We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Nearby Hotels
US$280
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Villa Savarese(Sant'Agnello)
US$186
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Garden Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$255
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Majestic Palace Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$225
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Florida(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cristina(Sant'Agnello)
US$181
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Club Sorrento(Sant'Agnello)
US$254
US$241
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel la Pace(Sant'Agnello)
US$1,063
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alpha Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$98
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Cocumella(Sant'Agnello)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
792
302
76
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
302
76
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy buslovely hotelhalf boardroof terracesminute walkevening mealstorage spacea quiet residential areabay of naplesfree minibusminibus servicegood sizereception staffsalad barplenty of sunbedsbuffet breakfastsant agnello
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Caravel Hotel is a great place to stay. Quiet and away from the mayhem and noise of the main square in St Agnello which is ultra busy with cars and scooters. Spent a few afternoons and a couple of evenings just traffic watching rather than people watching. Watch how you cross the roads though as it is an art form and not for the faint hearted.
We booked half board with a view to having a couple of meals out in the evenings but the evening meals in the restaurant were lovely and plenty of choice. House wines were reasonable.
Breakfasts were an experience as more than enough choice of hot and cold foods and plenty of refills of coffe if you love good coffee.
The hotel staff were all genuinely helpful and friendly and could not do enough for you whether at the bar, reception or restaurant.
The hotel was very clean, outside garden seating and covered outdoor seating as well as a pleasant lounge with wi fi if needed.
Views from the sun roof covered the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. You are situated near to local railway and buses and a short walk from Sorrento.
The whole area is full of beautiful views, Do the Amalfi Drive excursion as well worth it and do have a look in the church in the square of St Agnello. Absolutely beautiful inside. A hidden gem.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with views of sea seem to have largest balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and i stayed there for six nights in mid April with half board option. Basically, we were treated as welcome family members. plenty of smiles and greetings as we entered and left.

The staff were helpful and very friendly. Mike (michel) at the desk, was especially so. The owner and his son are on the premises so ensuring that high quality service throughout was maintained.

The dining room was a treat. A full breakfast buffet from scrambled or boiled eggs, fried on request, dry cereals, pastry, juices and great coffee, espresso, capucchino or "Cafe Americano" made from freshly ground beans.

Dinner was a wide selection salad bar, starters main plate and dessert with four choices which changed daily. In six days no item was repeated. Excellent house wines are 12 to 15 euros per bottle. We both were happy "clean plate club" members. A word of advise: There were several German walking club tours who all charged in as soon as the doors were open so might slow service. Arriving at 7:45 solved this issue. Dining staff were friendly and acknowledged us at our table. ordering dinner at breakfast time helped speed things along. Unused wine was on our table every evening.

Location was great but the uphill walk towards the main street to catch a public bus or get to the circumvesuviano could be trying , especially with luggage. I refused to pay the 10 euro taxi fare for a less than km ride and the shuttle did not match or schedule.

All in all no problems. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wi-Fi and use of house computers in lobby are free.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet but sea view adds much
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bronx_boy_1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice hotel,good room with lovely view from our balcony but when it come to the food not good at all. We went HB which wish we didnt,

Ate here the first night (well just had the starter then walked out as didnt want main) The mushroom soup I had was definately from a tin (very disappointing & the breakfasts werent much better)

The only member of staff that was friendly & spoke to us was Giseppe (what a great bloke :))

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank velia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time writing a review on our Hotel. We always cherish our Guests opinions since it is through these that we manage to improve ourselves daily.

We are sorry to hear that you have found our Restaurant not as you were expecting. As you have read from other reviews we always try our best to give the most memorable experience to our Guests

Concerning to your restaurant experience, we were extremely surprised by your account.
We check day by day dishes that we serve to our guests and we always take the best but sometimes it happens that does not correspond to the taste of customers, but our restaurant staff is always helpful to satisfy all your requests if you ask.

Said this, we can only apologize for the disappointment that you have dealt with during your meal and we do hope that you will be our Guests again so to make up for the unconventional experience you have faced in this occasion.

Michele Di Bartolomeo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The staff were always so helpful and smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed half board and the food was very good with plenty of variety and choice. The hotel itself had lots of comfy seating areas and a very nice albeit small pool which was surrounded by comfy loungers. Although Sant'Agnello itself was quiet the hotel ran regular free shuttle busses to Sorrento during the daytime and evening. There was lots to see and do in the area and the scenery was amazing. We had a great holiday and the hotel was a major part in that. I would definitely go there again and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosemary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Enjoyed our week's stay at hotel Caravel. All aspects of the hotel were of a high standard.and very relaxing. Food excellent choice and quality.Gardens and pool areas were as good as advertised. Courtesy bus to Sorrento added to holiday and ease of getting about. Staff all polite and helpful. All in all a great hotel in a scenic area. We all enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews