We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quite hotel, friendly staff. Good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great quite hotel, friendly staff. Good value.”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I have nothing but positive things to say about this hotel. The rooms were clean, cool, and comfortable. The hotel is about 2km from Sorrento centre, but they have a free shuttle that can escort you that runs every hour-hour 1/2. It stops at about 11pm each night. Sant Agnello ended up being nicer than we thought, and we spent our nights relaxing there too, with the restaurants being cheaper and quieter than Sorrento. The top-floor terrace was amazing for its views of the Bay of Naples.

The breakfast was great as well, and the restaurant and bar had good food, and friendly staff. the bar tender for the evenings was especially friendly. We were there for our wedding in Sorrento, and the front-desk staff took care of a couple of last-minute things for us with smiles.

I highly recommend this hotel, and will be staying there on our next visit to the area. Our entire wedding party of 6 loved the facility.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suprgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    271
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
237
630
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My husband and myself stayed bed and breakfast for 10 days at this excellent hotel. As we like to plan our own itinery and never book guided tours, we found this hotel to be in an excellent position as it was a short walk to the nearest bus stop and train station. It was also helpful having the hotel mini bus to take us into Sorrento (if we did not feel like the 20 minute walk).

The hotel was very clean and so was our bedroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and we made good use of it! It was also very pleasant sitting in the garden in the evening over a leisurely drink.

We found plenty of restaurants close by in Sant'Agnello and had excellent meals in many of these as we were not 'booked in' for evening meal at the hotel. There was an excellent choice at the breakfast buffet (something for everyone).

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Hotel lovely- clean, rooms spacious and nicely furnished. Air conditionng made things alot more comfortable in hot weather..
Staff were friendly and helpful and food was great.
Easily able to walk to Sorrento in 15/20 minutes and hotel in nice location.
We had no complaints at all. Amazing holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meggie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton,England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Rooms:
The rooms are fairly spacious and extremely clean and even the bathroom was fairly big. We had a Queen bed which was lovely. The air conditioning was good and the fridge keeps your drinks nice and cool. Would definitely recommend getting a balcony as it’s lovely to sit there in the evening.
Hotel:
The rest of the hotel is lovely and quite charming as it’s a mixture of old and new and works very well. The pool is quite big and there is a jacuzzi type part within the pool which is good. The breakfast was very good especially as it’s complimentary and there is a wide choice. The shuttle bus to Sorrento is very useful and in high season runs until 10:45pm. The staff are very helpful and friendly as well.
Location:
Sant’Agnello is lovely and very picturesque. There is a little shop at the top of the road near the main piazza which is useful for getting drinks and snacks etc. There is a restaurant near called the Moonlight restaurant which has very good food and service.

To get to the hotel the best thing is to get the Curreri Viaggi bus/coach which departs just as you come out of arrivals. The tickets are 10 euros each and can be purchased from the driver. It is a first come first serve basis and gets booked up about 30-45mins before departure. The journey is about an hour and a half. You get off at the Sant’Agnello stop which is opposite the town hall. You just have to walk along the road towards Sorrento and then turn right down Corso.M Crawford but the hotel is signposted down that street. Pompei is a definite must see and is easily accessible using the circumvesuviana train line. The station is actually opposite to where the Curreri Viaggi bus drops you off. It costs about 4 euros return and takes about half an hour.

Overall the hotel is absolutely lovely and the location is as good! Perfect holiday to relax as well as see a lot of culture and beautiful sights!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Littleone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
346 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Let me say that we chose Hotel Caravel because of the TA reviews,,, and we were very pleased. The service was great, from the front desk helpfulness to the gracious waiters at breakfast and the bar, to the shuttle driver, they strove to please. Our room was pleasant, the bath decent, and we had a nice little balcony with a view of the bay, up on the 4th floor (411).
It was a nice 20 minute stroll through the neighborhood into Sorrento center, or one could sign up for the shuttle. A 10 minute walk would bring you to the train station for Pompeii or Naples, and there were plenty of local shops and restaurants nearby. The pool was an absolute lifesaver!!! (days are long and hot). Breakfasts are a bit of a letdown aside from the lemony croissants, and the A/C seemed to stop sometime in the wee hours, but those were the only downsides. This hotel is HIGHLY recommended by us! And thanks to all of the staff and owner!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We booked this hotel after spending ages searching and reading reviews. We weren't disappointed and would fully recommend this hotel to anybody. Hotel is situated in a quiet street but only a minutes stroll from the beach (accessible by lift) and a few minutes from the town square and railway station.
Couldn't fault the hotel-very clean, friendly staff, good food (choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts every night), lovely pool with jacuzzi at one end. Never had a problem getting a sunbed even mid afternoon in july. There is also a free courtesy bus into Sorrento.
We booked a superior room and had a good sized balcony overlooking the bay of Naples. Some of the rooms at the front of the hotel had smaller balconies and I think some rooms didn't have a balcony at all. It was worth paying the extra.
If going to Pompei we would recommend going by train (approx 3 euros each) and go later in the day. we went about 4pm when it was a bit cooler. No queues and very quiet and still plenty of time to see most of it.
Recommend taking the boat trip to Amalfi and Positano offered by the hotel. Stunning places. Takes about an hour and a half to get to Amalfi.
Would definitely return to Sorrento and the Hotel Caravel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeandNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Four friends holidayed in June 2010 at the family owned Hotel Caravel, Sant'Agnello, Sorrento. Fantastic, fab, brill, great, well impressed with all aspects -- diligence of staff, overall cleanliness, good amenities, varied menu in Restaurant, 10/10 Caravel! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by the B.A.T.S..

Diolch i pawb.

B.A.T.S.(Doro, Diana, Enid, Llinos) North Wales

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLINOSDenbigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing