We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Hotel Saslong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Modern, clean, cozy, beautiful room.
been there with my wife for two nights all were very good: staff, dining and navigation recommendation, services.
don't know why the net rating is average...
really good!!!

Room Tip: Ask for restaurant recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I, along with six friends, stayed here for 10 days in September 2012. This a no frills hotel with fees charged for every service, such as cleaning, fresh towels, breakfast, etc. The hotel management must not trust staff as there was absolutely no money exchanged. All purchases were done by purchasing tokens from a vending machine. The staff were all helpful, friendly, and young. The rooms were clean but very small with little cubby holes to place our clothes and personal belongings. We managed. Breakfast buffet was excellent. I think the price (2012) was right for what we got.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krwatanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have been in the Smart Hotel Saslong one year ago with my partner for a few days skiing. Back then the hotel felt practically new, was really affordable, all in all a fair deal. Having stayed there again this February and having experienced a few negative things this time makes me write a review.

First of all the price was almost doubled this year. The price system in this hotel is meant to be easy and straight forward, but it is definitely not. It is very intransparent and disturbing. It does not seem SMART to me that I have to pay a relatively high price for a blank room and then everything goes extra. Room service, WIFI, undergroung parking and everything else has to be paid for extra.
The official rate per night once was EUR 29, then EUR 59 (year 2012), now it is EUR 102 (year 2013). We paid EUR 66 per night and room in 2012, this year we paid EUR 118 per night and room (excl. everything else). Partly this is explainable, as the hotel simply increased its official standard rate per room to EUR 102 and it also raised its fee for staying fewer than 4 nights from EUR 3 to EUR 8 per person and night. The rest is not explainable to me.

Room
Rooms are practically furnished as other reviewers already wrote. Imagine it like a youth hostel room with a nice bathroom. Practical and basic but ok. A nice flatscreen TV and a safe is also in the room. Downsides were the extremely used mattress, which seriously needs to be changed. Another downside is the practice, that the heating system is turned off at about 9 am and switched on again at about 4 pm. Over night it is then again switched off. This saves energy and money for the hotel owner, but is very upsetting if you for example have to spend a day in the room due to illness. The bathroom boasts an optically nice shower, however in our room we had a heavy smell coming from the drainage. In contrast to last year meanwhile a hairblower is in the bathroom. This year we had a room facing the street, where we had a lot of noise and a bad WIFI reception.

Breakfast
The buffet, which is EUR 9 offers almost everything one could ask for. Quality is good. The buffet breakfast offers muesli, salami, ham (very tasty!), delicious varieties of cheese, sweet little cakes, boiled egg and much more. Also a very nice thing is that you could ask for more than one cafe latte at the bar. Very upsetting however is the fact that customers do get fresh juice if they take the cheaper continental option for EUR 6, however not if they pay for the more expensive buffet. An orange might cost 30 cent for the hotel. I asked politely, but it was not possible to get the magic glass of fresh juice. Why is this not possible? Also please avoid busy times. If there are more than three people standing at the very small buffet area it gets problematic.

Service
What Service? There is no service. That is the general principle in the hotel. You have to make the sacrifice that there is simply no one through the day or in the evening.

SPA
There is no pool, sauna or SPA in this hotel.

SKI Room / Ski Bus
Very good place to keep skiers which you can access 24/7. The connection to Saslong or Wolkenstein via the ski bus (direction St. Christina) is very good.

Al in all I was very dissatisfied this time. It seemed smart last year, but not this year. Why should I have to give up service, SPA, room cleaning, proper heating and many other things and still get no reward in form of a good hotel price? The days of EUR 29 or EUR 59 per night are long gone. At EUR 102 per night (+ all extras) the only smart guy in this game is the hotel owner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigitta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

this place is very clean and relatively affordable/good value. the woman at the front desk, Tatiana i think, she was just excellent. her english was perfect, kind and knowledgeable. she recommended viewpoints on the mtns and restaurants around the valley and everything was just awesome. i hope she sees this so that i can thank her for her help.

but the hotel. maybe it's par for the region, but the wifi didnt work for most of the time and when it did it was spotty slow. sometimes, the shower ran out of hot water. and the rain showers were cool, but the door doesnt block the water from spraying all over the bathroom floor. why?!

again, the place was pretty great. free covered parking and very clean.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dyhppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stay from 18/02/2012 to 25/02/2012 - Room 102 - 2 adults + 1 child

Welcome: Excellent, very professional and multilingual. Safe deposit for the keys at the entrance in case you arrive late. Hours of operation 8:00 to 12:00 then 15:00 to 18:00 only.

Car park: free in front of the hotel, 5€/day below the hotel (30 places if everyone is parked properly which is not always the case). Direct access to elevator from the car park.

Location: Between Ortisei and Santa Cristina, nothing special around, no restaurant apart the BLUE restaurant at the hotel which you should definitively avoid. Sella Ronda ski area is not far away but this is certainly not the best location for this purpose. Bus stop SOPLASES is just in front of the hotel although this will lead you to either Saslong or Selva with enormous queues in the morning during kids holidays. A better location would be PLAN DE GRALBA but there are only 3 buses a day from SELVA. Shame, shame, shame. Ski pass is not valid in buses, you'll have to buy a dedicated ticket, 7 days for 7€ only, unbeatable considering that you'll have to pay for all car parks in the area with access to ski lifts.

Room: Everything is made to reduce the hotel costs but not to enhance client satisfaction. Extremely small with minimum equipment. No soap, rather small towels, no shower carpet (caution can be very slippery), shower only (no bathtub) with leakage so that the bathroom will be soaked very quickly, you can reduce leakage by using a cardboard box you can find in the surrounding supermarkets but will be removed by staff if you do not state that you want it to remain in place, medium size HD LCD TV with Italian, German, English channels.

Toilets: Inside the bathroom so that it's not convenient for a family.

Blinds: Excellent, no light in the morning.

Breakfast: 4 types: minimum "Italian style" for 3€ (1 brioche + 1 hot beverage), medium "Saslong smart" for 6€ (1 hot beverage + 1 brioche + 1 roll + butter + jam + honey + 1 squeezed orange juice), medium plus "energetic" for 9€ (1 hot beverage + 1 squeezed orange juice+ 1 yogurt + 1 soft boiled egg + 1 apple strudle + bread + speck) and unlimited buffet for 12€ (local bread, white or dark baguette, toaster, excellent ham and speck, salami, thin slices of cheese, excellent local yogurts, apples, cereals, cold milk, small pastries, tea, apricots, prunes, filthy orange and similar juice, freshly squeeze is much better but not included for this price, butter, jelly, awful nutella ersatz, no eggs whatsoever, choice of hot beverage - avoid awful hot chocolate made with water and artificial milk).

Ski room: Besides the hotel but you'll to go outside to access. 2/3 of the surface is reserved for ski rental, 1/3 for the clients of the hotel. Chaos every morning.

GSM: No signal in main room downstairs and in some rooms located near the main stairs.

WiFi: IP address 2.113.68.229 3€/day (you're not in US), measured speed 5Mbps, no so bad. WARNING: the computer used to setup the account cannot be changed i.e. you will be obliged to buy another WiFi ticket for every other computer or smart phone. Not very nice from management.

Noise insulation: What noise insulation? You will hear all your neighbours from everywhere, up, down and besides your room. Very unfortunately for us, our neighbours right above were either professional dancers or wearing high heels shoes ... or both!!! On top of that, the ventilation device in the bathroom vibrates like hell in the morning (some kind of resonance effect with central ventilation system???). Be sure to close the bathroom door. Very bad luck.

AC power plugs (220V): 1 in the bathroom, 2 in the room, German Schuko 7/4 standard

Safety: No evacuation map in the room at the time of our stay despite prescription of Italian safety rules

Payment: Unlike most of the hotels around the world, you will have to pay for your entire stay upon arrival. Major bank and credit cards accepted.

Conclusion: All in all, this is not such a good deal considering all extra costs on top of the hotel fee, like restaurant, breakfast, room service (not included), etc. You'll be better off renting an apartment so that you can cook by yourself which is much cheaper and better. Furthermore, this is not an optimum location for skiing. I would recommend ARRABA or CORVARA with direct access to Sella Ronda. Ortisei (the village where you can find local T-shirts for 40€ a piece, no kidding forty euros, way more expensive than any tourist location in Italy including Milano, Roma, Venezia or Firenze) or Santa Cristina are not so well suited for this.

Room Tip: Caution: No GSM signal in main room downstairs and in some rooms located near the main stairs. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Koizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezio P, Direttore generale at Smart Hotel Saslong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Sorry for our late answer and thanking you for the written comment . We wanted to answer it over a concrete sign of reaction to the comments.

Every review is an opportunity to improve.

The objective of this concept is essential to remain in service looking for a cost-effective solution for unbeatable value for money. It 's just this point, difficult, choose the things suitable for the majority of our guests avoiding unnecessary and costly services at times that are reloaded on account of' guest.

Fortunately, two years after the opening, you are unable to comply with time and although not immediate, to refine some of the many requests.

We are pleased to announce that it meanwhile appointed a new lounge, attractive and warm, a space that collects in the evening guests to be in good company. In addition to this was introduced for the winter 2013 the breakfast buffet, which in turn will be greatly expanded for the summer season 2013 giving the opportunity for greater choice of quality products at a cost of 6 euros and for children up to 15 years breakfast will be free of charge.
The show cooking remains will be occupied by a employer, who will prepare warm dishes te (eggs of various types, orange juice, coffee as the bar etc)., some to pay extra.

The limited Menu of the Blue Restaurant has been expanded considerably and also next summer will be further enlarged to become a traditional restaurant and not so "Smart", with quality and always aggressive prices .

Other news for 2013 was the introduction of the garage and WIFI included, with lines connecting reinforced that do not depend exclusively on the Smart Hotel but from the public delivery.

The ventilator in the room will turn on for 5 minutes automatically after using the toilet itself, and automatically turns off when you turn off the bathroom light, the carpet in the bathroom has been introduced that do not serve the cardboard of supermarket ;-).

The concept for the skier to the Smart Hotel Saslong is to make a smart check in at the reception buing ski pass, to take advantage of 'INHOUSE SKI RENTAL, and take the ski bus (every 15 minutes) to reach the World Cup downhill "Saslong "800 meters from the hotel. Weare sure that our position is not the best but adequate expectations. If this is not enough, we recommend our Hotel Acadia in Selva di Val Gardena, zero! meters from the Sella Ronda with a higher costs.

As you can see, thanks to his contribution, great strides have been made, without forgetting that the "real" argument is always a good price.

With a warm greeting from Val Gardena Ezio Prinoth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A new modern hotel offering very comfortable accommodation. In actual fact we had booked at a sister hotel in Selva, further up the Val Gardena, that belongs to the same owner (the Acadia Hotel in Selva). Due to the early closure of the skiing season, most hotels (including the Acadia) had to close down earlier than anticipated. So at first we were quite disappointed to have our stay at the upscale Acadia transferred to the more modest Saslong. On arrival, however, we were greeted by the owner Mr Ezio Prinoth who explained the circumstances to us and promised that we would receive the same level of service as we had expected. And indeed we did! Dinner was specially prepared for us by the talented chefs and consisted of a 6 course fine dining menu, served by the ever smiling waitress Dagmar. Breakfast was the generous buffet style, of high quality and very abundant considering we were the only ones around. But the biggest surprise came at the end when Mr Prinoth presented us with a heavily discounted bill to compensate us for our initial disappointment, even though we had not complained at all. We have never encountered such a high regard for customer satisfaction and Mr Prinoth surely deserves to be applauded for his handling of this case. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Once you understand the concept,this idea works really well.
The staff could not have been more helpful. Tatjiana on the desk is always on hand with a smile
and no enquiry is too much trouble. The restaurant staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarejBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezio P, General Manager at Smart Hotel Saslong, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank You very much!
Hope to see you soon again.
Ezio Prinoth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cristina Valgardena
0.8 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Uridl
Charme Hotel Uridl
#18 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
85 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#10 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
138 reviews
19.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
20.2 mi away
Hotel Ideal Park
Hotel Ideal Park
#1 of 5 in Laives
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel Saslong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel Saslong

Address: Via Palua 40, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Santa Cristina Valgardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Price Range: £44 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hotel Saslong 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New generation hotel young people and for who still feels young, dynamic and rational. Ideal for beautiful vacation in Val Gardena and for business trips because it's open the whole year! In the smart hotel Saslong you can book only the overnight staying. Overnight staying with rich breakfast buffet, with a various choice of deliciousness's, homemade sweets, fresh fruits or yogurts from the near farms and obviously every kind of cold cuts and natural fruit juices. Or with half board, with the dinner in the Blue Restaurant which is situated in the hotel: where south Tyrolean and Italian dishes are served in very particular way, modern and creative; without neglect the good taste! It's situated at the beginning of St. Christina in a very calm area, but ideal in winter for skiing and in summer for hiking and excursions, bcause it's in front of our free ski and line busses which will bring you to the lifts in Ortisei and Selva. In winter we there is no neglect of fun and entertainment with the swing full music at the apres ski bar at the entrance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Hotel Saslong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel Saslong Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing