We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We rarely review anything but felt that we must let others know just how good this hotel is. The hotel and grounds are kept spotlessly clean and the pool area is really nice for some chilling time. Giuseppe, Max and Roberta who work on the bar are brilliant, they are knowledgeable about the area and what to see and do and also make a mighty fine cocktail!! We were half board and found that the food was extremely good and catered for all tastes, including vegetarian. The dining room is run so well with Pino the Manager overseeing all. Our waiter for the week was Luigi who was brilliant and along with all the other staff who work in there made you want to eat your meals in the dining room. All the staff that work on reception are incredibly good at what they do and they know so much. We can't speak highly enough of this hotel and it's staff and will definitely go back. As for Sorrento what an absolutely beautiful place, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are really friendly and try very hard which is appreciated. It's clean, tidy, great atmosphere, super small pool area. We would stay again any time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAstley711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

one of the best hotels we have stayed in. food was second to none and all staff were very helpfull and plesent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed for 2 week at the Hotel Caravel in July this was our first visit to Sorrento and we loved it. The hotel was spotless the staff very friendly and helpful . We had a room on the third floor overlooking the pool and the garden area which was lovely. The views from the sun terrace are great although we always sat by the pool. Everything around the hotel was clean and well maintained. Sun beds were always avaliable. We were half board with breakfast and evening meal. The food was great buffet breakfast , dinner was salad then 3 courses we started missing the salad as it was too much for us. The hotel runs a curtsey bus into Sorrento centre just tell reception if you want to use it places are limited as it is shared with another hotel. We used this a few times but enjoyed the walk into town about 20 mins. Lovely garden area for drinks in the evening and generally chilling out.
We found the hotel to be a great location for us we liked the peace at night. The local bus takes 5 mins and there is also a train station nearby.
What really makes this hotel a real winner is the staff Roberta is lovely she serves at the bar along with Max and Guiseppe they make a great team. The waiters in the restaurant were very helpful . Reception staff are very knowledgeable about the local area and very willing to help with enquiries. Our room was cleaned by a lovely lady who was constantly smiling and singing everyone just seemed so friendly.
Took local bus into Amalfi the onto Ravello its a must do journey 7.20 Euros 24 hr ticket buy it from the little shop at the bus station great value hop on and off where you want. We took the train to Naples very crowded but great fun , didn't like Naples but glad we visited there are some lovely building but it's covered in rubbish. Take the ferry back more expensive but lovely.
Easy to get to Carpri with the local ferry much cheaper the travel companies. Pompeii is easy to get to via the train it's vast and well worth a visit.
Sorrento is compact lovely narrow streets to investigate and sitting in Tasso Square watching the world go by and the traffic is very entertaining. Would love to go back and would definately return to hotel Caravel. Thanks to all at Caravel hioe to visit again soon. Yvonne & Eric Elderslie

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel was beautiful and spotlessly clean with lovely kept gardens and the surrounding bar area.
There was a good selection of local trips which were cheaper than some of the Tour Operators although we did travel independently - I would highly recommend a trip to Postiana but be prepared for the bus trip if that is the way you choose!!!!Not for the fair hearted!
Food was always good with only one exception but their pasta dishes were lovely matched by a good selection of Italian wine. I have no faults!!!
I would also recommend that you visit Cioa Toto for the pizzas up the road -they are huuuuuuuuuuuuuuge and extremely tasty! Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in Hotel Caravel the last week in July and first week in August and found it lovely and relaxing, as with other posts, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Anna Marie (our cleaning lady), Bar & waiting staff - Roberta and Guisseppe and Max (Max tried to teach us some Italian so thank you), and the reception staff. We arrived and were put into a small room (we were 2 adults and one 13 year old) not big enough for all of us, however, it was no problem when I spoke to reception and we were moved within 2 days to a bigger room overlooking the pool. The hotel is situated in a good location within easy walking distance from the centre of Sorrento (you can choose to go along the mail road or a slightly less busy back road) and depending on how quckly you walk can do it easily in 15 to 20 minutes, alternatively you can catch the courtesy bus from the hotel (taxis to and from Sorrento were approx €20). The pool area and gardens were very clean and well maintained, with the pool cleaned every morning, plenty of sunbeds and parasols for everyone, there is also a sun terrace on the 4th and 5th floor. We were B&B and breakfast was plentiful and a wide choice to suit most, again staff lovely and the food was replenished frequently. We had lunch some days at the hotel and this was also good quality, we didn't have dinner so cannot comment. There is one nice restaruant (Moonlight) in the area, otherwise I would suggest walking (or catching the bus) to Sorrento where there is an abundance of restaurants to choose from (the Foreigners Club has fabulous views across the bay and we found La Laterna (on a side street just of Piazzo Tassa) towards the end of our holiday and this was good quality and reasonable also. A lovely time spent in Sorrento and exploring the Amalfi Coast, Capri and Pompeii (tip - get the train to Pompeii, the train station is only only a few minutes from the hotel and cost us €10.20 return for 2 adults and 1 child). Thank you to all at Hotel Caravel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice and quiet location of the hotel : 200m to Marinella beach & belvedere of Sorrento, 20 min walking to center of sorrento, 10 min to circumvesiuviana train station and a lot of bus station (including free bus of the hotel to go to the center). Ideal to visit Capri, Napoli, Pompei & Amalfi Coast. The rooms are very clean like the swimming pool with oranges & lemon trees . The staff is very kind and helpul, thanks to Ana-Maria, Luigi, Michele.... Very good breakfast (6 kind of real fruit juices) and the dinner to the restaurant is very high quality (italian food) "si mangia molto bene Da Pino".
rooms not very large but sufficient and well equipped. We stayed 2 weeks and it was not enough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msiabdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £84 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing