We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel and Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC metro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Property”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Beautiful, old hotel, gorgeous grounds. Giuseppe, the concierge, was incredibly helpful with food recommendations, reservations and setting up a car service to take us to Positano. The room was gorgeous as well, but the shower is in desperate need of a full-length door to limit leaking. Breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious, although they start clearing at 10am even if there are customers. The Asian restaurant was incredible and the staff there could not have been more helpful. The location is great. An easy walk into the center of Sorrento, but much quieter. There is a private pool area and beach deck.

Overall, Cocumella was great -- but for a 5 star hotel at this price, we expected perfection, and Cocumella fell a bit short. The woman who showed us our room was snooty and told us that the air conditioner had been set, so we shouldn't touch it (a contrast from the usual "feel free to adjust the AC for your comfort"). We were surprised at the lack of information about amenities -- no book in the room and no guidance on setting up WiFi, how to get down to the beachfront, channel list, etc. The front desk did not have menus for their own restaurants (let alone others in the area), so we had to go to each hotel restaurant on our own to find them -- but nobody was working there during the day and no menus were displayed. There's a nice pool, but the pool attendant was often MIA, so we had to sneak around the shack to get towels for ourselves. There was one beer option at the pool--Peroni--and it was absurdly priced (something like $8).

Overall, we had a great stay. The majority of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was more than we expected (we were upgraded to a suite). The location of the hotel was perfect for us - an easy walk to the hustle and bustle of Sorrento, but a quiet peaceful property. The hotel grounds were perfection. Absolutely gorgeous gardens, quiet pool and a beautiful view of the water and coast - tons of chairs and tables available to sit back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    59
    23
    12
    13
See reviews for
65
143
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed with my husband here for 3 nights and it was superb! The purpose of our visit was our 1st wedding anniversary and in favor of it we were upgrade for junior suite. I can’t estimate a standard room – I have no experience, but our room was very-very good. About hotel in order:
1. Very good location - 10 min walk till center of Sorrento but it’s quiet around it.
2. Thanks to the location the sea comparatively clean and there is no huge amount of different type of boats (like in Sorrento centre)
3. The hotel building is absolutely exciting inside and park between it and the sea –it was something special – a lot of lemon, orange threes, pines, flower- very-very impressive.
4. Quite good breakfast on the terrace with excellent coffee!!!!
5. Very good management, very good service, very reasonable approach!!
6. Fusion restaurant with the sea view is very interesting and very tasty (not very cheap but it worth)
My special thanks to the manager of the hotel – his attention make our vocations special and very good approach and job was done by concierge. It was amazing stay and I’m going to repeat it. Ршаредн recommended for romance getaway and for serious people who love comfort, welcome atmosphere and a little other guests around you).

Room Tip: Junir suite - very impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Loved this hotel. The property is full of edible fruits and vegetables growing all around. Pool and beach area very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJack99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
312 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The most romantic and charming days. Low season is the best time to stay in this hotel. Unbeatable view, superb garden and ... the staff you will not find anywhere in the world

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max120368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We picked the hotel from a list given by a wedding advisor (so fairly risky!) We weren't dissapointed! The location, hotel and staff were just perfect and couldn't have been improved.
We took nearly 50 family and friends on a cruise and stopped off in Sorrento at the Cocumella to marry on the terrace. The whole thing was like a movie set, just amazing.
We loved it so much we went back for our first anniversary and went onboard Vera the tall ship (another great reccomendation)
We plan every year to return for our anniversary.
Again thank you to all at the hotel, if you're thinking of a wedding venue then disregard all others, you have found perfection!

Room Tip: Quieter at the end of the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_richards40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I was not too keen when I first saw the photos my boyfriend presented to me with - as I felt the room decorations were too extravagantly tasteless. However, I was wrong. Extravagant yes, but the rooms were elegant and pretty, and the details were much more beautiful in reality than could be captured in the photos.

Breakfast is divine, with an amazing choice of Italian sweets and savories, in a heavenly setting; service is faultless. We had the BEST ever breakfast room service ever in Cocumella- it was like a dream! We also had lunch at their restaurant on our day of arrival, and the delicious food was served on a pretty balcony. There was the amazing view of Bay of Naples from our room and from the restaurant beyond a fragrant garden. And although it was too cold, the swimming pool in the garden looked most inviting and clean. We also took a peep of an Italian wedding in their banquet hall, and it was the loveliest and most romantic banquet hall I'd seen. We both loved it.

The staff, especially the manager was also lovely. He was very ready to give us information on the surrounding area (we did quite a bit of hiking), and the staff catered to our needs as much as they could.

To this day, we have still received Christmas cards from Cocumella, and remember the place fondly.

The only down-side? I guess was the toilet next to the breakfast room. It looked like it was a bit forgotten, smelly and dinghy, in contrast to the rest of the perfection in the hotel. But it was close to perfection.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Having been extremely disappointed with the hotel suggested by our supposedly knowledgeable expert travel advisor, we wondered into the Cocumella where we were greeted by the charming Guiseppe who graciously showed us the rooms still available.

Sensing our delight at what was obviously a beautifully appointed hotel with stunning gardens in the perfect location but obviously tempered by our having already pre-paid for the entire stay other hotel, he weilded his magic and offered us both a room and a price we couldn't resist.

So, after three days in an over-priced sub-standard glorified B&B, we were esconsed in a hotel that quickly became a 'home from home'.

The delightfully patient, friendly and helpful staff perfectly complemented the fabulously quiet, serene and perfectly presented public rooms; the breakfasts were the perfect start to the day; and the views from the beautifully landscaped gardens overlooking the Bay of Naples were incredible both night and day.

It truly was a very special place for a very special honeymoon...we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigs1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Property: Grand Hotel Cocumella
Address: Via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing