We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Clean Sorrento Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Modern Clean Sorrento Hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 215; called a Superior Room. The king size bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a bath and shower. It is a fairly large hotel, so the breakfast selection was good, and included the option of eggs and bacon. The hotel has a nice pool in full sun and the water was a great temperature. Altogther it was good and I would stay again.

There is a free shuttle bus provided 12 times a day into Sorrento town (at set times), with 12 return trips also each day. But apart from that, one thing I did not like is that for all extras, they wanted more money. Even to be able to make tea in the room, they wanted more money, same for pool towels (OK, I can handle that one), and also even for a second wi-fi connection, they wanted more money.

If you have a car, you can park in the street; it cost 15 euros for one week, but bring coins, since the machine does not take bills or cards. Remember to choose the "7 Giorno" option BEFORE entering the coins!

Room Tip: Since it was a larger hotel, there was a bit of corridor noise at night (not much) so maybe a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    288
    72
    6
    3
See reviews for
250
680
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Hotel Caravel would be a really good base for anyone exploring the Sorrento and Naples area of Italy. Situated in Sant' Agnello on a reasonably quiet road means that it has all the access to the locations sights whilst maintaining a relaxing atmosphere. The train station is only 10 mins walk away via the busy main road and the centre of Sorrento is only 15-20 mins away in the opposite direction (A minibus service is provided by the hotel). The hotel itself is a lovely place to stay, with fantastic staff, good food and decent facilities (Pool, Games room, WiFi). The down side - for me it's got to be deciding what you want for dinner whilst eating breakfast (the choice is ok). The up side has got to be the staff who all spoke very good English and worked tirelessly to make our holiday a good one.

Room Tip: Booked a quite room with balcony which was just above the service entrance which did get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned after a one week stay in Sorrento at the Hotel Caravel. The Hotel is located in Saint Agnello which is about a 15 minute walk from Sorrento itself. There is a free and regular shuttle bus, although the walk allows you to take in the great views of Mount Vesuvius and the bay. The Hotel has a friendly feel and has pleasant public areas - pool, garden, roof terrace, bar, restaurant so lots of areas to relax! Our room was big and clean and we had a view of the sea from our balcony. The staff couldn't do enough - they were all incredibly friendly and helpful especially as my baby son was with us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SK42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A real gem of a hotel, 10 in walk from Sant' Agnello square down a lovely little street.
Very friendly staff all speaking English, good job as our Italian is a bit basic!
A lovely hotel that's a great base to explore.
We walked into Sorrento, about 20 min walk just to burn off the great authentic food & wine.
You choose your evening meal at breakfast, this is standard in Italy so they keep waste down to a minimum, & what lovely food it is 3 courses plus a visit to the salad bar to start, so really 4 courses! Order your wine too & it will be waiting on the table.

We used public transport to visit Almalfi, make sure you get off the bus before in Postiano, more authentic! also jumped on the train to visit Pompeii & Mount Vesuvius, about half hour.. Public transport is very cheap.
The room was great with a view over the mountains to the rear of the hotel, comfy bed & a clean bathroom. No tea or coffee machine but who cares, pop downstairs!
Walk along the road nearest the sea to Sorrento & walk through the lemon & orange groves, don't forget to buy a few bottles as its the best we found.
Cannot fault this Hotel, it seemed to get better as the week went on & the staff get to know you better too..
Yes we would defiantly go back as the only thing we didn't do was catch a boat to Capri but we did walk miles to the surrounding villages.. Loved it & can highly recommend it.

P.S we didn't use the pool as it was a bit chilly but looked good, along with the outside seating area which I imagine on a warm evening is lovely.

Room Tip: 4th floor has its own sunbathing area, the lift goes all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We always read the reviews before deciding where to book and not quite sure we got this one right. The hotel was good, in a good position, staff excellent, friendly and all spoke good English. Facilities good and very happy with the free transport to the city centre although it's only a 25 minute walk so didn't always use the bus. What let's this hotel down is the food. It's barely 2* rating. Bland, boring and we didn't seem to get an Italian dish until the last meal. Really disappointing. My honest advice would be to book B&B and go into the city where there are dozens of good restaurants to choose from and get some great Italian food at reasonably prices. We found loads for lunch. It will cost more than the hotel charges ( €25) but it will be well worth it.

Room Tip: get the best you can afford as the standard rooms appear to be very ordinary on the front (south fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsleygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel had and was everything I'd hoped for, good food, good bed, good facilities,and as it turned out not too far from the centre of town,staff very friendly and helpful,and as far as I'm concerned would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was allocated room on the 4th floor,excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Sorrento 17th May for a week at the Hotel Caravel. Lovely hotel, staff all very helpful with my husband and friend being both Coeliac they were taken care of and the stage made sure the food was gluten free. Hotel very clean we were on the forth floor near to the sun terrace with good views of Mount Vesuvius. Very good shuttle service into town lovely driver very helpful. Had great weather. So would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Uggbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing