We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family holiday.”
Review of Park Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Albatros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We hired a car and had an easy hours drive from Pisa airport. Very convenient, although busy due to peak season and Italy's August bank holiday week, our rep from Thomson Alfresco was waiting for us, helpful and welcoming. Our accommodation was quite central to the main attractions in the park which was just as well be causes its huge, many people hire bikes to get around it.
The accommodation is, as expected, quite basic and small also clearly a little bit tired I.e broken shower door. However it was clean and adequate for the minimal time you spend in there, which for us was really only showering and sleeping. The pools onsite are great, we have 2 teenagers who was very happy at the park, it was safe for them to wander off onsite and plenty for them to do including evening entertainment. Food was also good there is a supermarket which wasn't as expensive as I imagined. A couple of restaurants and good pizza take away. I would recommend the hotel/ restaurant situated directly outside the park entrance, family run, great food and good value.
Park has good organised trips, we went to Rome for the day which was fantastic. San Vincenzo is a nice liitle town just about 8km away, the park runs a free bus in the evening. The beach is quite nice but obviously extremely busy in August and there isn't enough amenities like cafes or toilets.

Overall a lovely place with fantastic weather, everyday was hot and blue skies. Great for all ages of kids, mainly Dutch, French and Italien families only a few Brits and Irish but hat wasn't a problem, all better than us at speaking English!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Park Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi Claire,

It's great to see you and your family enjoyed your time on Park Albatros - it's always nice to see when our customers have had an enjoyable holiday.

We do have a mixture of homes on this site ranging from Puccini Rivieras (our smallest range) to Vivaldis (our largest range) - we will review each mobile home at the end of the season so will look into your concerns over the shower door and carry out maintenance where required.

Thank you for leaving your feedback - we hope to see you again next summer.
Kind Regards, the Al Fresco team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had 10 days here in June with 2 adults and 2 girls 3 & 5. We flew into Pisa with Easyjet and hired a car. The transfer took about an hour. We booked with Alfresco and the standard of accomodation was poor. The home was very dirty and run down. Lots of things broke down - air con, toilet, sinks leaking etc. The decking was very good though.
Overall the park was excellent. The pools were very good and plenty of loungers available. The pools were shallow and so very saf for the children. There were bigger pools too for when we wanted to swim. It is proably 30 mins walk to the beach with small children and the local beach is not very nice - no sand just crushed rock. There are plenty of nices beaches nearby including a very nice one in San Vincenzo but I am glad we hired a car so we could get to them. The park is massive. We were lucky as we were fairly close to the centre but those on the edges would have had a long walk to get to anything. The supermarket is large but not overly cheap. The a la carte restaurant is very good and I would recommend this over the buffet. The kids club was OK but there were too few staff to the number of children there. Overall it had a great atmosphere and in the evening the kids loved the mini disco and then had a play in the large playground whilst we had a glass of wine. We visited Pisa one day which was great fun as was a local theme park about 20 mins away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorfahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we have just returned from a fortnight in a maxi tent with canvas hols , there were 14 in total in our party ages feom 7 /16.. this was my first time camping abroad and all in all was a great hol , to be fair out tent was kinda on the small side for 6 as one kid had to sleep in the living area so 5 would in my view be the max . also theres no where to put any clothes , a few drawers of some description would be handy ., we didnt see the rep from day one which wasnt a prob as if needed im sure we could have made contact, and the others in our party spoke to her a few times and said she was very helpful . the supermarket is a bit on the pricey side so again if your there for a fortnight def would pay to maybe hire a car or bikes to get shopping from local supermarket . the park was really busy and first time ive had to do the sunbed run which pissed me off a bit , but when in rome do as the germans/dutch do i suppose ! local beach is nice if maybe a bit boring , barriti is a more interesting beach especially if you like snorkeling etc , both restaurants on site are good the one at the top end being slightly better with a better choice , theres a good one out the main drag in about 200 yards on the left , real farmhouse with wooded grill , bit pricey , but very helpful , beers 4.50 on site and thats about the average all round , wines, good house about 10 , pizzas about 6 for a margherita , def using the free bus but def dont be shy about pushing in as no one else seems to be , and catch from where drops u off , or you wont get on the last one or two back ,. wifi is crap , dont bother waste of 5e , unless your gonna stay thums glued to it all times , local buses sporadic but cheap. loads of lizards , and pools chaos , human soup ,think thats it , if you want a quit site dont go here in peak , simple but if you want a busy site with a good holiday vibe and dont mind the occasional que ,, happy days .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from 10 days at this site, staying in a Canvas Deluxe caravan (nice caravan with all mod cons!). First time at this site but recommended by rep on our previous holiday in Venice area. Lovely site with everything we wanted. Have to say best swimming pool, really nice for the children but can get a bit rough for the smaller ones if in the wrong bit as the teenagers (and some not so young men, who should know better) throw themselves down the slides with no thought for who is at the bottom even knocking each other over at times!! No Health and Safety here!! Big gripe about the loungers as usual. Everyone soon becomes expert at bagging loungers at 9am in morning then going out for day only to return late afternoon for a swim! Therefore if you want somewhere to sit you have to do the same! Personally I preferred the last camp where I paid a small amount for my lounger for either the am/pm and actually got one cos same people who are happy to reserve loungers and not use them all day are too tight to pay!!!
Weather was just fantastic, 30 + everyday! Definitely needed the air-con in caravan. Beach was a disappointment as not suitable for small children, becomes deep quickly but understand you can drive to better beaches, we didn't bother. Otherwise lovely camp, good facilities and would recommend it. Great for small children as lots to do but also noted the teenagers seemed to love it too so think it would suit all types of families. Totally aside worse canvas reps ever and caravan was dirty on arrival, shame as never had a problem with them before and used for many years!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkhelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lots to see and do nearby and a great place for kids. Local buses are cheap and easy and also make use of free buses if you don't have a car. Train to Pisa is cheap and its a must see. We camped and the site is very well run and really clean. Don't be put off by how busy it is but it was bigger than normal sites we have used. Beach is 10 min walk away and barreti beach is worth a look.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucko035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here in July, and had an incredible time with our kids - 18, 13, 8, and 6 years old. We had driven down from Birmingham - about 20 hours in total. A long slog between two drivers, but doable, and then meant we had our own car for travelling around.
Park Albatross was brilliantly ran. Great pools, onsite shop, a number of food choices - restaurant or take away, clean, entertainment every evening, a couple of visiting markets, near to the beach, and in our case we were lucky enough to see a travelling "Ferrarri Rally" which arrived, parked up for three hours, before winding their way through the park past lots of caravans on their way out. My car enthusiast son was beside himself with excitement to see a full range of about 18 cars.

Each caravan is separated by a picket bush, busy site until 11 pm, but then the "Quiet time" was expected, and enforced by security patrols on golf buggies.
A HUGE site, but even being tucked away at the back (as we had requested) we could stroll into the centre in about 5 minutes.
Facilities for those under canvas also looked impressive - huge washrooms and well spaced tent spaces.
A perfect base for us to travel out to Lucca, Marritime, and even Rome for an incredible day out (we set off at 6.00 and returned at 11.00)

Room Tip: DON"T choose Keycamp!! Welcoming staff really made us feel that we were putting him out. Cara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lookingforaniceroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for one week in July this year and can definitely recommend this site for families, in fact I don't think I would have enjoyed it at all as a couples holiday as it is all about family fun. The site itself is huge and I was pleased we were quite close to the facilities as with small children the walk to and from the accommodation would have been too much in the heat. The pool areas are fantastic, best I have seen and clearly split into 3 areas - one for small children 1-7 ish, one for teens and a family pool and again lots of older children. We stayed in the one for small children and it was shallow all the way, very safe and great fun for them. The biggest downside was having to get a sunbed by about 8.30 as if you didnt then there were none left by about 9.30am and umbrellas very limited. My advise would be but a 12 euro parasol from the shop next to the pool on the first day.
The beach within walking distance is not so suited for small children but if you drive just 10 minutes to Baratti beach you will find a great beach with shallow waters and beautiful backdrops. beds with umbrellas are 23 euro per day so take an parasol if you don't want to pay that as there is no shade.
on site there is a well stocked supermarket and to be honest better than the one in San Vincenzo for BBQ options, slightly more expensive but no so much its worth driving to the coop which was not that great. Also an ok restaurant on site and takeaway pizza shop. They have entertainment in terms of singers/ sour bands every night which was quite nice as right next to the play park for the children, and goes on until about 12pm. They also seemed to have quite a lot of childrens entertainment going on but we didnt really join in with that as our children were a bit young at 2 and 5.
Take plenty of mosquito spray as they are rife and jungle strength advised!
I would highly recommend this site which we visited with Keycamp and sure we will be back next year. Just be slightly prepared as it is very busy site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lap7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Vincenzo hotels
3.4 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
828 reviews
3.1 mi away
Valtur Garden
Valtur Garden
#5 of 25 in San Vincenzo
450 reviews
5.5 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 25 in San Vincenzo
240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 25 in San Vincenzo
178 reviews
3.8 mi away
Residence Podere San Giuseppe
Residence Podere San Giuseppe
#5 of 28 in San Vincenzo
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Albatros

Address: Pineta di Torre Nuova, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in San Vincenzo
Price Range: £31 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Albatros Hotel San Vincenzo
Park Albatros San Vincenzo, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing