We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a hotel”
Review of Seven Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seven Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great service, great rooms, great breakfast. Seven hostel is a great hostel with services like a hotel. Not hard to get to the main area of Sorrento. Watch out for the church bells, but these seem to ring in most small Italian towns!

Room Tip: Double rooms are quieter, cooler (in summer) and aren't much more in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammygee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    95
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
9
74
62
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing time here, very much a backpackers hostel, really good fun, happy hours and cheap food. The food isn't as nice as sorrento but if your not fussy and want a cheap eat its nice! If you want to save money and don't mind walking then sorrento is a 30 minute walk away, there is also a beach 20minutes away which you need to pay for a sun lounger. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathrooms were acceptable too. Breakfast was basic but more than enough to set you up for the day! There is an amazing roof top bar with beautiful sunset views over the sea. Also we came across this small grocery store on the left when walking towards sorrento, it has massive watermelons out the front, if you go in and ask for their home made wine you can buy a litre for 3.99 and it is delicious!!! Full of young people travelling, I strongly recommend this if this is what you want.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielouise8810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and shared a double room which was overly pricy. Our view was of the communal area, and when we questioned about the noise levels that we knew would inevitably follow each night of our stay, we were told there was nothing they could do. The breakfast was basic...cereal, croissants and dried toast every morning. The coffee was watery and the juices were overloaded with ice. The location isn't ideal and proves difficult to get to sorrento if you're planning on staying out late into the evening as trains back stop around 10pm. The maid cleaned our room every day however didn't change the sheets, only tucked them in to look neat. Also one of our towels had holes in them...not impressed. Our bedroom floor remained dirty and the curtain were broken when we arrived. The lounge area outside is nice but the food and drink are overpriced and the hostel makes no attempt to create social events where others can meet each other. Overall we were disappointed with our stay and wouldn't recommend it as it's too pricy for what it is...a basic hostel masking itself as a hotel. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiaheartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Sometimes the hostel makes it seem like they are in Sorrento or that they are really close to Sorrento and it is not. The taxi won't even come to the hostel so you have to walk to the main square to catch one. And then the Taxi rips you off. Or you can walk for an hour. Also I had a lot of sheets with red stains and hair. Most importantly our room had bed bugs, which inconvenienced our whole group of six people. All of us had to waste a day in Italy to do our laundry. When we asked to be compensated for our laundry one of the managers said no and wanted us to choose between free laundry or a refund for ONE night. This was odd due to the fact that we were doing laundry because of the bed bugs and that the bed bugs were there the whole time not just one night. We ended up still paying for 1 night out of 3 and got 4 loads of washer and dryer free. The washer already has detergent which messed up the color of our clothes. The dryer also ripped some of our clothes. The owner didn't even want to talk to us and kept sending other managers to talk to us. The front desk was really helpful which is the only reason I gave 2 stars instead of one. This was my first hostel so I didn't know what to expect, but the service could've made up for our experiences and it didn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I won't blame this hostel for the bed bugs in the room since that can happen anywhere. I will blame them for the lack of customer service we received after informing them about bed bugs and the overall disgusting shape they keep this place in. It all shows just how little they care about anyone who stays here. When we first arrived, we found stray hairs and stains on the bed sheets, not just the fitted sheet but the sheets the front desk handed us when we checked in. We dealt with this, grossed out but assuming this was typical for a hostel (none of us had ever been to one). On the second morning in our 6 person dorm, one of us awoke to find bed bugs on the pillow. Over the next couple days all of us found bites. We told an employee, who offered us a new sheet for the one bed where bugs were found. We refused to stay there and wanted to do laundry to avoid carrying bugs to our next hotels as this was our first.
They were generous enough to comp us on the bed bug night but claimed that since we found no bugs on the first night, we should still pay for that night. They then begrudgingly offered 3 washes and 2 dry cycles, which would leave us with only 1 load of wet clothes to travel to our new hotel with. They did get an exterminator in after a couple hours, but the owner/manager refused to talk to us except through other employees. They just really don't care here. The only explanation for all these great reviews is that someone who works for this dump is writing them. The place might look nice at first glance but take a closer look at all the furniture covers, the bathroom ceilings that are falling apart, and the croissants on the outdoor breakfast table that ate crawling with ants.
In other news, the bar was only open for 2 hours each day from 6-8pm. We couldn't even get lunch at the rooftop bar on our bed bug and laundry day because it was closed. We did get pizza at the rooftop at night, which had a really soggy crust. If all that doesn't deter you, keep in mind that this place is NOT in sorrento. It is in sant'agnello, a town that is absolutely dead after 9pm and is a trek from sorrento. It's not even cheap. Don't go here. Ever.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MR3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Really enjoyed this hostel We travelled with 3 teenagers, husband and I great spot. I had been looking for accommodation and saw that the Sydney Morning Herald reckons this is one of the top 10 hostels in the world. It was tricky enough to find, as we were driving but worth it. While Sorrento/Sant'Agnello is a bit too touristy for me, it was a great base for going to Pompeii.

the staff were friendly, the place spotless and very nicely designed. The view from the roof top was gorgeous,, the food was reasonable, and fine - nothing to write home about, we did not bother going out for dinner both of our nights there because we liked the atmosphere so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This place is the cleanest and one of the coolest hostels I have ever stayed at! It was modern, efficient, friendly staff, great common areas and breakfast (included in price), huge and clean shared bathrooms, dorm-style rooms. The best part is the unreal ROOFTOP BAR/lounge with couches, cheap happy hour drinks, and good food! Great views of the city and ocean - perfect for sunset. Fun, worldly, and young clientele. Overall a great time! One downside is location just outside Sorrento - hence the better prices. Short 10 min walk to train where you get on a 2 minute ride into the heart of Sorrento. Only issue is trains sometimes don't come that often, maybe every half hour or so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.6 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Hostel

Property: Seven Hostel
Address: Via Iommella Grande 99, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Seven Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Hostel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing