We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smart Hotel Saslong
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“almost great”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

this place is very clean and relatively affordable/good value. the woman at the front desk, Tatiana i think, she was just excellent. her english was perfect, kind and knowledgeable. she recommended viewpoints on the mtns and restaurants around the valley and everything was just awesome. i hope she sees this so that i can thank her for her help.

but the hotel. maybe it's par for the region, but the wifi didnt work for most of the time and when it did it was spotty slow. sometimes, the shower ran out of hot water. and the rain showers were cool, but the door doesnt block the water from spraying all over the bathroom floor. why?!

again, the place was pretty great. free covered parking and very clean.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dyhppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    92
    31
    2
    6
See reviews for
56
76
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stay from 18/02/2012 to 25/02/2012 - Room 102 - 2 adults + 1 child

Welcome: Excellent, very professional and multilingual. Safe deposit for the keys at the entrance in case you arrive late. Hours of operation 8:00 to 12:00 then 15:00 to 18:00 only.

Car park: free in front of the hotel, 5€/day below the hotel (30 places if everyone is parked properly which is not always the case). Direct access to elevator from the car park.

Location: Between Ortisei and Santa Cristina, nothing special around, no restaurant apart the BLUE restaurant at the hotel which you should definitively avoid. Sella Ronda ski area is not far away but this is certainly not the best location for this purpose. Bus stop SOPLASES is just in front of the hotel although this will lead you to either Saslong or Selva with enormous queues in the morning during kids holidays. A better location would be PLAN DE GRALBA but there are only 3 buses a day from SELVA. Shame, shame, shame. Ski pass is not valid in buses, you'll have to buy a dedicated ticket, 7 days for 7€ only, unbeatable considering that you'll have to pay for all car parks in the area with access to ski lifts.

Room: Everything is made to reduce the hotel costs but not to enhance client satisfaction. Extremely small with minimum equipment. No soap, rather small towels, no shower carpet (caution can be very slippery), shower only (no bathtub) with leakage so that the bathroom will be soaked very quickly, you can reduce leakage by using a cardboard box you can find in the surrounding supermarkets but will be removed by staff if you do not state that you want it to remain in place, medium size HD LCD TV with Italian, German, English channels.

Toilets: Inside the bathroom so that it's not convenient for a family.

Blinds: Excellent, no light in the morning.

Breakfast: 4 types: minimum "Italian style" for 3€ (1 brioche + 1 hot beverage), medium "Saslong smart" for 6€ (1 hot beverage + 1 brioche + 1 roll + butter + jam + honey + 1 squeezed orange juice), medium plus "energetic" for 9€ (1 hot beverage + 1 squeezed orange juice+ 1 yogurt + 1 soft boiled egg + 1 apple strudle + bread + speck) and unlimited buffet for 12€ (local bread, white or dark baguette, toaster, excellent ham and speck, salami, thin slices of cheese, excellent local yogurts, apples, cereals, cold milk, small pastries, tea, apricots, prunes, filthy orange and similar juice, freshly squeeze is much better but not included for this price, butter, jelly, awful nutella ersatz, no eggs whatsoever, choice of hot beverage - avoid awful hot chocolate made with water and artificial milk).

Ski room: Besides the hotel but you'll to go outside to access. 2/3 of the surface is reserved for ski rental, 1/3 for the clients of the hotel. Chaos every morning.

GSM: No signal in main room downstairs and in some rooms located near the main stairs.

WiFi: IP address 2.113.68.229 3€/day (you're not in US), measured speed 5Mbps, no so bad. WARNING: the computer used to setup the account cannot be changed i.e. you will be obliged to buy another WiFi ticket for every other computer or smart phone. Not very nice from management.

Noise insulation: What noise insulation? You will hear all your neighbours from everywhere, up, down and besides your room. Very unfortunately for us, our neighbours right above were either professional dancers or wearing high heels shoes ... or both!!! On top of that, the ventilation device in the bathroom vibrates like hell in the morning (some kind of resonance effect with central ventilation system???). Be sure to close the bathroom door. Very bad luck.

AC power plugs (220V): 1 in the bathroom, 2 in the room, German Schuko 7/4 standard

Safety: No evacuation map in the room at the time of our stay despite prescription of Italian safety rules

Payment: Unlike most of the hotels around the world, you will have to pay for your entire stay upon arrival. Major bank and credit cards accepted.

Conclusion: All in all, this is not such a good deal considering all extra costs on top of the hotel fee, like restaurant, breakfast, room service (not included), etc. You'll be better off renting an apartment so that you can cook by yourself which is much cheaper and better. Furthermore, this is not an optimum location for skiing. I would recommend ARRABA or CORVARA with direct access to Sella Ronda. Ortisei (the village where you can find local T-shirts for 40€ a piece, no kidding forty euros, way more expensive than any tourist location in Italy including Milano, Roma, Venezia or Firenze) or Santa Cristina are not so well suited for this.

Room Tip: Caution: No GSM signal in main room downstairs and in some rooms located near the main stairs. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezio P, Direttore generale at Smart Hotel Saslong, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Sorry for our late answer and thanking you for the written comment . We wanted to answer it over a concrete sign of reaction to the comments.

Every review is an opportunity to improve.

The objective of this concept is essential to remain in service looking for a cost-effective solution for unbeatable value for money. It 's just this point, difficult, choose the things suitable for the majority of our guests avoiding unnecessary and costly services at times that are reloaded on account of' guest.

Fortunately, two years after the opening, you are unable to comply with time and although not immediate, to refine some of the many requests.

We are pleased to announce that it meanwhile appointed a new lounge, attractive and warm, a space that collects in the evening guests to be in good company. In addition to this was introduced for the winter 2013 the breakfast buffet, which in turn will be greatly expanded for the summer season 2013 giving the opportunity for greater choice of quality products at a cost of 6 euros and for children up to 15 years breakfast will be free of charge.
The show cooking remains will be occupied by a employer, who will prepare warm dishes te (eggs of various types, orange juice, coffee as the bar etc)., some to pay extra.

The limited Menu of the Blue Restaurant has been expanded considerably and also next summer will be further enlarged to become a traditional restaurant and not so "Smart", with quality and always aggressive prices .

Other news for 2013 was the introduction of the garage and WIFI included, with lines connecting reinforced that do not depend exclusively on the Smart Hotel but from the public delivery.

The ventilator in the room will turn on for 5 minutes automatically after using the toilet itself, and automatically turns off when you turn off the bathroom light, the carpet in the bathroom has been introduced that do not serve the cardboard of supermarket ;-).

The concept for the skier to the Smart Hotel Saslong is to make a smart check in at the reception buing ski pass, to take advantage of 'INHOUSE SKI RENTAL, and take the ski bus (every 15 minutes) to reach the World Cup downhill "Saslong "800 meters from the hotel. Weare sure that our position is not the best but adequate expectations. If this is not enough, we recommend our Hotel Acadia in Selva di Val Gardena, zero! meters from the Sella Ronda with a higher costs.

As you can see, thanks to his contribution, great strides have been made, without forgetting that the "real" argument is always a good price.

With a warm greeting from Val Gardena Ezio Prinoth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A new modern hotel offering very comfortable accommodation. In actual fact we had booked at a sister hotel in Selva, further up the Val Gardena, that belongs to the same owner (the Acadia Hotel in Selva). Due to the early closure of the skiing season, most hotels (including the Acadia) had to close down earlier than anticipated. So at first we were quite disappointed to have our stay at the upscale Acadia transferred to the more modest Saslong. On arrival, however, we were greeted by the owner Mr Ezio Prinoth who explained the circumstances to us and promised that we would receive the same level of service as we had expected. And indeed we did! Dinner was specially prepared for us by the talented chefs and consisted of a 6 course fine dining menu, served by the ever smiling waitress Dagmar. Breakfast was the generous buffet style, of high quality and very abundant considering we were the only ones around. But the biggest surprise came at the end when Mr Prinoth presented us with a heavily discounted bill to compensate us for our initial disappointment, even though we had not complained at all. We have never encountered such a high regard for customer satisfaction and Mr Prinoth surely deserves to be applauded for his handling of this case. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Once you understand the concept,this idea works really well.
The staff could not have been more helpful. Tatjiana on the desk is always on hand with a smile
and no enquiry is too much trouble. The restaurant staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarejBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezio P, General Manager at Smart Hotel Saslong, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank You very much!
Hope to see you soon again.
Ezio Prinoth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Their idea of pay-what-you-need might look odd, but is actually very practical.
You just can actually customize your stay and service level somewhere between vacation rental and full-service hotel - and change your mind during the stay.

Team is cheerful and very friendly. Five points for them.

Rooms is relatively spacious, large flatscreen (with million of channels).
No carpeting looks cold, but it isn't. You can walk barefoot and don't feel cold.
Wi-Fi is extra, but at 3 EUR per day you can't complain.
Bathrooms are new and well equipped.

Restaurant has pretty short list of dishes, and you soon don't find anything interesting anymore - and you go out to the village.
There also is no bar, but set of tables and vending machines, which doesn't actually encourage spending time there. But you can get a drink (or fresh coffee) at 3 AM, if you would like.

Practicality (for ski holiday): five points
Ski rental / ski & boots storage / repair shop adjacent. Parking is sufficient. Small shop two houses away. Bus stop (to ski lifts) across the street.

Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezio P, Manager at Smart Hotel Saslong, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you very much! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

As you can read in the other reviews the Smart Hotel in St. Christina offers decent quality for a reasonable price. The rooms are big enough, the hotel itsself is quite new, the rooms are quiet and clean. Also the situation directly located 20 metres next to the ski bus stop is very convenient. Sounds like a perfect bargain ... in case nothing goes wrong!

There are some drawbacks that are directly related to the little personell on site. The lady at the reception is only at her desk from 7:30 – 11:00 and from 15:00 bis 19:00 Uhr. So in case you have a problem with your room don't count that there will be help.

In our case the regulator of our in room radiator was completely broken off, lying on the floor next to the radiator when we entered the room for the first time. The personell cleaning the room must have seen this, but nothing happende. The defunctioning regulator caused the radiator to fully heat the room the whole day and night. When we came back from skiing at the first evening no one was there to help us either fix the problem oder to give us a new room. We slept terribly the first night and left the window open the cool off the room, causing us to sweat and freeze at the same time.

The next morning i approached the lady at the reception and help was promised. Everything should be fixed until our return after skiing in the evening. Guess what ... nothing happended. It would have been easy to change the regulator within 10 minutes. Fortunatelly there was some staff beein present in the restaurant. She helped us and gave us another room. However due to the fact, that the reception lady was gone, she however could not issue new keys for our new room. Therefore once they opended the room with the general key we had to stay in the room until the next morning.

Be "smart" and book a room at another hotel that costs maybe 20-30 Euro more, but offers at least a tiny bit of service or someone to shout at if something goes wrong.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saslong, Manager at Smart Hotel Saslong, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your rating, sorry for the criticism that we receive with a serious interest.

The repair of the radiator was unfortunately only with the replacement of a part, which we could not get within 24 hours. As you finish your ski day clock after 19:00, you were unfortunately not informed about the problem. It was for you, however, kept a room, unfortunately, was a necessary move and in the safes at the entrance we had dumped you a key and a written information.

At the reception, easy to see there is a hotline 24 hours a day where you can take the phone number 777 is always someone and where we have always good answers and quick solutions are available and there we have given you our Codex.

Unfortunately, it has the SMS notification that we have sent you most likely not work, sorry, it would therefore go so perfectly.

On smart System there are cheap so we can get to these unpredictable events more under control.

During a visit to the Val Gardena, we would be pleased to meet you for a chat and drink and even better would be worth once again as you have guests in the house to prove that we have at hand with a technical problem, smart and quick solutions .

Kind regards
Ezio Prinoth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Smart Hotel Saslong is an inexpensive, if slightly impersonal ski hotel. Rooms are clean and warm, beds comfortable and bathroom modern. Hotel is well designed, with ski hire on site and ski bus outside the door. Not luxury, and very different to the usual idea of a ski hotel. If you want a cheap room, and your focus is only on the skiing then this is perfect. The Val Gardena is beautiful, with great skiing for intermediate skiers (most runs are red). Good local restaurants in Santa Cristina and Ortisei is a gorgeous town to spend a few hours.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cristina Valgardena
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Uridl
Charme Hotel Uridl
#17 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#11 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sporthotel Monte Pana
Sporthotel Monte Pana
#16 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
#7 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#8 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Saslong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Saslong

Property: Smart Hotel Saslong
Address: Via Palua 40, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Santa Cristina Valgardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hotel Saslong 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New generation hotel young people and for who still feels young, dynamic and rational. Ideal for beautiful vacation in Val Gardena and for business trips because it's open the whole year! In the smart hotel Saslong you can book only the overnight staying. Overnight staying with rich breakfast buffet, with a various choice of deliciousness's, homemade sweets, fresh fruits or yogurts from the near farms and obviously every kind of cold cuts and natural fruit juices. Or with half board, with the dinner in the Blue Restaurant which is situated in the hotel: where south Tyrolean and Italian dishes are served in very particular way, modern and creative; without neglect the good taste! It's situated at the beginning of St. Christina in a very calm area, but ideal in winter for skiing and in summer for hiking and excursions, bcause it's in front of our free ski and line busses which will bring you to the lifts in Ortisei and Selva. In winter we there is no neglect of fun and entertainment with the swing full music at the apres ski bar at the entrance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Hotel Saslong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel Saslong Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing