We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The staff were always so helpful and smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed half board and the food was very good with plenty of variety and choice. The hotel itself had lots of comfy seating areas and a very nice albeit small pool which was surrounded by comfy loungers. Although Sant'Agnello itself was quiet the hotel ran regular free shuttle busses to Sorrento during the daytime and evening. There was lots to see and do in the area and the scenery was amazing. We had a great holiday and the hotel was a major part in that. I would definitely go there again and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosemary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Enjoyed our week's stay at hotel Caravel. All aspects of the hotel were of a high standard.and very relaxing. Food excellent choice and quality.Gardens and pool areas were as good as advertised. Courtesy bus to Sorrento added to holiday and ease of getting about. Staff all polite and helpful. All in all a great hotel in a scenic area. We all enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We travelled with a young child, and were overwhelmingly pleased with our stay at the hotel. The staff was friendly, very service-minded and we felt very much "at home". The pool, outdoor lounging area and two roof terraces were very nice, and the restaurant was great both for breakfast and dinner. Overall, the hotel was great. It also doesn't hurt that the surroundings and town of Sant'Agnello are absolutely beautiful. Highly recommended for vacation, with or without children!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne-Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Excellent !!!!!. Lovely family run hotel situated in a quiet area and only a 20 minute walk from Sorrento but we made full use of the free mini bus. The train station is only 10/15 minutes away which is great for exploring. All the staff were really friendly and always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was great and very good value when you compared it to eating out. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a balcony and sea view. We loved the garden terrace and pool and also made use of the sun terraces all of which were very well maintained. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Pleasant situation, short walk to a seafront bar/resturant of high quality, a shuttle bus to cover the 1 Kilometer walk to the centre to Sorrento. Nice and quiet at night. A pleasant garden terrace and pool... and the genuinely friendly hotel staff-a pleasure to deal with.
The top two floor rooms with balcony have views out to sea and are pleasant and comfortable with a large bathroom.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony on the top two floors are the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrdougray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Spending a lovely week in May at Hotel Caravel, Sant´Agnello, situated in a green, quiet area just a short reach from bustling Sorrento Piazza Tasso, we found a perfect place to return to.
Hotel, Garden, Pool-area and Sunterraces tasteful and well maintained.
Rooms not large, but very cosy.
Great service all over.
Perfect cleaning.
Half Board Package of great value.
Coach-service just outside the Hotel, local buses and trains within walking distance.

Mailing the Hotel, we expressed certain wishes for our stay - they were more than fulfilled!
Arriving very late, the Hotel arranged a small buffet for us - a great Welcome!
When in "Il Fiocco", the Hotel Caravel Restaurant, don´t ask for Big Steaks - let the local cuisine challenge your Taste Buds - it´s delicious! Good local wines too! Great service!

We have heard that the People in the Province of Naples are the most kind and amiable - we do agree!
Barbara & Roman

Room Tip: Rooms and Balconies are all in different sizes. A few Rooms are without Balcony. Ask for a Room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Nice hotel in a good position for Sorrento, 20 minute walk or take free mini bus.Short walk to local train station,where you may take train to Pompei,Naples etc costs about 3 Euros.
Hotel was very clean and well maintained,staff very curtious and helpful. But beware of the small extra charges like, 10 euros per night for car parking, 4 euros per day for a tea tray with kettle etc, 2 euros for poolside towels. 1.5 euro p.p.p.n local taxes!!
We had booked a twin room,only to be given a double on arrival which we had to change the following day losing half a day waiting to be moved before we could unpack.
TOP TIP ensure your booking confirmation reads exactly what you asked for. I.E Twin room, balcony,sea view etc because if it's not written down you will not get it.
The Caravel is just about a 4 star hotel, but the evening meals are MINUS 2,we had to eat out to have a good meal, both in quality and quantity both are seriously lacking at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank L C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you have spent a nice time here in our Hotel and that you have enjoyed your stay in Sorrento.

We are very sorry for your disappointment. We endeavour to meet guests’ expectations and we take any actions to reach this target
Even the ones that may sometimes be a bit over the top are carefully analyzed and actions are always taken when needed to increase customer satisfaction.
Unfortunately the guests didn’t notify us with their dissatisfaction during their stay otherwise we would have offered an alternative dinner of their choice different.

We take this opportunity also to inform our future guests that the restaurant offers a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses.
With choice of meat, fish, vegetarian dishes and vegetables buffet.

If the problem has happened during the guests stay then a simple chat to the head waiter would have solved the problem within minutes.
On behalf of Caravel Hotel, I would like to thank the clients for their review despite the fact that it didn’t reflect the reality of our hotel. In fact, the overwhelming majority of our guests would give a completely different view and you can check this fact if you have a quick look at Tripadvisor reviews of our hotel.

In hotels all over the world, it is a common practice that if a client is not satisfied with his or her room, he/she would notify reception staff. I checked our records and no such request was ever made during their stay. I am sure if they did let us know, we would have done our best to make their stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible. This has been our established policy for a long time.

Once more, thank you for sharing your opinion and we do hope to have you and your Guests here at Caravel in the near future!

Michele
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £85 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing