We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent hotel! Holiday, which always with you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Gomel, Belarus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent hotel! Holiday, which always with you!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you want to wake up in silence under singing of birds, to you is exact in this hotel. Remarkable and attentive personnel. Excellent, comfortable numbers. Excellent breakfast. Green territory. Shatl bas which will take to Sorrento and back in hotel. Stop of public transport not far. I love this hotel and I will surely return to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    271
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
237
630
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel has a wonderful staff who are extremely helpful. It is in a great location to go to Sorrento, Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Capri and more. I originally booked for three days and ended up staying 6 because I could go everywhere I wanted and stay in one place. Only downside the internet did not work well in rooms I had to use lobby. Very nice pool and shuttle into Sorrento. The tours pick you up at the hotel or nearby and the hotel can book them all for you. Great places to eat nearby .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Caravel is a good hotel- friendly service and everything is clean and tidy. It's quite dated- a trip back to the 60s/ 70s in terms of the decor and the rooms but they are well maintained and housekeeping is efficient. The pool again is lovely and the hotel is in a quiet residential area, close to the sea at La Marinella- great for a change and a swim in the sea, sunbeds are €10 for the day though!
Some advice- if you go B&B you will have to travel into Sorrento for dinner- this means a mini bus there and back and although free it's a scrum at times getting back. The walk is a little too long!
In conclusion, The Caravel has much to recommend it, but it's not the most exciting place in the world!

Room Tip: A room on the 4th floor has the potential for excellent views across the bay and to Vesuvius- we ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a DeLuxe/Superior room with a large balcony on the 4th floor with a view of the sea, which we appreciated and used. It is in a clean and quiet area but you need to take their shuttle or the public bus to get to downtown Sorrento. Sant Agnello is a small town within a walking distance and has shops and restaurants, and a bus and train to Sorrento. The staff are exceptionally helpful and go out of their way to help. My wife fell ill with a chest infection while we were there, and the owner drove us personally to the Emergency at the Sorrento Hospital, as their Hotel doctor was away. Breakfast has a lot of choices. We did not have evening dinners at the hotel since we preferred going out and eating quite late in the evening. Minibar prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a larger balcony than standard or classic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selenio-Tellurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Perfectly pleasant hotel, decor was dated and a bit chinzy but staff very very helpful and pleasant. Food at breakfast was good, plenty of choice, lunch was frankly poor. My fiancee had a sandwich which was 2 stale cheap white slices of bread with a slither of Parma ham in the middle costing 4 euros! To be fair my spag bol was tasty but over salty and clearly a microwave job, NOT fresh! Not what you expect from a 4 star hotel. We chose not to eat here in evenings because of the poor lunch, but others said the dinner was good, maybe we are a tad fussy, but as I said, it's not a 4 star hotel, but a perfectly pleasant 3 star with little to fault if you only have b&b. The location a little remote but if you want quiet it's great and anyway the shuttle bus was excellent, with the booking working well and if it was fully booked they did an extra run which was sweet of them. Overall pricey for what it was but the pool was nice and the general feel of the place and the clientel were pleasant. More for the over 50s than the under 50s though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babski84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Caravel is about 15 minutes walk from Sorrento so benefits from being in an area which is a lot less busy. Very clean from when you enter reception, all public rooms and your own bedroom and bathroom. Bedroom had all the normal things you would expect from a tourist hotel like safe and hairdryer. We had what was classed as a basic room but we were well satisfied with what we had, room 122 was on the back over the restaurant and overlooking gardens so very quiet, we got early morning and late evening sun so we could dry and washing without suffering from the fierce heat. The balcony was the width of the bedroom and a lot larger then all the posh rooms at the front of the hotel with their Juliet balconies.

Always lots of hot water, aircon worked well, towels changed on request and bedding changed mid-week.

Room cleaned well throughout the week. Not over fussy about lining up all the tubes and bottles on the dressing table and putting everything neatly in place, which I hate.

Reception appeared snotty or is it stuffy on arrival and first the first few days but after I complimented them on the food in the restaurant they relaxed and became more chatty. They know about the area and will help with information if asked.

We had a really great time at the hotel and in the area, although a lot less scooters would have made the experience even better. There are no real beaches in the area.

The title gives a clue to the Caravel as many of the guests were much older British holiday makers quite a few returning to this hotel from previous years.
The hotel puts on things like soup and recognisably British options on the menus. We however went for an Italian holiday and chose the Italian options. After loading a bowl from the salad bar which had a good selection of salad dishes, the first course had pasta, risotto, seafood within the choices. Main courses always had a fish, meat and veg option at least, we mostly had fish. Puddings always had fruit and ice cream choices along with cakes and sticky or creamy desserts.

Salad bar gets a 5/5 from us, starters were usually too large but we still managed to finish them most nights only poor plate was the risotto which was bland so 4/5, main courses were always well cooked if a little small but after the other 2 courses about right so 5/5. Overall evening meals were well presented, well cooked and tasty, and for us very Italian. Little fresh fruit at breakfast time as they had tinned fruit cocktail! But the bread in the morning was excellent, juices were all drinkable as was the coffee from the machine, though not the filter coffee.

Waiters in the restaurant all talked good English and appreciated us using Italian for the simpler interactions.

Main negative for the hotel and the reason I've given a 4 not 5 rating is the lack of service from the bar at night. You have to wait and wait for anyone to take your order and then ages for it too arrive. This is down to a lack of staff at night, poor Max the barman often on his own.

Does it justify it's 4 star rating, yes. Will we go back to Sorrento, no, theres a lot more of Italy to experience. If we found ourselves in the area would we go back to the Caravel, yes.

We used boats, trains and buses all week with no problems, all cheap, clean enough and pretty much on time. We got to Amalfi by boat and came back by bus when it suited us at half the price of an organised trip, same for Capri and Pompeii.
Amalfi is very pretty and the drive back gives some lovely views.
Capri was also lovely but everything in the main town is very expensive, we popped on to a bus and went to Ana Capri which was laid back and much cheaper, while there we went up in the chair lift (10euros each) which was well worth the money so quiet you could hear the birds singing and great views.
Pompeii was disappointing, very old fashioned presentation, after going to the Roman Baths in Bath previously this was very bland. The audio guide was also boring lots of imagine how it would look! Also so much of the exhibits have been taken to museums, great to know how lovely they would have looked.

Warning - pickpockets are in the area, we talked to a couple who had their holiday money taken on the train back from Pompeii instead of having an afternoon in Capri then spent it in the police station. Why anyone walks around with 100's of euros in their purse is a mystery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GreyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Caravel hotel from start to finish was an excellent experience. Very clean rooms and excellent food the waiters were very helpful and gave an excellent service, we hope to go back again next year. The shuttle bus made it easy to get into Sorrento where there is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 429163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing