We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with friendly efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful hotel with friendly efficient staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We took a long time to choose our hotel for a special holiday in June/July 2012. We have absolutely no regrets at all about choosing the Hotel Caravel. The staff are very friendly and efficient; nothing was too much trouble.The Maitre D' and chef were particularly helpful to my wife in respect of her food intolerances. They both made a special effort to ensure that she could fully enjoy all her meals.

Quiet location, good shuttle bus service and a pleasant walk to the sea, or rather the cliffs overlooking the sea from where there is a super view around the bay of Naples.

We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. We opted for a superior room which came with a good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    263
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
234
619
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

my sister and I stayed at this hotel mid july . A fanastic hotel made twice as good by the friendliness and help of the staff. Nothing was to much trouble to the point of having to show me how to switch on the electricity !!! they will know who I am!!. On a more serious note the hotel is situated only a 20min. walk from sorrento but also run a shuttle bus service FREE brillant. If I have one complaint it is that we were not there long enough which we hope to rectify next year. I must add the food and the choice was superb. we did not use the Spa or Fitness center

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deirdre u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed for two weeks in July and it was the most wounderful and relaxing holiday we have every had. The hotel was lovely (inside and out) and the pool was well stocked with sun loungers but it was not noisy and overcrowded. The hotel staff were all really friendly and accommodating - especially when we tried to speak Italian to them even though their English is very good. It was lovely to be away from the main hustle and bustle of Sorrento but it was an easy flat 15-20 min walk into town - or you have use of the shuttle bus. We did not do any of the pre organised tours as too expensive and with public transport cheap in Italy it was more fun to get out and about this way. Hotel were very good at providing detailed train and bus timetables. We are so impressed with the Hotel Caravel that we have already decided to go back next year, with the possibility of a weekend break between now and next July - looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights in July 2012. Our first impressions were somewhat blighted by the grumpy night receptionist - he's best avoided. But in reality the hotel could not have been nicer and the staff overall were really accommodating, especially with my toddler daughter who was a big hit with the receptionists. It not really a hotel that's geared up for children but the Italian culture is very child friendly so the absence of the kids club (which I actually despise) was not an issue for us. They have a tank with baby turtles and a fenced off area outside the front door with the mummy and daddy turtles. My daughter loved this about the hotel. They also had music on some evenings and she danced outside on the terrace, much to everyone's amusement. The only thing that was vaguely stressful was the formal dinning room for evening meal. My daughter wanted to get up and down from the table constantly and this was frowned upon for obvious reasons of hot food being carried about by the waiting staff. On the plus side, the food really was exceptionally good, especially considering the cost of the holiday for half board was very reasonable. Lots of fish on the menu and always a big choice. They had a kids menu too but we only found out about it half way through the holiday. The breakfast was good. No full English but that's not really our thing anyway. Always sausages and bacon and lots of cheese, fruit, croissants etc. The pool was also very nice for the baby. Not too big or small with really good sun loungers for reading. There weren't many kids staying when we were there but if the pool got too busy we headed up to the sun deck on the 4th floor, which was almost always empty and great for catching the sun in the peace and quite. Our room was also on the 4th floor. Superior upgrade for 15 euros a night for balcony and view of hills. Well worth the extra few quid. Maid service regular and good and the hotel in general is very well maintained and clean. You could do a lot worse than this hotel for you holiday. It's a tourist 4 star but affordable, clean and with a nice clientele too. If I ever return to this area I'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Well I studied the reviews and prices and picked this hotel. What a great choice no complaints at all. The best staff and guests. Location was a plus. Amenities were the best pool and short walk to cliffs and beach. Shuttle was perfect. Capri island tour expensive but definately worth the price.Very beautiful island and unbelievable views. Water was a delight to go swimming in.I would without a second thought tell my friends and family to stay here and so would I.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elzabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This year marked the 08th time we have stayed at the hotel Caravel, whats more it wont be our last, close enough to the town but without the noise, you feel part of the family, all the staff are excellent & nothing is too much trouble, its excellent breakfast that allows you to eat something different every day & is constantly being topped up with fresh food, a simple but excellent lunch menu that allows you to leave the pool for an hour & sit in the shade & eat, the evening meals constantly changing through your stay where the menu for the following evening is always available. all rooms are of a high standard no matter what your budget. You can lounge by the pool or choose from two roof top sun terraces with views accross to Vesuvius. Train station 10 mins away, buses 5 mins away with local bars & plenty of other places to eat. The Caravel is a place I am sure you will want to return to time & time again. enjoy!!

Room Tip: there are no sea views but rooms are available where you can see accross the bay of Naples the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontardawe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel photos do not do this hotel justice, the pool is surrounded by orange trees and is like a tranquil garden, with Bourganvilla and beautiful jasmine fragrances everywhere. Some of the time we had the pool to ourselves as most people are out touring.

The room we had was 211 and had a pool and partial seaview and was quite large which was important as there was 3 of us. We had the sun on our balcony which again was large both morning and evening and could watch the sunset on the sea which was beautiful.

The hotel also has a lovely garden seating area which is perfect for a pre dinner drink in the evenining. We stayed on a BB basis so could not comment on the evening meal, but the breakfast for me was lacking , I did not have a cooked egg once, lol, lots of people were breaking raw eggs onto their plates thinking they were cold hard boiled egg, so a little suggestion here, please cook the eggs for us British I look foward to fresh sliced melon and oranges but there was only tinned fruit or oranges, apples etc, streaky bacon, cocktail sausages and scrambled eggs.

What I would say is if your visiting this area be prepared to pay around 25-30 Euroes for a basic evening meal with wine, it is very expensive. You are better offer booking half board in a hotel highly recommended for its food and occasionaly eating out. I would recommend the Mona Lisa a lovely pavement resturant down a side street in Sorrento where I have Mussells in Fiery water which was superb. The boiled eggs were a diy affair where there was a water bath and it was not possible to judge which egg was yours, as it took up to 10 minutes to cook and up to 10 eggs at a time,.

However none of this would put me off recommending this small and friendly hotel, which was a joy to stay in, the bar staff Marienalla and Max and the others were real characters and always smiling and joking, well done. The staff on reception and the dining room were also brilliant and always happy in their work.

So to sum up the hotel is small so you get the personal service lacking in large hotels, in a lovely quiet residential area not far from the sea front where you can enjoy beautiful sunsets at a lovely bar.

It is a little outside Sorrento and not walking distance in any heat, but the shuttle is available, but you must remember to always prebook it at reception. I would not have liked to stay in Sorrento which although beautiful was way too noisey for us and vespas and traffic was manic.

Room Tip: Corner rooms do appear to be larger and sea view rooms although partial have sun both am and pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwanseaGogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing