We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but the rooms need refurbishment”
Review of Eveline Portosole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eveline Portosole
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but the rooms need refurbishment”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The lobby, the breakfast room, the garden, vintage and rustic style, tasteful. Very good position, walking distance to downtown and the beach. Parking available. Breakfast buffet was good.
The rooms we old and needed refurbishment. I agree to the whole concept of vintage, but still the doors, the bathroom needed overhauling.
We had the spa in the room, but was broken so we could not use it.
The hotel is overpriced for what it is, but then again the area of Liguria is expensive and 4 stars hotels in Italy are all old and overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    21
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
23
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courmayeur, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is situated on the main road with a lot of traffic. No parking within the hotel, only space for 1 car. Clean rooms with a spacious toilet area. Wifi is free but only one code per person is acquired with which you are recommended to log in and out from your appliances to be able to use it on multiple appliances!
The breakfast was Ok but served in a dark but cosy basement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanremo hotels

Bath
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in a basic room. The floral decor is unique and perhaps is intended to take you mind of the basic standard of the rooms. It became clear on the first night that sleep is optional due to the noise both from the busy main road in front of the hotel and from others within the hotel. The walls, doors and windows do not insulate noise and consequently the road traffic, people in the corridor and even the plumbing in the rooms around you is inescapable. I suspect the 4 star rating is more of an aspiration than fact. The rooms were very clean however the bathroom is old with a shower above a narrow bath and no shower curtain and so it is easy to slip on the wet floor. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel and are a light sleeper this is not a hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, it is slightly better than a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A cheerful, mid range seaside hotel of the older style with a few interesting twists. Expect an ornate foyer, floral wallpaper and draped fabrics (rooms are individually decorated and named instead of numbered). Facilities are relatively limited, but staff are helpful and breakfast is very good. 10 min walk to the town centre and seaside. I stayed in a room which fronts on to the road – the noise level was bad at night and particularly so after 4 AM. If you are a light sleeper, this will be a big problem, so make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. The hotel is Wi-Fi equipped, but it worked only intermittently during my stay.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClimbingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This particular hotel, which unfortunately does not have a good website to showcase it, is a little gem adjacent to the wonderful Villa Nobel and surrounding park.

I had been here before, staying in room Rosa Thea, which was perfect for me as a single occupier, with the most romantic, light, sun-kissed bathroom I have ever experienced.

This time I came with husband and a child and opted for a bit more luxury: one of the hammam rooms. We had carefully selected the room (Ortensia), as I remembered from last time I visited - and had a chance to look at the rooms - that some of those with a hammam really have rather gruesome beddings and curtains (read: overflowered, tacky pink OTT, rose garden overdose). Ortensia on the other hand was just perfect.

We had informed the hotel of precise arrival time, and we were overwhelmed when opening the door to the room: Candles, rose leaves on the staircase leading to the pool, and the pool itself: filled with wonderful steamy hot water. Of course we all jumped straight in - and even our one year old absolutely loved it. We dropped plans for going out and the staff brought us pizzas with wine to the room instead. Perfect start to our stay!

Main message: Choose your room carefully and you will have a great stay!

Other features, very romantic setting throughout hotel, unique style, wonderful breakfast, original feel to every feature, do take a walk to the park next door, the harbour is down the street and the main shopping street a 10-15 minutes nice walk away. And again: extremely helpful staff!

Room Tip: - Choose your room carefully (check photos beforehand)! - If you choose a room with a pool, make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chemarialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is my second time here and I should have learned. Some rooms face the street and with the old windows, the noise is like you are on the street. Other rooms face the back but with the old plaster walls and thin doors, you can hear everything happening in the hallways and lobby.

On the plus side, the breakfast is very good, the rooms are clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful. The photo I have attached is the Camelia room (rooms have names not numbers). As far as can tell it's the worst room in the place. They had to bring the little desk in since there is not normally one in the room. Other rooms are quirky and slightly bigger and with furniture that is not made out of unfinished plywood.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were very pleased again with the hotel the sheets and towels were changed every day,the staff were excellent booking restaurants and telling us where to go, breakfast buffet very good, it!s in walking distance to the centre of San Remo and Port with very good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Napoleon San Remo
Hotel Napoleon San Remo
#26 of 44 in Sanremo
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Globo & Suite Sanremo
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#15 of 44 in Sanremo
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Maria
Villa Maria
#20 of 44 in Sanremo
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nyala Suite Hotel San Remo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 44 in Sanremo
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eveline Portosole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eveline Portosole

Property: Eveline Portosole
Address: Corso Felice Cavallotti 111, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eveline Portosole 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original and romantic small hotel, surrounded by beautiful city gardens, in front of San Remo harbour and walking distance from city center. 20 rooms unique for their style, named under flowers and winds. Delicious morning breakfast served in suggestive Green room in candlelight. Hotel offers a choice of rooms decorated with a romantic touch. Some located garden side also have a large terrace. All rooms have fridge, desk, air conditioning, comfortable beds and bathroom with hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eveline Portosole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eveline Portosole San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing