We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIcely Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Lo Scoglietto
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in San Vincenzo
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“NIcely Surprised”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having spent the week in a villa in Tuscany we were looking for a change and two nights on the water certainly filled the bill. We had booked into the hotel but since this was the off season we were placed in the residence section with a balcony overlooking the sea. Very nice rooms, very secure and an excellent location. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast awesome. Viewed from the outside the hotel section appears a bit "long in the tooth"; where we were staying quite modern. We would gladly return to this hotel. Within easy walking distance of the town center, do not hesitate to follow the hotels recommendations for dinner, particularly Mum & Dad's.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    81
    17
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
97
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

nice hotel, quiet neighborhood, great location, we used this hotel to access a lot of the Tuscan countryside and it works great for that. Being on the beach the floors in our room were a bit gritty, even to start our holiday. There were hairs from the previous clients in both the bathroom and bedroom so not a great start, but overall not bad. The bad part was at the end when I was charged a 75 Euro fee for house-cleaning, which was never mentioned either at the start of my stay nor when I booked, needless to say this was not a very happy ending. I wouldn't say not to use this hotel but when I return to Italy I won't be using this hotel, as there are many others to try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruffoli
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The definition of what these grouchy and surly owners describe as 'residence' or 'apartment in residence' is in a world of its own.
We chose this accommodation as a seaside getaway. The position IS marvelous, directly on the beach and the apartments have their own balconies overlooking the sea (not so easy to find), but the shabby and faded blue lounge chairs and alghe balls covering the beach did little to suggest an impression of ' well-maintained'. Cleanliness was so substandard in the apartment, from the dirty woolen blankets left in the closet smelling of sweat, to the filthy, urine stained mattress covers - yes, WITH hair, to the bed frame, which was described as 'rust' when I pointed this out (!). Running a tissue over it, revealed another matter entirely. Toilet was not clean (how about black?), surfaces around sink area, ditto and the entire floor was covered in a layer of dust.....when I pointed out these issues, I was asked if I would like 'extra' housekeeping services....at €10 euro per hour! And an extra €10 euros for a change of mattress pads and sheets. 'Why didn't you tell us of these problems as soon as you arrived, Signora'.....since the mattress cover and dirt issues were discovered by me not until the morning following our arrival in daylight. 'You have such a low nightly rate, Signora'. So I began to clean, in fact many things myself.....one so badly wants things to be right!!!! Maid arrived, slovenly and unkempt herself, and performed a perfunctory job at best, using the world's most noxiously fumed chemical products ever, but all was bearable at this point and I was, STILL determined NOT to let any of this get in the way of enjoying our stay. (Great seafront view, remember?) I asked for - and got (!) two rags to place at the entrance and balcony doors as it had been raining....this helped keep the floor cleaner.....anybody coming here should stop at a supermarket and pick up a few of these rags for this purpose. Squashed mosquitoes on the walls seem to have become a 'given' in seaside accommodation anywhere in Italy (Tuscany?) these days. Zero water pressure in the shower, although adequate in the bathroom and kitchen sinks. When owners were told about the problem, we were offered the exchange of the hand held shower head....and handy man appeared shortly after, wearing dirty, grease stained clothing and sandy shoes - offered to come in and exchange it......we did it ourselves, rather than risk soiling the floor (for which we had no products to clean it....note: mop provided!). Shower pressure didn't improve a whit. A dishwasher was provided, but no dishwasher tablets.....okay, I brought my own, NO problem, right?. However, when the dishwasher display showed that salt and rinse product were missing, I was told this was MY problem. 'Ma, signora. Wash the dishes by hand if you don't like it. E' cosi'' . And at this I drew the line. We left a day early. Upon checkout, we were told by the owner not to come back to his residence since I was too demanding!

For the nonetheless determined, and intrepid, take note: YES, it looks great online.... AND NOTHING is provided in this apartment except the pots and pans - no washing up liquid, cleaning products, sponges, dishtowels, garbage bags, plastic wrap, aluminum foil, oven mits. toiletries. Towels are also 'extra' as is bedding, although I had managed to negotiate this to be included in the off season rate (I should have said 'fresh' please when I booked)....and made to feel, consequently that everything 'else' was doing me a favor. Note: parking in the garage (and parking during the busy season will be tight) is at an extra charge, as is internet use I live in Italy, and speak Italian (although I am not Italian), so there was no problem with communication - except perhaps a culture clash over what defines clean and acceptable accommodation

This family has reinvented 'nickel and dim-ing', and brought it to a new standard. They must have such negative experiences dealing with the public, is the only conceivable explanation for their behavior - but a justification?

Please note that we have been trying to find adequate seaside accommodation in this part of Italy for years......this IS, however sadly, probably as good as it gets. Utilitarian furnishings devoid of any charm or character, inadequate/poor lighting - and if it rains??? San Vincenzo, with the exception of its beach, is not very appealing, especially when compared to such charming places one can find elsewhere here in Italy, and seemed to be geared to a low-level tourism with high prices.

Don't miss the incredible frescoes of Giampaolo Talani and his marvleous bronze statue of 'Il Marinaio' at the new marina.

A lovely and kind 'pescivendolo' (fish seller) has a stand in town and offers marvelous fish, with recipes for your dinner 'included' and explained with great passion and experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors might not have the badly unpruned tree blocking their view. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ventolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for 1 week after having stayed in an apartment in Castiglioncello which was also a lovely town.

If you are driving, get a street map and don't rely on the post code, the sat nav or aa routefinder really wasn't helpful. The hotel is set right on the beach and along a short road from a long residential road, a very quiet well kept area. At the hotel we were advised not to use the hotels parking due to the cost and that it has to be locked in an underground garage accessed via an elevator. We parked easily on the road and had no problems.

We had a standard room, so no massive but big enough witha balcony at the side of he hotel. The room was v clean, had a fridge, very comfortable bed and clean but a little small shower room.

Every room had a reserved set of chairs & umbrella on the beach which was well organised.

All the hotel staff were extremely friendly & accommodating. I know a tiny bit of Italian, some staff know basic English but together we managed to communicate!

Explore the town, it is about a 10 min straight walk, some lovely shops and restaurants and the port area great too. We weren't ready to leave and wish I was still there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ho trascorso le vacanze estive 2012 in questo incantevole hotel immerso in un ambiente tranquillo e rilassante proprio fronte mare, a 5 minuti a piedi dalla zona pedonale di San Vincenzo, con bellissima terrazza sulla spiaggia. La stanza era arredata in stile marinaro, con comodissimo frigobar, bagno ben arredato, solo la doccia era un pò piccola. L'hotel aveva un comodo servizio bar e pranzo a buffet, con molti piatti appetitosi! La spiaggia era molto curata e sempre in ordine. Mancano delle docce con acqua dolce e dei bagni al livello spiaggia. Consigliatissimo sia per famiglie che per persone in cerca di relax! I proprietari sono gentili e molto disponibili e, cosa più importante di tutte, che mare stupendo!


I spent my 2012 summer holidays in this charming hotel set in a peaceful and relaxing setting right on the seafront, a 5-minute walk from the pedestrian zone of St. Vincent, with its beautiful terrace on the beach. The room was decorated in a nautical theme, with comfortable mini-bar, well-appointed bathroom, only the shower was a bit small. The hotel had a comfortable bar and buffet lunch, with many good dishes! The beach was well cared for and always ordered. It would be required fresh water showers and bathrooms on the beach level. Highly recommended for families and for people looking for relax! The owners are friendly and very helpful, and most important of all, there is a wonderful sea!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amantedelmare29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel is right on the seafront and many of the rooms have balconies overlooking the beach. The apartment I had was, clean, spacious, and well-equipped. The breakfast was excellent. But the best part of the stay was talking to the friendly and very helpful staff. They make you feel at home immediately. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

When I resereved a room for this hotel, I checked the reviews - and every loved this hotel. This is a family owned hotel and the they are excellent. You feel like you are in the a family here. Every morning the charming servants welcomed you at the breakfest, and if you would go for the lunch those lovely girls charmed once again with a nice buffet. The hotel has its private beach with some canoes for being on the water. If you are a sailor, you would like the maritime styled rooms. Only 7 minutes to walk to San Vincenzo with faired priced restaurants. But also try Dal Conte, a restaurant in San Carlos 5 min.away with a car. Gathering at the evening with the other guest was like a family. No wonder guest have been here for more than 20 years. I will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side has its balcony out to a boring garden. The best rooms at the west side has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Vincenzo hotels
0.4 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#3 of 25 in San Vincenzo
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marcella
Hotel Villa Marcella
#5 of 25 in San Vincenzo
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 25 in San Vincenzo
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#6 of 25 in San Vincenzo
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 25 in San Vincenzo
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lo Scoglietto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lo Scoglietto

Property: Villa Lo Scoglietto
Address: Via del Corallo 7, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Vincenzo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lo Scoglietto 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Residence Villa Lo Scoglietto is equipped with unique rooms with a sea theme and apartments, all with balconies facing the sea. Hotel and Residences Villa Lo Scoglietto is in San Vincenzo, on the sea and its own private beach, supervised and equipped plenty of sun loungers, deck chairs and umbrellas , also offers the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sports including table tennis, beach volleyball, water sports (some for a fee) and rent boats and bikes. Unique in their kind, rooms at 'Hotel Villa Lo Scoglietto are equipped with hardwood floors, furnishings maritime and private balcony. There is air conditioning, Wi-fi, Tv sat, fridge, safe, phone, elevator. Villa Lo Scoglietto is surrounded by a park and 1 km from the railway station of San Vincenzo, just 50 meters from the nearest bus stop , only 700 meters from the center and the port of San Vincenzo and 20 km from Piombino, from which ports start ferries for the island of Elba, Giglio, Capraia, Pianosa,Corsica. On request: extra bed € 20,00 per day, addition cot € 10,00 per day, garage € 7,00 per day. Right on the beach 700 meters from the center and from the port of San Vincenzo. Only 8 km from the Etruscan necropolis of Baratti and Populonia. 6 Km from the parks archeominerari of Campiglia Marittima. Located 20 km from Piombino (boarding for the 'island' Elba, Giglio, Capraia, Pianosa). 8 Km from the park Cavallino Matto in Marina di Castagneto Carducci. 30 Km from the 'Acqua Village Cecina and Follonica. 70 Km from Volterra and San Gimignano. 75 Km from Pisa Airport from 'airport of Grosseto. 150 Km from Florence. 110 Km from Siena. 120 Km from Lucca. Only 8 km from the thermal baths of Caldana and Calidario.31 Rooms /14 Apartments (front-sea) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Lo Scoglietto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lo Scoglietto San Vincenzo, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing