We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beuatiful service, terraces and gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beuatiful service, terraces and gardens”
Reviewed 30 June 2007

We stayed as guests to a 3 day wedding reception trip in late June. The concierge and staff were totally service/oriented and really tried their best to find out what we liked, needed and how to please us.
Since the hotel was clasical rather than modern, I had expected our double room to be small and dark, but in fact, with 5 meter ceilings painted in white, and a good 35 square meters, we were really comfortable.
The restaurant is pricey, (we only had the lunch menu each day on the garden terrace) but the food quality was excellent and absolutely fresh, so we should not complain.
The large terrace and view to Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples was breathtaking, and the wedding reception and service was well tuned to the weddng party needs including children and adults.
The hotel is a classy 5 star base and we'd certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — A sense of classical splendor and the beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — Antique furniture in the bedrooms which had to much character. i.e. doors that did not work
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    61
    25
    12
    13
See reviews for
66
147
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Everything about this hotel is perfect, the staff are excellent, the rooms are beautiful, and the location is breathtaking. This hotel has everything that a wonderful holiday requires. The hotel is packed full of amenities, a gym, a private beach, a swimming pool, tennis courts and if that isn't enough there is a sailing boat, 'Vera', which can be used by guests. This hotel really is perfection.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank mushis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2006

Myself and Claire stayed for a week in mid September. We asked to change rooms, as the first was rather small and dark. As other reviewers note the staff are excellent and moved us out of the older part of the hotel, into a larger, more modern room.

I chose the hotel due to the grounds. The pool is GREAT and looking at other hotels the Cocumella has one of the best. There are also quiet gardens and a private beach/bathing platform. So if you want a nice space to relax this will be for you.

My disappointment was the location. I am 31 and no way was the walk 1km into town! The walk is managable in 20 minutes but its not a nice trip nor are there places to break the journey with an expresso on the way. Cabs are easy to get but around 12 / 15 euros.

We had supper once in the restuarant, expensive and very average. But again service was great and location good. We went up to Don Alfonsos at St Agata - well worth the 40 euro taxi ride (each way) and 250 euro bill.

I find it hard to recommend the hotel due to location, expense and rooms but I have to balance this with great service and wonderful grounds.

  • Liked — Pool area and private grounds
  • Disliked — cost and location
  • Tips/Secrets — try other hotels nearer town
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SimonB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverly hills, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2006

We stayed for 6 nights at Cocumella last august. The hotel was charming and the staff very welcoming and professional. We were impressed by the elegance, the esquisite taste and the wonderful service. We particularly loved the marvelous hotel grounds and the olympic-size swimming-pool. The Cocumella is simply another kind of hotel. Certainly, you are not in an impersonal hotel. Our room overlooking the gardens was perfect in every detail. The "Scintilla" restaurant was very good and Giovanni the maitre D very attentive. We also loved the concert in the chapel. On the 15th Aug. we had a wonderful dinner on the terrace overlooking the bay of Naples (magical!). Finally the Concierge Giuseppe was very helpful and gave us so many good suggestions and organized some day trips in the surroundings. we will definitely come back and we will suggest all our friends to go there.

  • Liked — the ambiance
  • Disliked — nothimg
  • Tips/Secrets — try the new spa
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank zag35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

while the hotel offers a few decent large rooms at a cost exceeding euros 600 , the rest is made of dark,no view rooms with flee market type of furniture with tired sofas, stained carpets and uncomfortable beds.
we stayed there 2 weeks in august 2006 and it has been our worst vacation experience ever.
staying on the third floor means no water in your shower.
this hotel is living on a 20 years past reputation but no decent maintenance,renovation during that period.
the park is beautiful but this is not enough and not exceptional in this region.the pool is large but its maintenance is average .
Restaurant extremely expensive ( count 150 euros for 2 without wine for a 3 courses dinner ) and be patient as it takes 2 to 3 hours to be served.
Good restaurants in Sorrento cost twice less but after a 25 euros round trip taxi fares to town.
Cancelling policy of that hotel not in line with a 5 stars one as you are requested to pay full stay reserved if you decide to leave earlier. This hotel is at best a 3 star one by international standards.
Staff very nice and friendly , ready to help and fully aware of the state of their hotel and trying to compensate but thats not enough even if it helps.This hotel is only opened 7 months a year and family owners try to compensate for the full year in charging outrageous rates for what they offer.
overall not a place we will return to neither we would recommend to anyone.
there are so many nice places on the Amalfitaine Coast that this one can be avoided witn no regrets.

  • Liked — nice park and adequate swimming pool
  • Disliked — old, dark,no view rooms with tired furniture and stained carpets
  • Tips/Secrets — only if you dont have any other choice
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank amongou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE and London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

what a great way to end a lovely italian vacation! first and foemost the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, more than neccessary, and the hotel was wonderful. great pool, beautiful view of the bay of naples and vesuvius, and a lovely sundeck on the pier. highly recommended to anyone who wants to see the real italy

  • Liked — pool and the sea
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — the hotel is an old monastery, so expect some good karma!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank emirienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2006

We spent five wonderful days in June 2006. We were a group of five and had 3 rooms on various floors. The ages ranged from 22 to 60 and their was enough to do for everyone. This was a college graduation gift for our daughter. Our room was a suite which overlooked the orange & lemon grove. The service and food at this hotel was fantastic. You could not ask for more. Breakfast was served in a bright room overlooking the hotel grounds. We were always greeted with a smile by the hotel staff. They could not do enough for you and made you feel like family. I cannot say enough about them. Dinner at the hotel was also wonderful in the hotel's dining room which overlooked the grounds and ocean in the background.
The hotel is located a short distance from the center of Sorrento which tends to be a little noisy. The grounds feature orange and lemon trees, an oversized pool, veranda that overlooks the ocean and small beach area. Every time we look at our photo's we have happy memories of the Grand Hotel Cocumella. We will definitely come back soon!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Property: Grand Hotel Cocumella
Address: Via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing