We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Quite a beautiful, busy hotel located in a quiet and very pretty street, 15 minutes walk from the train station, and 5 minutes walk to the beach cliff tops. We travelled in September, and Sant'Agnello is magic at this time of year.

The hotel is large and clean. The room was large (King bed, desk, couch and lounge chair) and bright and clean and the décor was contemporary (renovated last couple of years?). The room had a large balcony with a wonderful view to the mountains and bit of the sea. The bathroom was spacious, clean and recently renovated. The bed was comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was good - juices, cerials, fresh fruits, breads & pastries, cold meats, hot food etc,, and the staff were helpful in finding soya milk for me. The hotel has a restaurant, but we didn’t get around to eating at the restaurant.

When we stayed, the hotel seemed to be full of mainly English tourists.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRLoveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    262
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
231
616
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We travelled with a tour party and although the hotel was catering for around 100 - 150 guests there was always someone there to help and advise. Our room was beautifully laid out, and the balcony large enough to sit on and enjoy a view of the pool. Sea view was accurate although a little distant! Wonderful views of the bays and Vesuvius from the sun roof.
The food was good, some evenings very good, but not of top restaurent standard, however considering the number of guests on tours that is to be expected. Breakfasts were excellent but PLEASE can someone explain to the Italians that tea needs boiling water!!
Overall a spotless hotel with impeccable service that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesney576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We booked a room for two with a balcony for 9 nights in October. The room was a good size as was the balcony- which overlooked the sea and Mt.Vesuvius. the breakfast was good and the 4 course dinner ( including help yourself salad bar ) was very nice with good sized portions. The swimming pool is quite large and there are plenty of sunbathing areas at ground level or on the roof terrace - however in October sunbathing was limited due to the late autumnal weather which is not the fault of the hotel! The walk into Sorrento took about 20 minutes, although there is a courtesy bus available if required. All of the staff were friendly and helpul. I would reccommend this hotel for those looking for a relaxing quiet holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We booked this trip as part of a package through NewMarket Travel. The company were appauling from beginning to end. Our flight was changed 2 times before we even left the UK, one of which was by over 6 hours. When it is only 1 week holiday I find this terrible, there was no explanation.When we arrived at the airport to check in we were told that not only was our return flight times changed again by 4 hours but that it was a different airline than our tickets stated. We were issued with new tickets for the return journey. To leave it until we are checking in was terrible, we had to then make telephone calls to advise of our return times for pick up.
When we arrived at The Caravel Hotel it was very pleasing to find a smart clean comfortable hotel. The staff were very friendly helpful and polite and we had a very good stay. We were booked half board but did not always eat in the hotel restauant . We did not like having to order dinner in advance and the food we did eat in the restaurant was very poor. I do so wish hotels would stick to the local food. The hotel had a swimming pool , a roof top terrace an a very pleasant court yard front garden. It was very quiet at night .
Our trip included several excursions operated by Newmarket Holidays, We do not usually do package tours and this has put us of for good. The trips were run almost as bad as the flights to and fro. The guides were rude and treated us with little respect we felt we were hearded around the sites to suit their convenience.

The Hotel Caravel is only a 20 to 30 minute walk into Sorrentto Centre and the train station is a short walk away so there is no need to use travel guides to get arround. The local buses are good. I took the local bus to Positano whilst my husband visited another site and it was better than The guided tours.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Hotel Caravel is in a prime location and just 200m away from the sea. The walk to the sea is just gorgeous.. taking a cave like path down to the sea. It's just stunning.
The rooms are a good size and very comfortable.
The greatest thing about this hotel is their staff. They are absolutely amazing and made all the difference to our stay and experience at the Amalfi Coast. They are extremely hospitable and really go out of their way to ensure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lel383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We booked a room with a balcony and had the most fabulous view of the Bay of Naples as well as Mount Vesuvius. The room was large and clean. Also the staff at the front desk were very helpful. The area is very quiet and after visiting Sorrento (which is very busy) I was glad that we didn't stay there. It is 10 minutes walk from the train station and the location is ideal for visiting Naples (beware of Pick Pockets), Pompeii, Ercolano and Capri. The only draw back is the shower which was quite small

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpha-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Hotel Caravel is a 4 star hotel where the staff are very friendly and I would mark 65/100. The food was good without being exceptional but having to pre-select your evening meal at breakfast was a chore as you sometimes forgot what you had ordered.
After two days of our visit the courtesy bus was taken in for repairs and was not seen again during our stay.The hotel had no back up plan and it was only after many complaints that it started to hire taxis who may or not have turned up - so travellers beware and the hotel should take note to ensure there is a back-up should the courtesy minibus fail again.
Unfortunately, hotels in Sorrento are plagued by mosquitos and tourists should take their anti-midge protection spray and cream. As it was noticeable that the staff were also bitten, Hotel Caravel should invest in spraying at dawn and dusk to eradicate or reduce this problem.
For anyone booking a room do not even consider adding a balcony (which cost us an extra £140 per week) as you have moderate views and where only one person is able to sit outside at any one time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorsetbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcaravel, Manager at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review! Regarding your complain, I would like to tell you that our courtesy

bus was in repairs only for two days. Then we provided to offer to our guests a new bus that

offers 11 daily trips to Sorrento and back. Also your representative knew that the bus was

running again and it was told to the guests

Regarding mosquitos, this is a problem that happens only few days during the year, only

when it rains and trust me, it happens no more than 10 days during the whole summer

season (april to October). Anyway we provide to use a spray during this time twice a day.


Kind regards

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing