We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel exceeded expectations”
Review of Hotel Villa Sylva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sylva
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Sanremo for one night at the Hotel Sylva, a 3 star in the middle of town. The building is old but the interior is fully modernised, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The staff were really helpful and attentive, the roof terrace was fantastic to chill out and relax. The location is great too, a 15-20 minute walk from a beautiful beach, the shops and good restaurants. If you're going to Sanremo be sure to give Hotel Sylva some consideration, as you wont regret staying there.

Breakfast is good too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yosserwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    120
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
199
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KOLOLI The Gambia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great place we stayed there for 3 nights, the service was amazing the staff extremely friendly and the food was just amazing . Compliments to the chef and to the entire staff and management for making our stay incredibly unforgettable ..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MehdiELSOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at Villa Sylva, San Remo for two nights in June, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! The building is stunning from the outside and is beautifully decorated inside. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. The hotel was full on both nights, yet there was plenty of communal spaces for all of the guests. There really is something for everyone. They have a stunning sun terrace at the front of the building with plenty of very lovely seating, a small grassed area beside this and the grounds are full of beautiful flowers. The rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies and there is a communal balcony for the other rooms. There is also a roof terrace which is just fantastic! With sun loungers and views of the sea it was brilliant!
Breakfast is included in the already very reasonable price with a great selection of food. We didn't eat any of our other meals at the hotel because we were out exploring during the day, however the restaurant looked great.
There is a spa on the lower level which is like paradise! There is an additional fee to use this service, but it is definitely worth it to use the indoor pool, sauna and steam room.
We cannot wait to come back and stay at this hotel again next summer!

Room Tip: If you get the choice as for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent two rainy days in Sanremo and had a wonderful time. Our stay at the Hotel Villa Sylva was perfect. The property is beautiful. Our room was spacious, clean, well appointed and modern. The service was incredible, every little thing that we could have possibly wanted was supplied. We ate one dinner and two breakfasts in their dining room. The food was good. The location is good. It is up the hill from the main road and so you are removed from the hustle and bustle, but still close enough to everything. We arrived by bus (the train was down) and walked from the station. It was an easy walk (even in the rain). I can only imagine how beautiful this property would be on a sunny day. We will return and will recommend this hotel to all who ask.

Room Tip: If you are going during good weather, make sure you get a room with a balcony. The views are stupend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeitzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely old style villa newly renovated. Great way to explore San Remo and surrounding.
Providing great value for money.
Fastastic staff, especially Valentina & Mirco, excellent location and we stayed 3 nights instead of 1.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DijanaZDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novi sad
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Vila Sylva is perfect choice for those ho looking for the sea, beaches and swimming, but at the same time wants a lot of things to see. Best thing is position – near city center, about 10 minutes walk, but still very peaceful and hidden in the threes, on foot step from the sea. It’s very important in San Remo, because city center is too busy with crowd and especially traffic, and peaceful relax in city center hotels is impossible on my opinion. Hotel is next to the Vila Nobel and it’s wonderful garden, as same as Vila and Ormond gardens. Also, if you have car, main roads to France – Menton, Monaco. Eze… is easily to reach, and Bussana Vechia is on 10 min drive.
Hotel has an atmosphere off nobility and past San Remo, the old part is authentic noble villa from XVIII century, and the new part is quite comfortable and also in authentic style. New rooms are spacious, with separated wardrobe, there are new tv and the A C. Gem off the rooms in new part are very spacious balconies, just right in front off the sea and pines, and it’s really wonderful mornings here, with this magnificent view and bird songs!
Garden off the hotel is on few levels, exotic and mediteranean, with beautiful lawn where you can drink your morning coffee and spend peaceful afternoon.
Near the hotel is promenade with bicikles rent which is extremely popular her, down on the street, next to the hotel is supermarket Conad, pharmacy, bakery, souvenir shops, bus station. Railway station is 5 minute on foot.
On 5-10 minutes easy walk there is a several beaches, one public and the other private. Everyone has a sunbeds ( 7 eur whole day or 3,5 half day – from 13,00-19,00h) and umbrellas for 7-8 eur.
Your car is safe in hotel backyard which is isolated, and also protected from the sun under the palm trees.
And one off the best things in Vila Sylva is stuff, very friendly and helpful! Our child has a virus, and they help us in every moment and every way, they even prepared special food for him! We are very helpful for this!
Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: First floor with the balcony have a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I understand this is a budget hotel, but the rude staff and management make it seem like more of a flop house! The rooms are cramped and poorly decorated - even by European standards. The hallways are dark and dirty. The management and staff were constantly smoking INSIDE the hotel lobby and their offices which are adjacent to the dining room. The wifi has an AWFUL connection and the staff are incredibly rude about giving you an access code.

I spent a week here in May of 2012 and the temperature was not unbearable hot, but warm. Leaving my windows open would generally suffice in cooling the room, however I was placed in a room on the ground floor and the noise and lights from the parking lot outside made sleep impossible! People were returning at all hours, loud and drunk, and I could not sleep. There are air conditioners in all the rooms, but the management had shut them off. I asked MULTIPLE times if they could turn mine on, or fix it and was always given the same response: "I will have to ask the manager tomorrow." FINALLY, I spoke directly to the manager who gave me some b/s story about a city ordinance not allowing them to turn on the air con until late July. I know this to be a lie, however, since I had friends staying at another hotel nearby where the air con worked perfectly! Furthermore, the buildings around town in which I had meetings were all air conditioned. Not only did Hotel Sylva refuse to provide a service which I had paid for, but they blatantly insulted me by lying to my face.

The icing on the cake was the "continental breakfast." At the start of the week, the breakfast was fine. Food options were ok and relatively plentiful. Except the coffee, which was always burnt. However, as the week progressed and the management noticed that the group I was with was taking advantage of this included breakfast every morning, they began hiding food. I couldn't make this up! First to go were hot items like boiled eggs. The the pastries disappeared. Next the fresh OJ and milk. By the last day we were left with two options of cookies and coffee.

I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. There are many other budget hotel options in San Remo, such as Hotel Festival, that follow through with promised services and are closer to the center of town. I hope this place goes bust.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chase H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 44 in Sanremo
807 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 44 in Sanremo
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 44 in Sanremo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
1.3 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sylva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sylva

Property: Hotel Villa Sylva
Address: Via Garbarino 2, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Sylva 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Sylva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing