We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Caravel. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Caravel. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Super friendly staff greet the holiday maker. The foundation for a splendid holiday. The staff are reliable and friendly and genuine. The location is about fifteen minutes outside Sorrento if walking or quicker by the regularfree hotel shuttle bus. Rooms are very clean and tidy. The restaurant is superb and again the staff are excellent and strive to please. Pool and bar are conveniently placed and provide a very relaxing atmosphere. In short 10/10 from me. I will return.

Room Tip: Fourth floor balcony rooms overlook the mountains not as costly as a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    288
    72
    6
    3
See reviews for
250
680
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent a lovely week at the Hotel Caravel at half-term. Although the whole Sorrento area is not somewhere to go for peace and quiet, the Caravel is situated in a quieter location (until you get to the busy main road, at one end of the street-you don't have to go that way, though, unless you are heading for the train station), just outside of Sorrento and is a very peaceful and relaxing place to take a holiday. The pool was great and the inside and outside seating areas are very spacious and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food at breakfast (buffet) was plentiful and good. Dinner was also very good. We normally prefer to try out different restaurants in the evenings, but we were staying on a half-board basis, so had to eat in the hotel. However, there was plenty of choice (you had to decide at breakfast what you wanted to have for dinner that evening). I like my food and have to say that the quality was excellent and probably better value than eating out in a restaurant.
Our room was clean and spacious. We were located on the 1st floor, slightly overlooking the pool. I did ask if we could be moved to a higher floor with a sea view, but later changed my mind, as it was convenient not to have to go up several floors. Lovely views from the 4th or 5th floor terraces.
The hotel is located very close to the train station, so it is easy to catch a train to Pompeii or anywhere else in the area, plus the train fares are very cheap -just over 1 Euro to get to Pompeii (one-way)! Plenty of places to visit in the area. We ran out of time!
The hotel courtesy bus is a useful service, which we often used. But it's not really that far to walk into Sorrento.
I would definitely go back to the hotel, even though I don't generally like to go back to the same place, as too many other places to visit!

Room Tip: Higher rooms would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gomel, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Wonderful, silent, cozy hotel! Fine hotel! Friendly and kind staff! Spacious light rooms which perfectly clean, all is very convenient. A breakfast very good. An arrangement of hotel the fine. A silent, green, cozy place, near to Sorrento. There is a shatl-bass which goes to Sorrento, very often goes. There are public transport stops from which it is possible to reach both to Sorrento, and to Meta, and Piano. The railway 7-10 minutes from hotel. Nearby the sea and a beach on a pontoon. From a hotel terrace a fine view of the sea, Capri, Vesuvius, Naples and a delightful decline!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just spent a really relaxing week at the Hotel Caravel. Very quiet with easy reach to the busy centre of Sorrento. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean the maid who looked after our room was always cheerful and seemed to enjoy her work. The swimming pool was also maintained well and very clean. Good choice of food each evening and a nice relaxed waiter service to the table. All the waiters would take time to greet you each meal time. Good base for exploring Sorrento and surrounding areas. Really fantastic sunsets over the sea for those romantic moments! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed six days and we had a wonderful holiday. We had a room with balcony with a lovely view over the sea and Vesuvius. The hotel stuff were very nice and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom very nice. We recommend half board tough there are not so many restaurants close by. Of cause there are many restaurants in Sorrento, it takes about 15 minute walk into town. Hotel is near the station and it takes one hour with train to Naples and from Naples to Rome it takes one hour with fast train.
The area Sant'Agnello/Sorrento is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed 5 days and loved the area. The rooms were very clean. We booked two rooms for our family, but one room was around the corner from the other. This made it a little difficult to share toiletries. We enjoyed our stay and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We did not like a couple of things; we don't like to pay for internet service. It was a very nominal amount but should have been included. We were surprised that entrance into the game room was also an extra charge as well as using beach towels. The shuttle bus is a plus, but there are large gaps (2 hours) at certain times during the day that it does not run. All in all it was a nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was our first time in Italy and very happy we chose the Hotel Caravel.We were there for 2 weeks in May.
The room we had had a balcony not sure i would have liked one without the balcony.The room was a good size and bathroom very nice.Maid service came every day and the maid we had was always smiling and singing lovely girl.
We stayed on a half board bases and only ate out twice only because we wanted to try some where in Sorrento to eat out.Food in the hotel was of very good standard always something different on the menu.All the staff in the restaurant we brilliant and very friendly especially Raffaele and Antonio.
The walk into Sorrento took only 15mins and was a nice easy walk.The hotel bus was very regular and ran on time.
The bar staff were fab and made our nights sitting chatting to them,
always made you feel very welcome and wanted to here about you day.Big thankyou to Massimiliano [Max] Maria-Laura and off course Giuseppe.
Overall the Hotel was an excellent base for a trip to Sorrento.
Only thing I would change would be the entertainment at night, could be doing with something a bit more lively.Once again thankyou all for a fab holiday and we will be back.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony not a standard room.Spoke direct to hotel after booking with Thomson and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing