We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining”
Review of Don Geppi

Don Geppi
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$98 - US$156
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Excellent balance of flavours

Good variety of dishes and wines

Meat cooked to perfection

Staff very attentive

Not cheap, but good value for money

Just right for a special occassion

Take your mosquito repellant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fixed Half-board Menu For Majestic Palace”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good choice of 4 starters and mains which changed daily.
Food of good quality and decent value for money as part of the package. Wines including local ones were fairly priced at UK restaurant levels.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tinsley_S_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Promises Unfulfilled”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Staff was exceptional - food not so. While the chef was innovative the execution fell short. The steak had no flavor; it was cooked exactly as requested but the sauce covering it couldn't help for the lack of flavor. The local fish was lovely but it was covered in a vanilla sauce - yuk! The starter was a lovely salmon but a green tasteless puffy bread. It looked good but wasn't.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KikiK1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Don Geppi, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Kikik1025,

Thank you very much for choosing our Restaurant and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry to know that you didn't meet your expectation in full. You have chosen from our à la carte menu (we have a choice of more than 30 plats) the steak with sauté spinach with raisins and roast pine nuts and the sauce is not used to cover the flavour of the steak but to extol it.
Regarding the fish, you have chosen a very good local fish, the Pezzogna's fillet cooked in a broth of lemon and pod of vanilla from Madagascar, if the problem was the vanilla you could tell us and we prepared it with something different ...
In conclusion I would like to clarify that our food besides being well presented is also of a good quality (many products and vegetables are produced from our own garden) and good taste but we know that it isn't always easy to satisfy the tastes of all our guests.
We hope to welcome you back in our restaurant and to meet next time your expextations.

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Cuisine - 7 nights of flawless food!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the Majestic Palace hotel (which the restaurant is attached too) with the Half-board option. I'd read one or two reviews on Tripadvisor of people moaning that there wasn't much choice, but I honestly can say this restaurant did consistently great food night after night.

To start you have an optional buffet of salad, but we didn't tend to ever eat this as the two portions you receive are MORE than enough, and that's before you even look at the desserts on offer.

I had some amazing Pasta dishes, superbly cooked lamb, pork, veal etc. The vegetables were absolutely delicious (and quite varied, night after night). I can only think the volcanic soil makes all the veg taste so good, because I've never eaten tomatoes or aubergines as good as the ones I had in Sant'agnello, Sorrento etc. Even the mash was great. Wine was a bit on the pricey side but we were on a tight budget so not a problem if you don't mind spending €20+ night after night.

I've seen somebody mark this place down because they were a fussy eater! Not really the restaurants fault is it? Sant'Agnello is a seaside village and a lot of the local dishes are seafood based. The clam pasta in particular was gorgeous.

If staying with the hotel you get a choice of 4x first and 4x second courses and there were only ever a maximum of two seafood dishes at any one time, there were always a vegetarian options as well so again, I really don't see how people can bemoan the lack of options when it comes to the evening meals.

The one minor complaint (and it's very minor) is that breakfast was always the same, though there was still a lot of choice there: cooked meats, cooked breakfast, fresh fruits, cereal, pastry's, yoghurt....I could go on.

Service was great, the staff were very professional and friendly. Mineral water was reasonable for a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Fantastic food. Lots of choice. Beautifully presented. Tasted exquisite. They also have a childrens menu with lots of choice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Enacasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Don Geppi, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear TroupStar,

Thank you very much for choosing the Don Geppi Restaurant and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your lovely review. we are very pleased to read that you appreciated our cuisine.
We really hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Geppi also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 

Been to Don Geppi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing