We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, pleasant but nothing special - the restaurant lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average, pleasant but nothing special - the restaurant lets it down”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The hotel appears to cater to a slightly older age group than our group was (our group age range was 26-32). The hotel has a list of rules upon arrival, some were helpful and informative whereas others were more restrictive.

Pros
- quiet hotel
- clean rooms, with a safe
- nice breakfasts
- courtesy bus to Sorrento (although limited times and a limited number of spaces)
- roof terraces
- helpful reception staff - especially for organising day trips or transport to the airport
- upon hearing that it was a friend's birthday, the staff put a candle in his food

Cons
- limited hotel menu/variety (especially poor for vegetarians)
- quality of the main courses each evening (and this typically consisted of beef, roast chicken, turkey - all cooked badly - rather than what I deem more Italian dishes)
- the sound proofing of the rooms is poor, you can hear people above move chairs etc
- housekeeping sing as they clean - nothing against them but when its early and you are still trying to sleep this is annoying
- slow service in the restaurant - we ended up stacking our plates each night to help out
- location - not that much in the surrounding area
- sun beds around the pool have a fairly short window frame for getting the sun

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    288
    72
    6
    3
See reviews for
250
680
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We booked this hotel (through Expedia) based on the positive reviews we found on TripAdvisor. They were all true!!
We booked a standard room B & B, but requested one with a balcony, and were given one with a decent balcony and rear (OK) views of the hills. Great shady place to relax on a hot afternoon. Also booked tea/coffee in the room as this wasn't included in our deal. Well worth the 4 euros a day. Took up a special offer on arrival for 3 nights dinner at 15 euros pppn instead of the standard 24 euros. Good value for a 3 course dinner at this level of hotel.
Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. Every request or question was handled straight away and they are a mine of information on local travel etc.
Special mention for Gina, our chambermaid, who greeted us with a huge smile every morning and gave a great start to each day!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illogan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have recently been to Sorrento and stayed at this hotel. We were delighted with the accomodation and resturant. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The area was very pretty with amenities close by. It was an comfortable walk to the centre of Sorrento with all the bars, resturants and shops, however, the free mini bus was also very useful. There is plenty to do and see in this area. We really enjoyed our holiday and would definately like to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgreenslade09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had an excellent holiday, had a lovely room overlooking the pool with a balcony. The food in the hotel was good with 5 choces for each course at the evening meal. There were always plenty of sunbeds and loved the jacuzzi. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful On my return home I realised I had left my bikini on the balcony and and after asking the staff if they could return it to me they kindly did this and I received it in 3 days. Thank you very much we would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Fabulous hotel for relaxing before and after dinner in the garden or lounge listening to the piano play. Amazing Italian food cooked & presented to a high standard.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becsbon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

we spent a long time searching the web to try and find the perfect hotel for our return visit to beautiful sorrento, as 4yrs ago we were married there and stayed at the plush grand hotel royal in the centre of town, this time however, we didnt have the budget for such luxury and, as we were been joined by our 3yr old son, we thought it very important to do our homework. so after hours of searching and reading endless reviews, we kept coming back to the hotel caravel, it was hard to find a negative comment, and now having spent 10 wonderful nights there we understand why!

the hotel itself is in a nice quiet location, well appointed and extremely clean, it has a nice pool area, a small garden terrace where we enjoyed several evenings and drinks and even a little fish pond with 5 turtles which made my sons holiday and kept him occupied for hours! but what really made the caravel stand out and what really made our holiday were the fantastic staff who worked there, everyone from the cleaners to the receptionists, to the bar staff, to the waiters at breakfast were always ready with a warm welcome and a freindly smile, within days they all knew our sons name and always made a great fuss of him, which he took in his stride! He was even presented with his own little baby (toy) turtle which he treasures!

we wouldnt hesitate to reccommend this gem of a hotel to anyone, especially to young familys, the welcome we recieved was second to none and, if we ever return for a third visit to the sorrento area, we'll certainly be back. we just hope that the owners are aware of how good their staff are and look after them well! they deserve it! thankyou all for our wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank callmebubblesdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravel, Owner at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your nice words, I am aware of how good the staff is and try always to look after them well! Having a good staff is the best thing an owner could desire !!!

Best regards
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We booked a week’s stay at The Hotel Caravel through Thomas Cook for the last week in May. Hotel Caravel is situated in St. Agnello – a 20 minute walk into Sorrento and about 200 metres from the Marinera where you can take the lift down to the beach. We didn’t do this because it looked pretty crowded and apparently there is a hefty charge for sunbeds! The views, however, are stunning and there is a nice little cafe where you can sit with a drink/meal and enjoy the atmosphere and wonderful scenery.
The Hotel was extremely pleasant. We were a little disappointed with our room however. It was on the 4th floor, pretty small with not enough wardrobes, drawers or hanging space. We had paid extra for a balcony though and this was really nice so we decided not to complain. We had a view over to Sorrento, also a sea view and also a view of Vesuvius.
The staff were lovely – very helpful, very friendly and they couldn’t do enough for you. We had booked half board. Breakfasts were plentiful with an extremely good choice of fruit, cold meats, cheese, rolls , croissants – also a hot choice of scrambled egg , bacon and sausage.
Evening meals were good. Not haute cuisine but there was a good choice of starter, main course and dessert. Only slight drawback was that you had to make your choices at breakfast!! I suppose this was to avoid waste and keep costs down. We rarely eat dessert and would have appreciated a cheese alternative but there was none!
There was a courtesy bus to take you into Sorrento which is booked from Reception. Mostly they were reliable but one morning we waited 15 minutes for it to arrive only to see it sail past because it was full. It did return to pick us up 10 minutes later but the delay meant we missed the ferry we had planned to take to Capri and were forced to take a later one.
We took the Funicular from the marina to Capri town but had to queue to get tickets and then queue again for 10 minutes before we could get on! On arrival we found it very busy and very ‘touristy’ so decided to get out as quickly as possible. Took the bus out to Anacapri but had to queue again for tickets and queue yet again before we could get on a bus. Anacapri was much nicer – quieter with some lovely cobbled streets, pleasant (expensive) shops and cafes. The highlight of that day was taking the chairlift to the top of the island. The views from the lift and at the top made the day worthwhile. They were spectacular. Cost 10 euros but worth every penny.
Don’t recommend the bus trip along the Amalfi Coast if you are a bad traveller. We took the ferry to Amalfi but because it was raining hard and very misty we didn’t see much. Decided to get the bus home but it was packed out, people standing, misted up windows , a ‘hairy’ drive with tight corners and big ‘drops’. I felt really sick when I got out. Best choice is certainly the boat but make sure the weather forecast is good!
Sorrento is lovely – great shops and restaurants and it’s lovely to sit in the square and watch the world go by. Herculaneum is definitely worth visiting. We took the train from St. Agnello and it was very reasonably priced. It’s only a short walk from Ercolano station. Apparently Herculaneum is better preserved than Pompeii because it was covered in volcanic mud as opposed to the ash that covered Pompeii. An amazing place!
The Hotel pool was lovely and we swam most afternoons after returning from various trips. The gardens were also great, especially in the evening with a nice drink!
Great holiday, great hotel but avoid doing ‘touristy’ trips when the cruise ships are in. The cruise ship brigade can be a nightmare.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravel, Manager at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your nice words left on tripadvisor. We are really proud of our wonderful staff, they really make the difference in our Hotel. Regarding the evening meal, we let order the guests in the morning as this is usual in many Hotels and let avoid waste and keep costs down. It is important that with all the poverty in the world we try to don't waste the food!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing