We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience - hotel lived up to all good reviews I had read” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Verwood
1 review
“Fabulous experience - hotel lived up to all good reviews I had read”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

My husband and I with our thirteen year old twins, have recently stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. All staff were very friendly and very helpful. It is situated very conveniently to the local trains so connections to Naples & local sites of interest are very easy. Food was very good - we chose half board and were delighted with the variation we were offered each day. Hotel is very clean and well maintained. Would definately recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewisto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    262
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
231
616
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We have recently returned from a 7 day stay at the Caravel Hotel, and having read the reviews of previous entries were looking forward to our stay. We can only echo some of the comments made, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We asked for extra pillows and within minutes a knock came on the door and they were delivered. Although confident and competent computer users, after getting some internet time the receptionist made sure that we could get access and log on, just little things like this just smoothes out the stay. The pool is reasonable size and a decent depth so the less confident swimmer could spend an enjoyable time in the pool. The courtesy bus does not go all the way into town, about 5 minutes walk from the stop, but this is not the hotel’s fault. Unfortunately for us, that was where the good stopped. We felt that our room was not the most comfortable to relax in, it needed some updating and the twin beds were not the most comfortable. We were on the lower floor and had a great outlook from our balcony of the back gates and delivery trucks (so try and get a high floor with a different outlook). It was also incredibly noisy due to lack of carpets, which I know is probably due to hygiene issues, but we were awoken every morning by the scraping of chairs and furniture in the rooms above us. We were also treated to hearing the conversation of the occupants of the room next door every morning. There is a safe in the wardrobe to house your valuables, however this is not fixed so any chancer could have marched off with it under their arm. The breakfast was disappointing in that the fruit was not fresh fruit, it was canned fruit just like the man from del monte, but we were able to cobble something together, the bacon and sausages were dreadful and the scrambled egg could have been improved. The main meal was on occasion very good but on other nights disappointing. The restaurant staff though are excellent and the coffee machine great.
Overall yes, for us the hotel was very clean, with helpful, friendly staff, nice pool area and small well kept grounds, but for the room and odd little things, we won’t be going back and I’m sorry I wouldn’t recommend it to a friend. We did not raise the disappointing issues with the management as we felt they were unlikely to completely overhaul the bed menu and breakfast menu just on a whim of ours. I know it sounds like a moan, but take insect repellent (loads) and after bite, despite nearly re spraying ourselves with a new skin still managed to get well and truly bitten!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hirst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We are a family of four including twin boys of 14 and always hope they are looked after so that we can relax and enjoy our holiday. from the moment we arrived the staff at the Hotel greeted us really warmly and provided us with two rooms right next door to each other. Ours was a double and theirs a twin, both with small balconies.

The rooms were always kept clean and both bathrooms were certainly big enough for easy use with a good water supply in the shower and plenty of clean towels.

The Hotel itself is spotless and in in very good condition with lovely garden area, covered lunch and tea area and a good sized dining room indoors. It is situated on the edge of Sorrento which suited us as we do not like the crush of very central hotels but there is a free shuttle bus to take you to within 5 mins stroll of the centre. The pool is lovely although a little small for the number of beds around it and they are crammed together a little - the Sorrento way!

We booked bed and breakfast so that we could eat out and enjoy the many restaurants in the area and the breakfast was full and reasonably varied as a buffet although when a large group arrived everything ran out so fast that the other regular people had to wait an uncomfortable 20 mins for restocking. The same happened at evening dinner when we had to wait 45 mins for our first course due to the 'big group' all needing their food en masse. Not too terrible but the staff could have explained that dinner would be slow that evening and offered a little more bread or salad or a glass of wine just to keep us happy. The house wines are fine and the evening meals very good too with a good varied choice. Lunchtime menu is good too with the usual choices of pizza, salad, chicken and so on at reasonable prices.

The key to the hotel is the staff and they really were kind, helpful and cheery - excellent!

There is also a lovely rooftop terrace which is really quiet for a bit of sunbathing in real tranquility and the view from the hotel terrace is wonderful.

The children liked the breakfast, the pool but complained that no wi-fi was available which the hotel should provide - its easy. They relaxed, swam, read and therefore the holiday was complete.

By the way, we loved the Amalfi coast drive (hire a car), didn't enjoy the local jetty bathing areas, loved the private boat trip around Capri, loved the lemoncello, insist you go to try the fantastic restaurant in Montepetuso above Positano called the Tagliatella (or something like that) ask the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnett25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed here for four nights while we toured Sorrento, Capri, Amalfi coast and Pompeii. The hotel is full service (excellent breakfast, pool, concierge, shuttle bus, safety deposit box, internet) and very clean. Staff was very helpful arranging tours etc. Our room was small but it was what was booked in advance (although we did not know the size of the room upon booking). In any event we spend little time in the room so it really was not a factor. This hotel is not in Sorrento but in a town just outside of Sorrento. We walked to and from Sorrento most of the time but there is a very convenient shuttle service that the hotel offers from the center of Sorrento to and from the hotel. Sorrento has loads of restaurants but we did try the hotel's five course dinner one night which was very good. In addition half a block down the road was a restaurant, Toto (I believe) that was also very good (standard Italian dishes including the ever present pizzas).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here with my partner for a relaxing break in Sorrento on a half board basis. THis Hotel is really clean. We upgraded to a room with balcony for an extra €10 per night well worth it. Hotel is a short way from the city centre but there is a regular FREE minibus in and out. (Its not a long walk though if you wanted exercise to walk off a big feed or something). Food was really nice in the hotel but we took a packed lunch in lieu of dinner some days and ate in town those evenings. The staff in the Hotel were really nice. The pool looks much bigger in the photos but its fine. There are 2 great roof terraces if you want peace and quiet for sunbathing make sure to check them out the views are great from up there.
We were there during world cup so plenty of activity in all the bars etc but if you dont want to head into town come out of the hotel and go to your left, top of the street cross the road thereas a bar called Tonys Bar its on the side of the street (open air) a fantastic little place great drinks great service!
Finally DO NOT LEAVE here unless you eat in Al Solito Posto lunch or dinner (come out of hotel go to your right its about 150m down on the right. You cant see from the front but there is a beautiful dining area / terrace out the back (covered in etc) Food amazing, home made and authentic, very reasonable ! Bellissimo.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula_Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here with 3 young children and the hotel staff and management couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and they were very keen to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay easier. The hotel was very clean and well serviced, they even managed to fit two cots into our room. Rooms a little tired but very clean.
They only had one highchair and when other babies arrived we mentioned in passing the lack of highchair availability. By breakfast they made sure they had more available, which was an unexpected speedy response.
The shuttle bus made it easier to travel to the main square, although times are limited (not hotel controlled - council regulated)
Breakfast was limited but good quality.
Overall our stay here was extremely pleasant. Our girls loved the fish and turtles.
Take lots of mosquito repellant !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

You get what it says on the tin. Great hotel in a quieter location of Sorrento but access to all areas.
Hotel particularly clean and Staff friendly.Thanks for a great time in Italy

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdenkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing