We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks from the end of July/beginning of August and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The hotel is good, clean and comfortable, but it's biggest asset is it's staff. They have to be the kindest friendliest group of hotel staff we've ever encountered, with fond memories especially of Luigi in the restaurant and Max in the bar, not to mention the ever tuneful/jolly cleaner - Anna Marie.

Ideally situated for a short walk into Sorrento, catch a train to Pompeii, Naples etc.. or simply drive the beautiful Amalfi Coast.

We would totally recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If your staying for more than a few nights, a comfort room or better is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarchbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    263
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
234
619
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in July. We paid for a superior room which was fine - had a large balcony and view of the pool but I think if we were higher we would have seen the sea too. Staff were all friendly and helpful especially the lady who cleaned the room. We had a little ant problem and she sorted it out straight away. Breakfasts were great - lots of choice.

Didn't swim in the pool but it looked ok though the sunbeds looked very cramped together and not many tables for drinks, book etc.

Room Tip: Ask for superior on 2nd floor or higher to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaysterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We are family from Moscow (Russia).

The hotel is situated not far from the city center (20 minutes to walk). If you do not like walking, you can use hotel minibus or local bus (1 minute from the hotel). The way to the railway station (Circumvesuviana line – to Pompeii, Naples) took us about 15 minutes walking. The way from the Caravel hotel to the local bus to Positano and Amalfi  10 minutes walking.

The receptionists were very friendly. They always helped us to find the information for our numerous movements (how to go to Magic World (aquapark in Naples), how to reach the ancient Paestum by the railway).

Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had a big balcony.

The meal was delicious and the waiters were very friendly. The breakfast was from 7 till 10 and the supper - from 19 till 21-30.

The swimming pool was very nice, comfortable and had Jacuzzi.
In the evening we had enjoyed life music on piano.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just returned from a week at the Caravel, I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
The staff are helpful, friendly and knowlegeable and obviously take great pride in the customer service they provide, the hotel is clean and well maintained, the food terrific.
Pool area is cleaned every morning, plenty of sun beds, rooftop sun terrace also has sun beds and lovely views. Lovely garden area to relax and have a drink on an evening.
In a quiet area but only 5 mins walk to the bay or central piazza of St Agnello, about 25 mins into Sorrento but the hotel runs a free minibus service into Sorrento from 9.00am until about 10.45pm.
Thanks to all the staff, you all made our stay really enjoyable.
Would love to stay at the Caravel again if we return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is spotless, over all the food was ok.We would have liked a room with a balcony but couldn't get one. The air conditioning didn't seem to work properly in the room we had, the staff checked it on two occassions but couldn't help to solve it so we found it hard to sleep at night with the heat.The staff were lovely, so pleasant and helpful except one man on reception at night - on two occasions we found him unpleasant, but this would not stop us from returning. The pool area and gardens like the hotel was spotless and perfect for relaxing.The hotel is about a 25min walk from the centre of Sorrento but the courtesy bus is very punctual and the driver very helpful and pleasant, the last bus back to the hotel at night is 10.45 pm a little early but it's a lovely walk back. A taxi back to the hotel is €20 which we thought was expensive. One of the best holidays we've had to date would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Well placed just outside of Sorrento.

The free bus service in to the centre of Sorrento from the Hotel work very well.

All parts of the area within easy reach, the staff are great, and always there to guide you.

The Free Olive Oil factory / farm, trip is well worth going to. Only 10 minutes from the Hotel, lovely people, as they all were !

Great Restaurant, quality food and wine.

Lovely pool and outside areas.

The Weather was Sublime !

Just ask Michele !

Room Tip: Great Views of The bay of Sorrento from the roof top Sun Terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Fantastic hotel in a great location. The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Pino. We were booked on this trip as a suprise present from our family, and we couldnt have chosen a better hotel ourselves. We will be returning and we cant recommend this wonderful hotel enough

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanB386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing