We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff and greedy management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Coccinella
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in San Vincenzo
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is ok. It is close to the beach (private beach for hotel residents), the rooms are clean and the breakfast is decent. BUT the staff/management is not friendly, helpful or tolerant. We stayed there for one night and we planned to spend 2 hours at the beach on the day we leave so we asked whether it is possible to leave our car in the parking lot and to go to the beach after we checked out. They told us that we cannot leave the car in the parking lot after we checked out (even though it was mostly empty) and that we have to pay a fee of 18 EUR if we want to use the private beach (even though it was even more empty than the parking lot). This is rip-off! And they told us this in a very unfriendly tone. In addition to that you have to pay for WiFi (and this in 21st century) but even worse - it does not work in your room but only in the restaurant. We cannot recommend this crappy hotel. There are much more friendly hotels with a better service in the same price category (110 EUR double).

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel unless they change the management
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FreddyFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Coccinella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

After visiting the cultural hub of Tuscany, my girlfriend and I decide to spend 5 days on the beach to recover before heading down South. As a lover of the Italian Tuscan coast and having been here numerous times before we found this little family run hotel. Clean, tidy and friendly are the best ways to describe La Coccinella (The ladybug) . Greeted by the owners on our arrival and shown our room, it was small and tidy with an on suite bathroom. The long sandy beach is 4 minutes walk at most, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun, using the sun loungers provided. The swimming is save for young and old alike and the water in September was very warm. San Vincenzo is a small seaside town and thus there is no too much to do, however, it is a great base and perfect for those wishing to relax away from the Churches, Art house and Renaissance wonder that is Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Family run 3-star hotel, with private beach at a 4-minute walk, access and equipment included in the rate. Rate in mid July was 125 Eur per day for a double room. Only B&B service, you will find bars by the beach and a lot of restaurants in the village centre that you will reach with a 15-minute walk. In the room we found a flat-screen TV, a fridge, a safe and a very clean environment. A small pool and a free parking area complete the picture.
San Vincenzo enjoys clear waters and fine restaurants, and la Coccinella perfectly just fits in if you are looking for relax, sea and sunbathing, exactly our goal: parked the car when we arrived, and forgot it for 7 days

Room Tip: ask for a room not giving on the front entrance, you will avoid to be waken up by early check-outs
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalmata1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

After spending a hectic week sightseeing in the heart of Tuscany we were all 'cultured up' and needed to relax for a week. La Coccinella at San Vincenzo fitted the bill and more. A small hotel with great charm just a minute's walk to a beautiful sandy beach. There is a private area on the beach with parasols and sun beds exclusively for the use of guests of La Coccinella at no cost. There are beach bars nearby. For evenning meals the Blue Marlin on the main road is a must and you get 10% discount for being a guest at La Coccinella.
There is plenty of room in the car park and there is a small pool and some nice garden areas to relax. The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Emilie the spotty dog! The staff do not speak much English but are patient, and with lots of hand waving and bits of French and Italian we got by. A smile says welcolme in any language.
Breakfast is very nice and you can sit on the verandah in the sunshine. You can boil your eggs to your liking in a water boiler with wire egg dunkers.
We were the only English at the hotel, and I think the only English in San Vincenzo, but we met with a German couple who spoke good English. They have been to La Coccinella every year for the past 20 years! This speaks volumes in any language.
The room was modern with air conditioning and a balcony overlooking the gardens. The bathroom had a good shower. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed.
San Vincenzo town is about 15 minutes walk away and is a lovely place with lots of shops, bars and restaurants. J Thomas bar serves specialist cocktails and overlooks the marina. A good place to relax in the evenning.
There is a railway station and we travelled to Rome for about 16 Euros each way per person.
I would love to stay at La Coccinella again and would definately recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel or overlooking the pool would be prefered.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Comfortable and pretty quiet hotel with friendly staff and it's own beach (need to walk short distance). Hotel is not on a beachfront and there is no view from the room. Hotel parking is not always available but there are some off street parking. The price was high but I guess it's normal for Italy in August

Room Tip: Ask for the room on a higher floor to have less parking noise
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olyanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a small family run hotel in the fabulous little resort of San Vincenzo. A two minute schlep from the beach, it's situated on a quite one way street (but those with young children be warned - there is parking on both sides of the road and no pavement). Two sun loungers and a beach umbrella are included in the price of the room in the hotel's dedicated space on the beach. The life guard in charge of that section of beach will provide deck chairs for other members of your family should you need them.

The beach is gently sloping and the sea is clear and very shallow for a fair distance off shore. There is a beach shower but not many toilet facilities nearby (the only one being attached to a bar a very short way down the beach).

The hotel has a small pool with unmarked shallow end with a few chairs and sun loungers surrounding it. This closes between 2-4:30pm every day and there is very little shade or space around the edge of the pool to relax. It's better used as a space to cool off in at the end of a hot day on the beach.

The rooms are compact but very clean and comfortable with a small balcony with plastic table and chairs. We had a king size with bunk beds for the kids. There was ample storage for clothes and cases. The bathroom was spotless with small shower, washbasin, toilet and bidet. The downside was there was no storage space for toiletries.

There is no restuarant at this hotel. The breakfast was a buffet style with ample choice for all appetites. The hotel has some kind of disciout deal with some nearby restuarants but treat these with scepticism and check ratings on Trip Advisor first.

We had a great time here and despite the limited language skills of the owner and his wife we managed to get by with our limited Italian and lots of sign language. We'll definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed three nights at La Coccinella, it was a pleasant stay with great weather and clean facilities. The owners do not really speak English and so it was lucky I was able to speak enough french to communicate with them. i would only rate this hotel as a 3 star at the most however, as accommodation is basic but more than that, the breakfasts were not great. In particular hot drinks came from a vending machine which produced soapy tasting coffee and hot water not hot enough to make a cup of tea. Fresh juice was also made from concentrate and therefore not fresh. This was very disappointing. I also have to note that we reviewed the hotel through the website we booked with and gave it a similar review and have since then received a very sniffy email directly from the hotel saying that calling the breakfast poor was offensive and arguing that they speak french, german etc and that was that enough?! They also un-necessarily mentioned the accidental breakage of 2 wine glasses that fell from the flimsy plastic table and chairs on our balcony. Accidents happen, we would have happily paid for any breakages and did not appreciate the backlash from our honest review.

I would not discourage people from going to this hotel but would also emphasise its being a 3 star hotel and simply a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Vincenzo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 25 in San Vincenzo
177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 25 in San Vincenzo
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valtur Garden
Valtur Garden
#5 of 25 in San Vincenzo
440 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Marcella
Hotel Villa Marcella
#4 of 25 in San Vincenzo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Coccinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Coccinella

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 1, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Coccinella 3*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Coccinella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Coccinella Hotel
Hotel La Coccinella San Vincenzo, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing