We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Garni Vernel
Certificate of Excellence
vermont
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived without prior reservations around 7pm in mid October with the help of the local tourist office. The owners were very welcoming. The garni seemed quite new, spotlessly clean, neat and with regional decorations. We took advantage of the dinner provided there so we wouldn't have to go out again. They had an excellent salad bar and regional main course and dessert. Breakfast was also wonderful. In the morning we had a spectacular view of the mountain covered with snow from the previous night. I'm not sure we would have chosen this particular garni in this particular town had it not been for the forecast of snow but we enjoyed our stay for the one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at the Pension Vernel for 2 nights as part of a 5 day tour of the Dolomites in early June 2012 and had a truly wonderful experience. Ivan and Graziella are fantastic hosts and went well out of their way to make us feel welcome. We arrived very late on our first night having underestimated the time it would take us to drive through the mountains from Cortina and Ivan and Graziella stayed up till 11pm, waiting to make sure we arrived. All the local restaurants were shut at that time but they kindly prepared sandwiches for us in the room and declined payment later!

The room was large, warm, well furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and newly refurbished. The (inclusive) breakfast was tasty and Ivan's dinners were very reasonably priced, good portion sizes and most importantly, delicious! The Wi-Fi internet connection was also very stable at a very modest fee.

On checking out, Ivan researched the best route for us to drive back to Venice and even printed a route map off the web for us.

We stayed in 8 different hotels during our 2 weeks in Italy and the Pension Vernel was not only the cheapest but easily the best of the lot!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJ_Keng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pension Garni Vernel at the end of February with our three children during a skiing holiday in Santa Cristina. Our room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and in pristine condition. The rooms are large by European standards with comfortable furnishings. The bathrooms are on par with those of some 5-star hotels in Europe!
This is a family-run Pension, and the Perathoners are lovely people. Ivan was particularly helpful. They don't speak much English, but we still managed to communicate, and everything ran smoothly! From what I can tell, Ivan does all the cooking, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and the quantity of the food. Dinner generally started with salads, followed by soup, an appetizer, a main dish, and then dessert! The food was excellent, so bring your appetites - we couldn't do justice to all the meals!
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to get rooms that face the ski areas! Beautiful views of the Dolomites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugsunite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a wonderful long weekend at Pension Vernel. The hotel appeared to be recently renovated - all of the furnishings were in pristine condition, in the simple, traditional style of the region. The rooms were large enough (by European standards) and they even had an elevator (a rarity in this type of accommodation), though the beds were extremely firm. The staff was friendly, and the half-board food was varied and delicious, including an ample breakfast spread and a five-course evening meal with a fantastic salad buffet. We also appreciated the short bus ride to the famous Sella Ronda ski route, as well as the quaint town of Santa Cristina. We picked this hotel in part because it offered a slightly less expensive alternative to the hotels in Ortisei, and we were glad we did - it was a convenient and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cristina Valgardena
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Uridl
Charme Hotel Uridl
#17 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sporthotel Monte Pana
Sporthotel Monte Pana
#15 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#11 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
130 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 46 in Ortisei
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Garni Vernel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Garni Vernel

Property: Pension Garni Vernel
Address: Via Val 49, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Santa Cristina Valgardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Garni Vernel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Vernel is privately-owned and managed by the Perathoner family. The hotel is relaxing and friendly, with comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. Pension Vernel is centrally situated on the sunny side of Santa Cristina within easy walking distance of the local shops and only 900 metres from the first cable car of the Sella Ronda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Garni Vernel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Garni Vernel Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing