We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, just like a convent”
Review of Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maria
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Reviewed 24 February 2009

My sisters and I spent 2 nights in San Remo in October, 2008 and enjoyed our stay at Villa Maria. The staff was accommodating and very helpful with information about the town, eg restaurants, stores, etc. Quite, out of the way, but just a short walk into town. Especially loved the chapel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Villa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

I highly recommend this hotel for its customer care, attention to detail & above all a feeling a safety & well being.

I stayed here this summer on either side of a sailing holiday.

It is not ideal for a romantic getaway or a luxurious break but if you are looking for value for money without your corners cut then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eleanora10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

i just got back from Hotel Villa Maria and absolutely loved it. The staff are fantastic and so helpful.

Sure, it was a bit basic, but then again what do you expect for the price, which is actually quite reasonable. I loved the salons with the authentic furniture and chandeliers. This hotel has lots of character.

The hotel is very conveniently located near the port, the main part of the city, the promenade and the beach.

I'd definetely recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo30London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

My son and I have just returned from a four day break staying at Villa Maria. The hotel is spread over three large linked buildings; high ceilings, huge rooms and windows, marble, wrought iron, dark wood, mirrors, antiques and chandeliers. We loved it, and felt we got exceptional value.
There were vases of big fresh whiite or pink lilies everywhere.
Linen was changed every day and sparkling white. Everything was clean and worked (including the lifts), always plenty of hot water. Nothing was too much trouble either for the room-maids or reception staff who were unfailingly courteous and informative.
My son was ill one day and had breakfast in our room, with no extra charge.
Buffet breakfast, rolls croissants coffee yoghurt etc all fresh in sunny restaurant and two waiters were present to facilitate, felt very civilised but not so stuffy that we didn't feel able to chat together, or to one or two other guests.
In a very nice area, Villa Maria's "second line" location is quiet, but only a couple of minutes walk from the beach, promenade and main road. A tiny well-stocked supermarket with deli is on the hotel perimeter, and a car-hire office a few yards away, plus the Tourist Information office with reams of info.
There is a small and well attended chapel at the bottom of the garden. It felt pleasant, though we are not religious, to hear the singing on Sunday. A bell tolls the hour and half hour, we found it a mellow and unintrusive sound..
Plenty of guest parking in the walled gardens, lots of trees and flowers, and three different seating areas where you can catch the sun.
Some of you may be puzzled as to where the indoor swimming pool mentioned on some booking sites for this hotel is located. We found it about 700 yards away down the promenade to the west, in the grounds of Villa Maria's sister hotel, the Miramar, another fin de siecle hotel with a faded facade in lovely grounds with an uninterrupted view of the sea and palms and several sunbeds. Its open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. a big pool, heated seawater with lanes.
Opposite the Miramar, surrounded by trees, is a pleasant single story bar/cafe with an extensive lunch menu and outside tables, at half the price of rip-off bars and restaurants closer to the centre. We found the port good for seafood and icecream shops.
Have a look at the Principality of Seborga just inland from Bordighera if you have transport - it even has its own currency!
We paid £88 pounds sterling for two nights at Villa Maria with the third night free, for a comfortable twin bedded room with a big south-facing shuttered window, bathroom with bidet, bath and shower, tv, phone, two radiators, and pleny of sockets for our chargers. The price included breakfast served from 7 to 10 am.
I have stayed at hostels that charged more than £15 per person, for a dormitory and shared facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank principessafabrizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I would say this hotel is fine based on what we paid, which was only $85 per night per two-person room including breakfast and all taxes. It certainly has an old 40's/50's type charm. There are several large salon rooms furnished with game tables, sofas etc. which would seem to encourage guests mingling and lingering in the common areas (of course there was no mingling going on while we were there, but if made me want to mingle). I felt like I was transported back in time to the Grace Kelly movie "To Catch A Thief" where American society types stayed in a Riviera hotel for "the season" and visited the other regulars in their hotel lobbies. The lobby, salons and rooms (we had two rooms from which to make observations - two kids in one room, two adults in the other) were all furnished with pieces your grandmother would have had, so it's a flashback. You'll either be OK with that or not. We were. I didn't count steps or time or walk to the beach, but we found it very reasonable - I would guess a 5 minute walk. It's an easy walk as long as you're OK with some stairs. We don't remember the stairs being an ordeal. Breakfast was comparable to most other hotels we stayed in during our month in Europe, served in a pleasant dining room overlooking the garden. There are stairs to the rooms. I believe there was an elevator but as I recall we took the stairs because I'm too impatient to wait for the elevator. The linens were clean, the rooms were clean but basic. The bathrooms were old fashioned but clean and functional. I don't think there was air conditioning. We were there in mid-July and I recall having doubts that I could sleep well without air conditioning as I am very noise sensitive when sleeping. Reluctantly I left the window cracked open. I sleep with ear plugs when in hotels and with the ear plugs I didn't find it loud with the window open. My husband slept soundly without ear plugs. We like to stay in clean, decent, safe hotels that don't cost a fortune as we spend little time in our rooms, yet when we are there we want it to be a pleasant if not luxurious atmosphere. This fit the bill. We had no complaints, and thought the Hotel Villa Maria was charming but basic. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OffForAnAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel V, Direttore vendite at Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear OFFforANadventure

the answer it's in delay of only 10 years ..something it's change and something no... the building was constructed in 1940 inspired by the turn of the century art nouveau style much used throughout the Italian and French riviera. the property is a Catholic Foundation ... rooms (many but not all) have undergone some changes with use of white furniture and more functional ... some bathtubs have been replaced with showers ... the breakfast service was rendered more international by increasing the assortment of meats-cakes-desserts-and with hard boiled eggs in season ... air conditioning is possible through the use of portable air conditioners-our intention is always the same , give a "good hotel" at affordable prices. Yours faithfully Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed for one week in this apartment and while the outside of the building looks great the inside does not live up to this initial impression. It is stated as being located between two five star hotels and situated in tropical parkland. While it is between the two five star hotels the tropical parkland is more of a waste ground area with a few trees and with some building materials dumped on it. Certainly no flowers or anything like a parkland. The panoramic view of the bay is only visible if standing at a window or on the terrace and it is over the roof of the building in front.

The five minute walk to the center of town is probably more like ten minutes but what is not mentioned is that it is down approx 120 steps.
There are 70 steps from the road side to the gate of the property and a further 50 to the front door as it is on the first floor. (Great for keeping fit.)
The path to the road side is uneven and broken in places so you need to watch your step as you use it.

On the interior while it says it sleeps up to six it would be hard to imagine it accommodating more than four people. There were two of us staying and while the main bedroom had enough storage space the second bedroom has none at all. The only other cupboards are in the hall which are already half full with cleaning materials.
The shower room is extremely small and you need to stand in the shower tray to close the door. The shower itself did not drain properly so showers were short otherwise it would have flooded the floor.

The terrace mentioned has a path way running directly beside it. While it is infrequently used it does not feel that private for those candle lit dinners. The table takes up most of the available space so unless you are lying on it sunbathing on the terrace is not really an option.
Also the apartment itself is east facing and the sun is gone from the terrace by approx mid day.

As the villa is broken into apartments the large communal garden is not visibly maintained and is largely overgrown.
Car parking is mentioned and as we hired a car towards the end of the week we did enquire about it. However we were told there was none available with the apartment. Parking on the road outside was not a problem as it was not peak season but it could easily be at another time of the year.

At other properties that we have rented at this price level there is normally a change of linen and towels mid way through the week. Here there was no such service.

One last thing the mattress on the main bed could do with being changed.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Modus Vivendi
Modus Vivendi
#24 of 43 in Sanremo
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#16 of 43 in Sanremo
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#26 of 43 in Sanremo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria

Address: Via Luigi Nuvoloni 30, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L 'Hotel Villa Maria consists of three ancient noble villas dating back to 1940 which are related, Garden - Parking - Bar - finely decorated halls - pets are allowed provided they are not biting and non-violent with the cost of € 25 for the sanitization of the room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing