We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eliseo Park's(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Londra(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Crawford(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Florida(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Pergola(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
215
66
25
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
66
25
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic gardenformer monasteryprivate beachtennis courtsamalfi coastthe cliffjunior suitehotel groundsbreakfast is servedpoolside restaurantlarge pooloverlooking the seaour honeymoonweek stayquiet locationpublic areaswonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This time last year my Mother and I stayed at the glorious Cocumella. What a wonderful memory and so special to have been part of what turned out to be her last holiday. If you are reading this because you haven't been to the Cocumella and are toying with the idea, I urge you to go there. You won't regret it. Everything about it is nurturing with old world courtesy. I know it shouldn't be a rarity but the customer is definitely King at the Cocumella and, in this day and age, that is so very nice. The staff are exceptional. The hotel itself is an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of the Sorrento coastline. The rooms are sumptuously calm too and the food is out of this world. If you need pampering and a special memory, this is your haven.

Room Tip: A view over the Bay of Naples looking at Vesuvius is worth every penny!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HolidayGirl50055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

THE HOTEL & THE GROUNDS:
Set amongst some of the finest views Italy has to offer, The Cocumella is a true palace. The grounds are stunning, extensive and are a tropical haven to everything italian. The plants offer the most vibrant fruits which the manager, stephan, encourages you to freely pick. Stephan prides the hotel on it's philosophy "it's your home, kick your shoes off and relax" and he means it. We spent most of our trip walking around the grounds in our shorts and t-shirts and felt very relaxed. There were a few weddings here and Stephan made sure hotel guests had the foremost attention, we were even given lots of cake and champagne with compliments of the hotel to celebrate. I've noticed a few issues regarding the hotel set back from the cliff.. whilst the actual hotel is set back 50 metres from the cliff front, the grounds go directly up to the cliff edge and host the best table views on the Sorrento Coastline hands down, so don't be put off by this, you have so much privacy it's ecstasy.


THE ROOMS:
Think Elizabeth Taylor meets Luis Vuitton. The bed linen is heaven and with the owner spending £1500 per head on linen that is only produced in one other very famous 5* hotel in Singapore, you can guarantee a good nights sleep. The rooms are cool, simple and yet lavishly Italian. Room service is quick and efficient and the furniture ornate and opulent and has wonderful attention to detail (the shampoo and conditioner smells AMAZING by the way).


THE FOOD:
Breakfast is fantastic and is a feast for the tastebuds, and a small tip, the Napolitano coffee is a perfect way to start your day! The buffet lunch is something that only the finest restaurants would provide with everything mediterranean available and great value for money. Dinner naturally is the best part and should be michelin starred it's that simple.

THE POOL:
You will not leave this place, it's heaven. That is all i have to say about that.

THE STAFF:
Theses guys are the best bit. They are such characters and really make you feel like a king or Queen. They are so professional and yet friendly and i can't emphasise how much they want you to feel at home. Cico and Nelo are gems to the trade and nothing is too far fetched for them to make or provide. There is no snobbery here and personally i've found that's the markings of a great 5* hotel.

IN CONCLUSION:
I came to this hotel 8 years ago and it was great then but it did have it's faults. Stephan has transformed a good hotel into a palace and situated on the STUNNING Sorrento coastline i am going to say my favourite hotel in Italy. We did go on to the Capri Palace after and at 3 times the price the Capri Palace didn't come close to the incredible experience of the Cocumella. Whilst the town centre is a 15 minute walk, i doubt you will want to venture out as it's paradise found.

Stay here I promise you'll return home feeling like you own the world.

Room Tip: have a bottle of red on the waterfront as the sun sets, you'll feel like you own Italy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Cocumella has surpassed our greatest expectations! The service is superior with an exceptional attention to detail. Everyone from reception to management make sure that your every need is met at all times. The breakfast includes handmade pastries, frittatas, fresh fruit, antipasto, cereals, and the best espresso and cappucino in Italy. The head concierge helps with the planning and execution of all of your needs and he is do thorough! We highly recommend the hotel and cannot think of a negative thing to note. Go to the Hotel Cocumella if you want an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peaceplease22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband whisked me away to the Cocumella as a surprise for my birthday and our wedding anniversary and he gained maximum brownie points for it! The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the food in the restaurant absolutely excellent, but the friendliness and service offered by all the staff are second to none. They couldn't do enough for us whilst we were there, including flowers and champagne for my birthday. Giuseppe, the head Concierge, basically ran our lives for a week and arranged, trips, cars and restaurants - all fantastic - and all with a smile. Oh yes, and don't forget to try the marmalade at breakfast - all made with oranges and lemons from the gardens. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with spectacular views from the balcony towards Vesuvius and overlooking the Bay of Naples beyond the garden. Probably expensive (I didn't see the bill) but lovely for a special occasion.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dendrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It is hard for me to give my score for a hotel. But when I read the other posts in tripadvisor found that each manager of hotel can turned to view of driving a property from negative to positives. I am starting from the arrival, nobody was waiting for us at the port after repeated agreements (the transfer is paid), we were advised to catch a taxi (it is the same, where is the difference). Yes, our room was large, but it's furnished poor. WiFi only worked in the lobby, and I was informed that there will be coverage in the room. Breakfast, it's just poor, but orange juice was freshly squeezed at least." Few min walk from the center " ha, ha, ha it's 15-20 € by taxi , is this a few min, a??? Ask the concierge!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lyubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews