We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!!!”
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

My Family - 3 people, my wife and son!
I lived in this hotel for the second time!
Clean rooms, cleaned every day, the equipment is working! Very attentive staff.
Very convenient location - a quiet place and to the city center for 5-7 minutes! 5 minutes from the sea, at a private pool!
Breakfast - buffet, but everything is fresh and delicious! However, we did not take dinner, last year, the restaurant manager wrongly billed at 80 €! Only thanks to the owner of the hotel failed to resolve the conflict!
Accommodation at the hotel I liked it and I've always come back!! Very emotional place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladimirLinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013
Google Translation

GentileCliente , grazie infinite per le sue belle parole e per aver soggiornato all ‘ hotel principe di sanremo , ricordando che durante il periodo di chiusura stagionale, tra i piani di investimento, sono stati programmati importanti lavori di restyling volti a offrire maggiori comfort e rispondere alle esigenze di una clientela attenta all’unicità dei prodotti e alla cura dei dettagli.

La aspettiamo sempre volentieri. Saluti cordiali Massimiliano Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Principe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

There are many 5 star hotels near by so if you want to impress someone, stay at near by grand hotels. However, if you want to just stay the night, this hotel is in an ideal location. Very quiet in the residential section of town, yet close to casino, sea, and center of town. The place up on a hill so you need to do some walking uphill. Hotel is clean though rooms are small but we liked the neighborhood. We did say that if we are bringing our better half, we'll definitely choose the grand hotels nearby. Comparison is so great that they will not be happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

GentileCliente, thank you very much for the nice words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Prince of Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond to needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The wait always willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We. Booked into this hotel as we needed somewhere to stay urgently (our original accomadatiom was awful and had to leave after one night) The room was small but clean ,modern bathroom,staff helpful ,pool great, Bit of a trek up a hill but that kept us 2 OAP's fit.
On the down side the bed was hard and the main problem was NO air con . The room was unbearably hot.We could not sleep.after 2nights we asked if there was any possibility of changing to a room with air con .They could not help with this as they were fully booked.We went to tourist info who found us a lovely hotel with air con .BLISS with temps up in the 30's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

GentileCliente, thank you very much for the nice words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Prince of Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond to needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The wait always willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Other reviewers are correct when they say this hotel is situated at the top of a hill. There are steps that cut some of the hill out however it is still quite a hike if you are elderly or unfit. I was also not comfortable wth the walk to the hotel after dark as it's not very well lit. My room was disgusting. Both the carpet and bed cover were covered in cigarette burns and the wardrobes were something out of the '60's. The staff were pleasant enough but the food was far from it. I'm half Ligurian and I can assure you you do not need a specialised palette to eat there, the food just wasn't great. I was meant to stay for 5 nights but only stayed for one. It was awful

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyM1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We refer to his review of 17 June 2012 concerning his stay at the Hotel San Remo.
In the first thank you for your preference, we are disappointed that the stay did not live up to his expectations, particularly with regard to some services offered by us.
To be considered, however, that his opinions and observations are the result of its unique and exclusive opinion, and not absolute, however.
We have taken due account of the negative opinions expressed by you and assure you that we are making good use both for the services for the professional and efficient staff in a manner befitting the standards of a third-rate hotel.
Regarding the comment of the hill, do not share, the hotel is located where you and the casino and shops in the center 5 minutes walk prestigious and peaceful area in the evening and well lit, and away from traffic and smog of the main street .
For the room was enough to report the receipt of the defects that you did not like, and we immediately replaced.
For food there is d 'agreement, and of excellent quality obviously had different needs, hotel will have the full requirements of the three stars.
We apologize for inconvenience caused, we wish you a pleasant summer, the direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel is situated on a hill but San Remo is a hill. This did not stop us form exploring this very interesting city on foot from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Principe. The room was a good size with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Very clean in all areas. The staff were friendly and helpfull. If you stay at this hotel you may think that one guy is working very long hours but in fact it is identical twins! Breakfast was a little sparse but this hotel has features normally found in 4 star hotels. The PC [free] was very useful as we had a ticket problem. Free WIFI. Free parking. Nice lounge and terrace. Ladies will need their own hair dryer.
We enjoyed our stay here. San Remo is an interesting city and there are many interesting places to visit nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveBristol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

GentileCliente, thank you very much for the nice words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Prince of Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond to needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The wait always willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Just got back from Principe. It's a really good place to stay for people who don't care about prestigiousness and quantity of stars. It is situated far from noisy streets which is AWESOME, because the traffic is really loud in Sanremo. We were lucky to have a picturesque view over the tops of old houses and wonderful gardens with statues and columns out of our room. There is a pool and a table tennis. There is a cozy lounge place underneath the wide trees. Can't say anything abt food, because we had breakfasts only. But they were OK: cheese, ham, croissants, toasts, fruit salad. This place is run by twin brothers, who are really nice and hospitable. There is some vintage furniture which is also pretty cool to find. Good choice, we didn't regret a second,

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

GentileCliente, thank you very much for the nice words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Prince of Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond to needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The wait always willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Situated at the top of steep slopes and with a direct entrance to the promenade/shops/beaches down several flights of steepstairs this is a hotel for the physically fit. Persons wih any walking difficulty should avoid this hotel or risk being marooned. The food is not up to much either.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirCuitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Hello, I would like to warmly respond to this review because some things do not recognize them in my hotel;
1) for the rapid climb, I would say that is not true because hotel is behind the casino, and only 5 minutes walk to the clock to go downtown to the casino that is the shops and beaches with a convenient to subway 'internal holl, there are steps but they are easily accessible, we are prestigious and peaceful area with a swimming pool and solarium.
2) The quality of the cuisine, there are d 'Agreement the customers had definitely needs a certain kind of palate, our cuisine and typical Ligurian dishes with both national and international cuisine and certainly the quality, the customer's opinion and certainly staff.
Thank you for the review, FYI, the director Massimiliano Ravasio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#14 of 44 in Sanremo
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#2 of 44 in Sanremo
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#16 of 44 in Sanremo
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Address: Via Fratelli Asquasciati 96, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range: £59 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing