We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place to stop overnight, but definite time warp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK place to stop overnight, but definite time warp!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As so many previous reviewers have noted this is an old style hotel and was grand once upon a time. It retains a character of bygone days but we found it clean and comfortable especially if you have just experienced very hard beds and flat pillows in a Tuscan villa! So the beds were firm and pillows adequate with 2 extras in the wardrobe. Pod style bathroom was clean and had a great shower. As noted air con lacking but fortunate to have corner room with 2 windows and consequent breeze cooled as much as the rather pathetic tower cooler. Staff on front desk very friendly & welcoming and provide necessary detail in many languages. Breakfast was very busy during our visit and staff were running around trying to keep food available - good range of fruit, juices, breads,cakes etc and some scrabbled eggs and bacon - more than adequate. Tables are not laid with cutlery etc it's all serve yourself. Free car parking off road a bonus but it is up a twisty narrow access road.

Room Tip: Room 122 is corner to left from front of building and was quite spacious, sea view but higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    248
    167
    84
    66
See reviews for
164
309
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It is, as some reviewers say, a place of great charm, of faded but still glorious character, high-ceilinged, parquet-floored, with a splendid outlook over the Mediterranean. They don't build hotels like this anymore, indeed, they haven't since before the Great War: it isn't so much Poirot you expect to see quizzing the receptionist, as a Russian Grand Duke. But, as others find, it is undeniably run down, fraying at the edges, shabby genteel at best, in dire need of a multi-million makeover and rates no more than one star. I can well see why: but I'm with the five-star folk. We had three rooms:bedroom, sitting room, excellent bathroom, a wonderful terrace overlooking the Med, a bottle of excellent Sicilian white in ice-bucket, the 4-course tasting menu with wine, and an excellent breakfast - for Euros 142 the lot. True, the air-conditioning was ropey (as the one-star people say, but they are wrong about the bathrooms having no soap, etc - ours had a full-house including even a toothbrush). But the staff are terrific - and young, and proof to me (and I am sure to others) that the last thing this Grand needs is "updating". It should be savoured - or avoided, if it clearly doesn't suit - for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThamesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is well placed in San Remo just off main road and good free parking and we were offered a room with lovely sea view and although very dated was stylish. Bathroom could do with an update and deeper cleaning but ok. Bar staff were very helpful and friendly as it was World Cup time and England playing.We lost of course! Breakfast display good with limited range of fruit and continental meats/ cheeses and hot choice of scrambled egg and a sausage from self service container was served tepid as no heater underneath to keep food warm and not replaced regularly. Very disappointing. Reception check in and checkout very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peñíscola
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we came to Sanremo for the second time this june of 2014 the first time was three years ago. And now as then we stayed at hotel Grand Des Anglais and then we loved it and now we liked it even more. Every thing about this plaece is great. The old decore the layout is great. We had breakfast in the morning it was lovely and the time at the bar in the evening before nice and cosy.
All the staff the lady in the desk and the young bartender, altso the guests this night was great. we will be there again if we will visit this part of Italy again. Great stay, and Sanremo is a lovely place to visit lot of nice restaurants to visit.

Room Tip: We love to have a room facing to the front (sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristjanandYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courmayeur, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is located just off the main road with plenty of parking space. A beautiful but antique building. Understand that Churchill lived here once.....
The frondesk personell was very efficient and helpfull. All recommendations were good! The breakfast was good but lacked fresh fruit!

Room Tip: Get the seaview room if you can get a good deal! Prices on their homepage can be cheaper than on Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stopped at this hotel for 2 days on my way to See Monaco GP. Hotel was little difficult to find as its set back from the main road and the sign is not clearly visible.

Hotel is dated paintwork is falling off the front and rooms are very dated, although that does add to the character of the place. I had a sea facing room which had beautiful view.

Hotel is very echoey especially with wooden floors everywhere we could hear next door listeninhg to their music.

Bar areas is very small and TV screen was not working omn the day we were there and also Bar was not manned as the staff were hopping between bar and restaurant.

Breakfast is basic but good and comes with croissant, fresh fruits, tea coffee, scarabled eggs and bacon.

Taxi ride to train station cost me 11 Euro and Tacxi to Monaco was 120 Euro.

Front desk staff were good and helpful and spoke very good english. Wifi is only available in Lobby

Room Tip: Ask for Suite and it comes with Balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vik t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Needed an overnight stop and this filled the bill.
Has seen better days but the staff were friendly, floors squeaky but overall good value.
Don't expect too much but with breakfast included, it was a great deal.
Within walking distance of old town but the hotel,itself is a bit difficult to find. Signage could be clearer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quailsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 45 in Sanremo
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nazionale
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Sanremo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Anglais

Property: Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Address: Salita Grande Albergo 8 | Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 50 meters from the beach, a few steps from the Casino and from the Theatre Ariston of Sanremo, the hotel for all guests free wifi connection and parking area.The buffet breakfast at Grand Hotel & Des Anglais includes salted and sweet meals while for those leaving earlier, coffee, juice and brioches are always ready at our American Bar.You can have dinner in the hotel in one of our elegant liberty-styled restaurant rooms with a selected daily menu tastefully proposed by our chef.The hotel is near the main bus stop, 2,5km from the train station of Sanremo and 45km from the airport of Nice. On request we can provide car transfer reservation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing