The hotel itself and staff I can a liken to The Grand Budapest Hotel film (if you've seen this quirky film you'll know what I'm talking about and I mean this in a good way...!). Service at the bar was kind of on request through reception as it seemed to be manned by the same staff members (Manuel?!) and breakfast was served in a rather grand room overlooking the beautiful palm tree filled grounds (perfect for sunbathing in the afternoon sunshine!). Breakfast was the usual continental buffet and all very tasty and well organised. We also sampled an evening meal at the hotel one night and very tasty it was too although a little hard to explain what we wanted to the non English speaking restaurant staff, however hand gestures and pointing went a long way to ensuring we got the meal, bread and wine that we wanted. Plus it is an Italian resort so I did not expect the staff to speak English and I would recommend taking a phrase book with you to help with the language barrier. Nothing was too much trouble for all staff though, they served us drinks at our sun loungers, helped us to speak with an Italian coach driver over the phone (as they could translate easily for me!) and ensured we had early breakfast on request (as we had to leave the hotel fairly early for business on a couple of mornings). The hotel was also just down the road from a coop supermarket and close enough to walk to the Grand Casino, Town Centre, Beach and the Old Town if you fancy the climb up through the winding streets, which we simply loved! The views from up the top over the city and bay are stunning. Plus the hotel provided us with a map and pointed out the routes to all the places we wanted to visit - Thank you!
I would return to this hotel or one of the others in the little gem that is San Remo because the highly friendly and accommodating staff at the hotel and the overall charm and nostaligia of the hotel and resort really did catch me off guard when I realised I had come to love it and I did not want to leave.
Overall for the future I would recommend some update and upgrade of the rooms and facade of this hotel just to ensure she maintains her grandeur and appeal for years and generations to come.

Room Tip: When we opened the shutters we had a beautiful view of the grounds and sparkling sea - so request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    106
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
46
112
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel seems to get mixed reviews but from our standpoint that's unfair. Its selling point is the slightly dated charm, old fashioned (by that I mean genuine and not out of a corporate coaching manual) customer service, immaculately clean rooms, generous food servings and a brilliant location. We stayed in spring 2013 for a few days and left with big smiles on our faces. So much so we're returning weekend after next. It's not so much going back in time but maybe going back to a better time. It won't appeal if you prefer same-old chain-type familiarity, identical wallpaper whether you are staying in Reykjavik or Rio, but for us (with a tiddler in tow) it was magnificent! We booked a family room with a sea view and got probably the largest room I have ever stayed in (it certainly had the highest ceilings and tallest windows). Will report back in a couple of weeks after our latest stay. I, for one, hope it hasn't changed one little bit! Hope the manager reads this!

Room Tip: Reviews have complained about tiny rooms. We booked a family room with sea view. Obviously it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a nice room (408) facing over the gardens and out to sea with two single beds configured as a double, with clean and crisp linen, a small flat screen TV with 80+ Italian channels (no English or French) and a good size wardrobe with mini safe inside. The room also had a minibar, well stocked with water, snacks and mini-spirits and prices quite reasonable for Riviera standards.The bathroom was quite small, with a small/medium sized bath with shower and curtain, and a bidet. All very clean and with a good set of complementary toiletries.
Breakfast had a good range of cold dishes, cereals, fruit, pastries, jam, ham, cheese etc etc, and a range of teas and coffee and, one morning, some very nice panettone.
The staff were very pleasant and professional, and all front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful in giving us information we needed for our visit.
The public areas tell of the bygone age of this grand hotel with old photos, grand paintings and antique furniture, leading through double doors to the tranquil gardens on the sea side, where you can relax under magnificent palms.
With Sanremo centre being just 15 or 20 minutes easy walk away, we found it the most perfect location for our three days stay, and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belld01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel was beautiful with wonderful views. We saw the moon rise and the sun rise from our window, which looked out over the ocean, even though we had a side not front room. Breakfast was standard for what it was. Lots of good choices, just nothing hot, except for tea and coffee. This hotel is walking distance to the town, beaches and right on the bike path. We went to the beach then sat out on our lawn chairs and watched the world go by. It had a very old world charm to it and the staff was very helpful. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldinbostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Definitely this hotel has seen better days - magnificant building in fabulous location (right on sea-front surrounded by palm trees and a gentle 20 min stroll into centre of San Remo) but a little neglected now. No major problems but some paintwork needs re-touching, carpets cleaning etc.

On the plus side room was very spacious, very well equipped bathroom, and set well back from the road so no too much noise. Breakfast was reasonable.

Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea-facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_b1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The building is a little tired on the outside, but this Hotel still has some old world charm. There is free parking and the hotel is an easy walk into the centre of town (past the Russian church and the casino). The view over the sea is just lovely and benefits from being a little set back from the old railway line (now a pedestrian / bike path ) and beach. Our bathroom was well appointed and the bed was large and comfortable. The breakfast was included but a little disappointed. The hotel restaurant was very reasonably priced and served good (if not exactly exciting or excellent) food. The hotel bar/lounge was also very good with most reasonable prices (you just need to scare up the baretender!!). Free WIFI included.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erubMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Super hotel from a bygone age. Clean comfortable rooms, some with balcony & sea view. OK, so a little tired looking but use your imagination and picture it in it's heyday. Good choice at buffet breakfast. Friendly helpful staff

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with balcony. Leave curtains open and watch the most beautiful moon rivers on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joto4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramare P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramare Continental Palace, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your stay in the city of Sanremo trust that has met your expectations.

Confident to welcome you again,
Sincerely.

Hotel Miramare Continental Palace - San Remo Imperia Liguria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 45 in Sanremo
755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#16 of 45 in Sanremo
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Sanremo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare Continental Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare Continental Palace

Property: Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Address: Corso Matuzia 9, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare Continental Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Sanremo, in a lovely position on the seafront, The Hotel Miramare is surrounded by a beautiful park with palm trees and tropical plants. Adjacent to the famous Promenade "Imperatrice", it's connected to the beaches and the new bike path through direct access. The hotel (4 stars) has a large restaurant and comfortable rooms, that will make your stay in the Riviera of Flowers, pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miramare Continental Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Continental Palace Hotel
Miramare Continental Palace San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing