We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I can understand the mixed reviews. If you want all mod cons it's not for you. If you want to step back in time it's an ancient gem. Solid wooden furniture and floors, it's old fashioned but impeccably clean. Service is from a classic age of good manners and style. Barman is first class.
Reasonable breakfast and good location opposite the beach and 10 minutes stroll from the town and port

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    248
    168
    85
    66
See reviews for
165
310
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This old hotel was truly a grand old hotel. It's still well-cared for and has a gorgeous view of the sea from the window. Bed was a little hard. Good elevators, excellent breakfast. Ample free parking. Good wifi. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelsEnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Old styled hotel with big and clean rooms,towel changed every day,very friendly staff,large parking and a wonderfull sea view.( if you are lucky to be accomodated in a front double room).The hote is very good located,perfect to explore the cote d'azur and also ligurian coast,few min.from the beach.The train station is 4 bus stops far.

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large ( 2 big rooms), with a big bathroom but without sea view. Is better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I so looked forward to going to this hotel and it was exactly as described. There were several short comings that could be easily fixed: only one small bin in the bathroom, none in the main bedroom, no tea/coffee making facilities, no air conditioning, radiators on and no way off turning them off and most lacking was an expellor unit in the bathroom - it got very hot, very quickly and no fresh air!

Having said all that, it is a beautifully located hotel with wonderful sea views. It's free wifi is adequate and is available throughout the hotel. It has free parking. The staff make this hotel, they are exceptionally kind. The rooms as large and was cleaned thoroughly every day, though the bathroom freebies weren't up to much. There is a good fridge in the room and they leave space so you can chill your own drinks. Breakfast is continental in style and taste. I would return but only if they fixed the bathroom air changing unit. We did eat in the restaurant one evening and the food was well presented, though I wouldn't recommend the fish. At this price they also give you a bottle of water and a glass of wine, not bad for 22 euros, though the vegetarian option was 24 euros. The main guest areas of the hotel were beautifully kept in the belle epoch original style, this hotel has seen better days and would probably need millions spent on it to bring it up to modern day standards. But if you want a unique experience.........

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very friendly staff but unfortunately awful room! It reminded me of a prison cell! The colors, the decoration, the view, it was like taking part in some kind of a thriller movie! No hotel in the world should have such rooms!

Room Tip: do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vassilis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanremo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed there in June 2013 at it was pretty good. Large hotel with parking lot and ...such a wonderful view.
Very well located, just a few minutes from the beach, with large rooms and spectacular view to the sea. Old styled hotel, clean rooms and kind staff.
Nice breakfast and great Italian espresso in a nice romantic restaurant.
Some issue with the lights very early in the morning when the lights kept turning on, but they fixed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#2 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 45 in Sanremo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Anglais

Property: Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Address: Salita Grande Albergo 8 | Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 50 meters from the beach, a few steps from the Casino and from the Theatre Ariston of Sanremo, the hotel for all guests free wifi connection and parking area.The buffet breakfast at Grand Hotel & Des Anglais includes salted and sweet meals while for those leaving earlier, coffee, juice and brioches are always ready at our American Bar.You can have dinner in the hotel in one of our elegant liberty-styled restaurant rooms with a selected daily menu tastefully proposed by our chef.The hotel is near the main bus stop, 2,5km from the train station of Sanremo and 45km from the airport of Nice. On request we can provide car transfer reservation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing