We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for children”
Review of Park Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Albatros
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for children”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for one week in July this year and can definitely recommend this site for families, in fact I don't think I would have enjoyed it at all as a couples holiday as it is all about family fun. The site itself is huge and I was pleased we were quite close to the facilities as with small children the walk to and from the accommodation would have been too much in the heat. The pool areas are fantastic, best I have seen and clearly split into 3 areas - one for small children 1-7 ish, one for teens and a family pool and again lots of older children. We stayed in the one for small children and it was shallow all the way, very safe and great fun for them. The biggest downside was having to get a sunbed by about 8.30 as if you didnt then there were none left by about 9.30am and umbrellas very limited. My advise would be but a 12 euro parasol from the shop next to the pool on the first day.
The beach within walking distance is not so suited for small children but if you drive just 10 minutes to Baratti beach you will find a great beach with shallow waters and beautiful backdrops. beds with umbrellas are 23 euro per day so take an parasol if you don't want to pay that as there is no shade.
on site there is a well stocked supermarket and to be honest better than the one in San Vincenzo for BBQ options, slightly more expensive but no so much its worth driving to the coop which was not that great. Also an ok restaurant on site and takeaway pizza shop. They have entertainment in terms of singers/ sour bands every night which was quite nice as right next to the play park for the children, and goes on until about 12pm. They also seemed to have quite a lot of childrens entertainment going on but we didnt really join in with that as our children were a bit young at 2 and 5.
Take plenty of mosquito spray as they are rife and jungle strength advised!
I would highly recommend this site which we visited with Keycamp and sure we will be back next year. Just be slightly prepared as it is very busy site.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lap7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    546
    145
    47
    40
See reviews for
967
92
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a very large site which has potential but needs better staff to improve. This site had several pools to cope with the large numbers and did so very well, with pretty much sunbeds for all most on hard areas not grass. This site had a full size Olympic pool which on our first day had hundreds of dead flies floating in it. Once the crowds started to come into the pool the flies were washed out to the edge and into the pool side drains. We were also killing flies on our first night as we ate outside. Can't explain why this only happened only on our first day of our 10 day stay. We had no further flies the rest of our holiday, thankfully. This pool was very busy and had water aerobic classes daily by a talented multi-lingual coach. About a couple of hundred attended this daily.The nearby bar area was large but generally empty partly because the staff were so young and more interested in talking to each other than serving you. I didn't like the way you had to pay at the till, get a receipt and then find one of the many bar staff who were standing about chatting to each other in the hope one would attend you. The one till operator bottlenecked the system and made it very slow to get served. I think this area could be greatly improved. On a positive note other staff were great in both the ice cream parlour and the bar beside it. This area was well attended with plenty of seats outside under tall oddly shaped pine trees. There were nightly shows in this area which were well attended by families. We often used this area for coffee or ice cream around mid-day and found it very relaxing. We used the restaurant beside this area and found it to be brilliant both in price and the food served. There was a second restaurant on site but you had to book it which put us off using it. There was also another restaurant at the entrance to the site which was a hotel and it was also good and reasonably priced but not quite up to the standard of the site restaurant mentioned above. Because the site was so large there was a site train, a tractor and two carriages which took people around the site from the pool to their caravan and visa versa. The driver was a bundle of laughs who kept water pistols handy to shoot at some kids he knew around the site all in fun. There were 4 stops to get on or off at around the site. The pool staff could have been more attentive and kept a better watch on what was going on around them. They should have stopped people arriving at 9am with 5 towels to book sunbeds usually the ones with umbrellas. These people never appeared for hours. So when the beds ran out and people arrived looking for a free sunbed, only to find dry towels on beds, they removed the towels and put them on an adjacent bed. Well done to 2 girls I saw doing this and so as not to be detected they moved the sunbeds to a different location!! However if the pool attendants were doing their job this wouldn't have been necessary. Because the site was so big, markets came and set up stalls along the main entrance inside the site at least 2 evenings in the week, be careful some of this stuff looked great but was expensive. The supermarket was also expensive possibly because there was no competition for 3 miles. it was however large and well stocked. But I think the one thing that made me most annoyed with this site was the dogs, this was a pet friendly site. I don't believe I have ever been on a pet friendly site before. I am a pet lover but when I saw how owners took the dogs into the vans and I remembered how my van was not quite as clean as I hoped, it kind of put me off a little. There were sand play areas for kids and with some dogs being allowed to run around at night practically unattended didn't impress me. Nor seeing dogs urinating against trees or bushes with kids playing nearby. This has put me off going to a dog friendly site again and I will be careful not to pick one next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KeenCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hi-have spent many years recently on camp sites in the South of France and italy-Nice,Frejus and Rome.
First time on this site and it was the best-by far.
The site was spotless and well laid out. It was very flat and bikes were hired at reasonable prices.Accessories for the pool were very reasonably priced so that you did not feel ripped off.
There was a supermarket that was well stocked-no need to shop off site.
Buying bread in the morning was a hoot-get a ticket and mill around the counter waiting for your number. Had to be quick when your number called-too slow and they moved on. Tension grew if you wanted some of the less well stocked products-would the muffins still be there at your turn?
At night there were a couple of places on site to eat-the restaurant at the entrance was the best.
We had three children from 10-18. The oldest tagging along for a free holiday.Real worry he might be bored.However he met up with some 17-19 year old Dutch and Irish boys and girls. Spent lot of time at the on site night club-problem solved.
Our 10 and 15 year olds made friends with the ubiquitous Irish,and had a ball.
Needless to say by day two I was in cruise control.
Sometimes we went a trip-one day to Florence(Beautiful) Sienna -beyond beautiful and Pisa..
Baratti was only 10 minutes away.Beautiful beach and fish restaurant-pricey.
Up the hill was Populonia-very pretty medieval fortress village-go to the Taverna on right as you go in-cash only but fantastic.
Back on site they had entertainment every night. The singer/band were perfectly pleasant to listen to at the bar area. Large sandy play park for the children just beside it.
In short go and enjoy.

Room Tip: get a caravan with air conditioning and decking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 186534Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The camping is a very large one (at least 2 by 2 Km spread) in a nice and quiet zone in Tuscany near San Vincenzo. The biggest city around is at 1h drive (Livorno), but there are many small gems of towns in vecinity (Piombino, Biglieri, San Vincenzo, Venturina) and a lot of activities nearby too (Zoo in Cecina, mine visiting and train riding at 10 km away, Elba trips from Piombino, etc).

The camping offers both mobilhomes and places for caravanes and tents; we stayed in a mobilhome which was at about 15 minutes walk from swimming pools and about 30 minutes walk from the beach, but in a very quiet corner that we loved.

The mobilhomes are basically equipped: kitched with basic ustensils, and a microwave (instead of an oven), and separate shower and toilet. There is only self-cleaning option during the stay (the final cleaning can however be bought), and the tools to clean the mobilhome are also very basic (2 brooms and a piece of canvas).

The camping is in a forest of pines, which ensures good shadow during the warmest day parts (and a lot of mosquitos during evenings and nights).

There are a lot of activities for the children of all ages, many free, but some (as poney-riding) at exorbitant prices (8 EUR/child for 5 minutes trip). Each evening there are shows for kids and shows for adults, and a lot of dancing. The animators team (an international group of 8 young adults) is excellent and they seem to have unbounded energy and many original ideas for entertaining the crowds.

There are 5 or 6 swimming pools, mostly for children (only two of them can be used for swimming, but usually they are very crowded in the summer months, thus there is more playing than swimming), with tobogans, water sprays, jacuzzi and water at various temperatures.

There is a minimarket inside the camping with reasonable prices (bit on the high end, but not exorbitant), and the nearest small shopping center (coop) is 10 Km away (and the nearest big shopping center (hipercoop) is 44 km away).

On the plus side we noticed:
+ excellent activities for the children; 2 weeks have passed very fast with not a single moment of boredom
+ excellent climate (not very hot during days due to the sea proximity and no rain during day time in July)
+ professional animators team (especially Noel, Alice;Simone and Ruggiero, but all of them were very nice, friendly and talented)
+ good security level (entrance only for people staying in the campus, guards day and night)

The minuses were few and mostly hard to avoid:
- a lot of mosquitos (inevitable if there are trees around)
- crowded chairs near swimming pools (people used to wake up at 7-8 am and go with towels to reserve the chairs; around 11 it was almost impossible to find a place to sit, but after 4-5 pm it was again OK)

Room Tip: We were happy with a far away mobilhome because it was very quiet and not many cars passing around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarTraveller307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here with our two young children and we enjoyed our 11 nights. The kids loved the pools and spent most of their time in the water. There are 5 pools all of different types and the pool floors have a canvas rather than tiled floor that is quite soft if kids fall on it. The campsite is large with about 5,000 people on it so it is like its town and can be very busy. The campsite has everything you may need on it such as a number of restaurants / bars of different types, a large supermarket, mini football pitch, a large Bazar, playground, cash machine and bike hire. There isn't that much to see within walking distance of the campsite except the beach that is about 800m away. However Piombino (10minute drive away) is nice to spend an evening walking around and it is worth taking a drive up in to the mountains behind the campsite. The WiFi is very slow during the day and evening but early morning the speed is good. The entertainment staff are very good and the activities are plentiful with a detailed programme every day. You need to be up early to secure a poolside lounger. There is a large mix of nationalities including Irish, English, Dutch, Belgian, French, Danish and Italian.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POM500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in a KeyCamp for a week in July, it's cost about €1300 for two bed/two bath mobile home. Firstly, this campsite has about 1200 lots, averaging about 4 people per site that's about 5000 people -this will give you an idea of the number of people swimming, shopping and so forth. It's located next to a swamp so ,lots of mosquitos buzzing about. The night time entertainment for the younger folk was poor at best with constant references to what you can buy in the gift shop.
Our KeyCamp cabin was a significant walk from the hub of activity, pools and shops - bear this in mind when thinking about getting your towels out before all the sun loungers were taken. The nearest town is San Vincenzo which was pretty standard but not recommended and overpriced. However the biggest problem was that our cabin (fixed mobile home) was not clean - it was old, tired and generally worn out. The was wifi, it took me 40 minutes to make a booking in Florence, very poor bandwidth. All in all, it was a poor site which I would not recommend to anyone. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano L, Direttore at Park Albatros, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear mr. Tom, with full respect for your opinion I have to say that everything you wrote seems related to others, not to us at Park Albatros where every day we experience the joy and serenity that regulate the stay of our guests. 1300 Euro for a week mean 38 Euro per person per day (mh KeyCamp can accommodate up to 5 people) amount with which you have had access to a swimming pool area of 30,000 square meters with 3 lagoons with soft bottom, high max 40 cm with slides, hills, water, whirlpools, parasols, sun loungers and deck chairs. I never heard about the marsh that you are talking about. We do not do pest control chemicals so there are mosquitoes, flies, bees, wasps, ants, but none of them is a problem. There are also squirrels, magpies hoopoe, doves, pigeons and all the animals that live in our ancient pine forest for a long time before we arrived, with which we live in harmony. What you call "a significant walk" others call a "nice walk" and in 5/10 minutes you can cross our pine forest. For those who do not want to walk there is a little train that runs for eight hours a day for the pine forest and transports our guests free of charge. San Vincenzo, which you call "standard" for others it is "a beautiful little town on the sea" . In any case, thank you for the time you have spent writing your review, I'm sorry that your holiday here with us was not to your liking and I agree with what you suggest at the end because if someone does not like what the Park Albatros can provide is correct that he "go elsewhere." Our luck is that many are those that of Park Albatros say, "I like it". Au revoir, Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

At this camping you are not alone. There are a lot of people. For childeren it is fantastic. A lot of activities. It is hard to get poolbeds or chairs at the pool and in the morning there are sometimes 50 people in line to get bread or baquettes. But the staff is working very hard to reduce the waiting time. The camping is clean and well organized. One recommendation. Do not eat your pizza at the camping. This is not what a italien pizza should be. Eat pizza at a italian restaurant outside the camping.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Vincenzo
3.6 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#3 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
5.5 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valtur Garden Club
Valtur Garden Club
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#11 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.0 mi away
Paradu Tuscany EcoResort
Paradu Tuscany EcoResort
#1 of 2 in Donoratico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Albatros

Property: Park Albatros
Address: Pineta di Torre Nuova, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Albatros Hotel San Vincenzo
Park Albatros San Vincenzo, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing