We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel and it's grounds are superb with exceptional views over the Bay of Naples. The staff are all incredibly friendly and accommodating. We had a tremendously relaxing and enjoyable time. The grounds are massive so even if the hotel is full it still feels quiet. I've read complaints about location; it's a 15 minute stroll to the centre of Sorrento and yes it can cost €20 in a cab. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neilmcewan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    61
    24
    12
    13
See reviews for
66
145
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We (2 adults, 2 boys aged 10 and 9) stayed for 3 nights, and were blown away by the beauty of the setting, the astonishing breakfasts (quails' eggs anyone?), the peacefulness, and the stunning views. The greatest strength of this hotel, however, is the friendliness of the staff. They are all wonderful - from the lovely man at the pool bar who made friends with my annoying 9-year-old and kept making him non-alcoholic cocktails, to the extraordinarily helpful concierges, to the smiling waiters, EVERYONE was superb, and made us feel very welcome. I always worry when taking children to "posh" hotels because many of them are a bit sniffy about kids, but the Cocumella should be applauded for their staff training because it is spot on. We also splashed out on hiring the hotel tall ship, the Vera, for a day trip to Capri, which was outrageously expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkipHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is exceptional. An old monastery set in its own gardens that stretch to the cliff top( and a passenger lift to the hotel beach) the team have thought of everything necessary for an indulgent break. Lovely rooms accessed through corridors steeped in history, wonderful dining areas with views across the tree tops, lovely pool tucked into the landscaped gardens and a splendid menu for dinner. Two particular highlights - the breakfasts are superb with a full range to chose from with ad hoc daily treats. And beyond this the staff are great throughout marshalled by the avuncular Stephen who is on hand to cosset and guide guests to ensure their holiday is memorable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Maybe avoid a front room which overlooks the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this beautiful and very charming Hotel at the end of the season, late October and we had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. The staff were beyond helpful, the room delightful and extremely comfortable, the food excellent, from breakfast, through lunch and dinner. We swan everyday, but being the end of season the one day of rain we had we enjoyed a leisurely lunch followed by a touch of shopping.
We would recommend it to anyone wanting a true retreat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home .The staff are truly lovely and show a genuine interest- they will do all they can to ensure that your expectations are exceeded
We were in a standard room which was very comfortable and had a lovely sitting area.The public areas are however truly stunning and the gardens and views are memorable.
We will certainly return if we are fortunate enough to go to Sorrento again

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank bryan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This time last year my Mother and I stayed at the glorious Cocumella. What a wonderful memory and so special to have been part of what turned out to be her last holiday. If you are reading this because you haven't been to the Cocumella and are toying with the idea, I urge you to go there. You won't regret it. Everything about it is nurturing with old world courtesy. I know it shouldn't be a rarity but the customer is definitely King at the Cocumella and, in this day and age, that is so very nice. The staff are exceptional. The hotel itself is an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of the Sorrento coastline. The rooms are sumptuously calm too and the food is out of this world. If you need pampering and a special memory, this is your haven.

Room Tip: A view over the Bay of Naples looking at Vesuvius is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayGirl50055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

THE HOTEL & THE GROUNDS:
Set amongst some of the finest views Italy has to offer, The Cocumella is a true palace. The grounds are stunning, extensive and are a tropical haven to everything italian. The plants offer the most vibrant fruits which the manager, stephan, encourages you to freely pick. Stephan prides the hotel on it's philosophy "it's your home, kick your shoes off and relax" and he means it. We spent most of our trip walking around the grounds in our shorts and t-shirts and felt very relaxed. There were a few weddings here and Stephan made sure hotel guests had the foremost attention, we were even given lots of cake and champagne with compliments of the hotel to celebrate. I've noticed a few issues regarding the hotel set back from the cliff.. whilst the actual hotel is set back 50 metres from the cliff front, the grounds go directly up to the cliff edge and host the best table views on the Sorrento Coastline hands down, so don't be put off by this, you have so much privacy it's ecstasy.


THE ROOMS:
Think Elizabeth Taylor meets Luis Vuitton. The bed linen is heaven and with the owner spending £1500 per head on linen that is only produced in one other very famous 5* hotel in Singapore, you can guarantee a good nights sleep. The rooms are cool, simple and yet lavishly Italian. Room service is quick and efficient and the furniture ornate and opulent and has wonderful attention to detail (the shampoo and conditioner smells AMAZING by the way).


THE FOOD:
Breakfast is fantastic and is a feast for the tastebuds, and a small tip, the Napolitano coffee is a perfect way to start your day! The buffet lunch is something that only the finest restaurants would provide with everything mediterranean available and great value for money. Dinner naturally is the best part and should be michelin starred it's that simple.

THE POOL:
You will not leave this place, it's heaven. That is all i have to say about that.

THE STAFF:
Theses guys are the best bit. They are such characters and really make you feel like a king or Queen. They are so professional and yet friendly and i can't emphasise how much they want you to feel at home. Cico and Nelo are gems to the trade and nothing is too far fetched for them to make or provide. There is no snobbery here and personally i've found that's the markings of a great 5* hotel.

IN CONCLUSION:
I came to this hotel 8 years ago and it was great then but it did have it's faults. Stephan has transformed a good hotel into a palace and situated on the STUNNING Sorrento coastline i am going to say my favourite hotel in Italy. We did go on to the Capri Palace after and at 3 times the price the Capri Palace didn't come close to the incredible experience of the Cocumella. Whilst the town centre is a 15 minute walk, i doubt you will want to venture out as it's paradise found.

Stay here I promise you'll return home feeling like you own the world.

Room Tip: have a bottle of red on the waterfront as the sun sets, you'll feel like you own Italy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Property: Grand Hotel Cocumella
Address: Via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing