We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to end a vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2006

what a great way to end a lovely italian vacation! first and foemost the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, more than neccessary, and the hotel was wonderful. great pool, beautiful view of the bay of naples and vesuvius, and a lovely sundeck on the pier. highly recommended to anyone who wants to see the real italy

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank emirienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2006

We spent five wonderful days in June 2006. We were a group of five and had 3 rooms on various floors. The ages ranged from 22 to 60 and their was enough to do for everyone. This was a college graduation gift for our daughter. Our room was a suite which overlooked the orange & lemon grove. The service and food at this hotel was fantastic. You could not ask for more. Breakfast was served in a bright room overlooking the hotel grounds. We were always greeted with a smile by the hotel staff. They could not do enough for you and made you feel like family. I cannot say enough about them. Dinner at the hotel was also wonderful in the hotel's dining room which overlooked the grounds and ocean in the background.
The hotel is located a short distance from the center of Sorrento which tends to be a little noisy. The grounds feature orange and lemon trees, an oversized pool, veranda that overlooks the ocean and small beach area. Every time we look at our photo's we have happy memories of the Grand Hotel Cocumella. We will definitely come back soon!

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2006

We arrived very late at night after a long journey and as we registered with the late-duty concierge asked about the possibility of getting something to eat. There were two men talking to the concierge when we arrived. It turned out that one was the maitre d' and the other the wine waiter. They were on their way home and apologised for the kitchen being closed. Nonetheless they offered to get us something light, asked about our wine preference and a few minutes later came to our suite with a delightful snack and some wonderful Aglianico wine (not cheap, but worth it). That set the tone for our stay. A reasonable room and bathroom, beautiful garden. Very good concierge, who drove us to the station for the trains to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples. We were there very early in the season and the hotel was not busy, but we could tell that the staff would know how to handle a rush. They were well-organised and keen to please. Recommended.
One word of advice about transport. We went solely to see the archeological sites and the museum and made the mistake of renting a car at Naples airport. It was quite unnecessary. The hotel would have sent a driver to meet us and all the sites can be reached by fast, cheap train. Our car spent its time in the hotel car park.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FirstBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2005

We just returned from a five day stay at Sorrento in the Grand Hotel Cocumella. Though the hotel is beautiful, with a great staff, nice garden, views and huge pool, its restaurant is too expensive for the food they serve.
A bottle of a local wine starts at 35 Euros, when you can purchase one in the local store for less than 8 Euros. A diner for two will be for 160 Euros, without dessert and only one bottle of wine ( a cheap one!!!).
So, if you go, try the local restaurants around the hotel.

4  Thank Chemistpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2005

I recently spent five nights at the Grand Hotel Cocumella in Sorrento. When I arrived I inquired about an uprade but was told the hotel was sold out and that an upgrade was impossible.The place seemed deserted to me. The room was large but dark. There was no balcony and there was no view. I suppose if my room was a suite with a view of the sea I would have rated the hotel higher. I feel the hotel was way over priced. On the plus side the food was good and the employees were friendly and helpful.
The grounds were beautiful and the pool was a delight. I probably would not stay there again.

Stayed: July 2005
11  Thank JRSMDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2005

I was expecting this hotel to be one of the best on our holiday from the reviews on Trip Advisor which is usually a great help. How wrong could I have been! This hotel may have been nice 20 years ago but it has not been touched since. The room was tired, dirty and well past its sell by date as was the hotel in general. There were insufficent staff and they did not have a clue with regard to 5 star service. This is priced as a 5 star hotel but is definitely nowhere near that standard in terms of the quality of the building or the service. The location is also not great. A very dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RichmondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2005

With the help of this website my fiance & I booked various hotels in Rome, we then travelled down to Sorrento & decided to treat ourselves to 2 nights staying at the Cocumella Hotel & booked a junior suite..Well what can I say..what an exquisite hotel, the website does not do the grounds justice, the garden is so tranquil and perfectly kept. The swimming pool is huge and most inviting. The room was beautiful, one of the best we've ever stayed in. We ate lunch on our first day on the terrace by the pool & dinner the following evening on the restaurant terrace both great. The staff at this hotel are among the best I have come across, they are all extremely polite, friendly and obviously enjoy working in such a beautiful hotel. We were very sad to leave and will definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank TravelFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Address: Via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £234 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing