We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people at Mami Camilla treaeted me as if I were family.”
Review of Mami Camilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mami Camilla
Ranked #13 of 22 Sant'Agnello B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The people at Mami Camilla treaeted me as if I were family.”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I spent three months at Mami Camilla for cooking school and enjoy telling people how much I learned, and how much fun I had with my friends at the b&b. The whole family was kind, happy, and quick to help with info when I needed it. Aside from the great food at Mami Camilla the thing I like most is the boat excursion around Capri. It was one of the best times I had on my trip. The location of Mami Camilla is ideal for visiting all the sites of southern Italy because it's in the center of all of them like Pompei, Vesuvio,ect. I can't wait to go back to Mami Camilla with my Chicago family to meet the new one I have at Mami Camilla

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ren42x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    43
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
8
53
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Mami Camilla is a wonderful place- we were originally set to stay for 5 nights and added an extra night on at the end. the hotel is wonderful- the room, service and atmosphere, and its in such a great part of Italy.

The family that runs the hotel is just so wonderful- helpful, nice and personal. Our room was very nice and spacious- we booked a double room with private bathroom and felt extremely comfortable (it was the best bed and biggest bathroom we had on our trip to Italy).

Mami Camilla is about a 15 minute walk from downtown sorrento (which is a great little town for restaurants and shopping), and right on the direct bus line to Positano (about 35 minutes), Amalfi, etc, and on the direct train, the Circumvesuviana, to Pompeii (30 minutes) and Naples (1 hr). Location was perfect- quiet and a good place to rest, but close enough to all the action.

What we liked best- definitely the food. We did a cooking class one day and it was worth it. Very fun and Chef Biago is a great teacher. the breakfast was a huge spread with fresh fruit, juice, meats an cheeses and croissants. we had the 4 course dinners 5 out of 6 nights- they were great value and very tasty. It was nice to eat family style with the other guests- we made a lot of friends.

The location was also great, Sorrento is such a beautiful place and we felt very relaxed there. It was a good stop between the bustle of the cities we visited on our trip.

The family the runs the hotel was also wonderful. Thank you!

No complaints- noise did travel a bit in the hotel at night, so if you sleep with the windows open, you might want to bring ear plugs. we had them and were fine.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone- not just to stay, but take advange of some of the exursions and activiites- we did the cooking class and the boat tour to Capri.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Beautiful, wonderful place to stay!! Everyone was so friendly and our room was gorgeous; so charming and lovely. It was a little pricey and we couldn't afford to do the cooking class, though I'm sure it would have been fabulous. About a ten- or fifteen-minute walk from the center of Sorrento. Highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marisacrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I've stayed in Mami Camilla twice - once as a solo traveler in the hostel, and once in a "low cost double" - although I think I got a really great deal out of that one, because some of the low cost rooms are directly connected to the dining room/common room which I can imagine would not be very quiet. However, our room was a tiny attic on top of the hotel with really great views. The rooms (especially the dorm room!) are really clean and there's a very nice big dining room/common area to hang out in. It's a really great hotel to meet people.
The first time I stayed I did the cooking course, which was fun and I learned a lot, but for me 80 euro is pretty expensive (you get a cookbook, apron, and dinner, but still). The chef is nice in a gruff way, and I would definitely recommend eating dinner at the hotel, because the food is delicious (also the breakfast). Various people connected to the hotel usually show up for dinner - so if the locals come, you know it's good!
The second time I stayed I went on the excursion to Capri, which was a really great deal. We paid 50 euro and got taken around Capri and then had about 2 free hours on the island, and they give you drinks and sandwiches. Plus the boat drivers are awesome!
There's also a beach nearby. There's one where you have to pay for the chairs, or another one directly next to it that's free.
Mami Camilla is about a 15-20 minute walk away from Sorrento (1km), but it's a very nice walk down well-lit streets, past some orange groves and a beautiful view of the coast line.
I've had a really great experience with the hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theduckiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

I had the most wonderful time cooking at Mami Camilla's cooking school. It was so much fun! The five classes went by so quickly. I wish that I stayed another week. I learned so much from the chefs. The food we made was incredibly good. I know that from making it, but guests not enrolled in the cooking school were most impressed. 18 euros - honestly, the bargain of the century, for a four course dinner.

The breakfasts are fantastic too. Fresh squeezed orange juice and as many cappuccinos as you can drink. Homemade pastries every morning.

I loved my room in the B and B. It was beautiful, clean and quiet. It had high ceilings and a patterned tile floor. My view was of lemon trees.

The family is warm and welcoming.

GREAT PLACE ALL AROUND

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We were really disappointed with this B&B. So much so that we left after a couple of hours. The room had a musty damp smell (we were told that it was their best room). The lobby was dirty. (check out the cobwebs on the light on the wall, and check out the washroom behind the kitchen (there is some sort of white mold growing on the ceiling)). When we explained that we were not going to stay there they still charged as a three day cancellation fee. There are so many nice places in the area you would be better of going elsewhere - we were glad we left.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maple973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Mami Camilla was absolutely amazing. It is family run and has a great family feel as everyone eats breakfast and dinner at the same long table. Great place to meet people. Our bedroom was quite roomy with a bathroom. We got the bedroom with the breakfast included. Homemade pastries, jam, bruchetta etc. And if you want, you can eat dinner for 18 euros. A little expensive but it is a three/four course meal made by a great chef. The location was a bit hard to find from the train station but just study a map a bit better than we did and you'll be fine! You can walk to main Sorrento in about 15 minutes. Sorrento is a calm, relaxing, safe, and beautiful place. We felt we were able to let our guard down and truly relax. We didn't want to leave and we'll be sure to return to Mami Camilla when we go back to Italy. Also, make sure you go on the Capri excursion. Captain Ago takes you to Capri for a few hours and then you cruise around the island and swim in the grottos. It's on a small boat and much better than the larger boats that are crammed full of tourists.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTravelBug404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Grand Hotel Cocumella
#12 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residenza
Hotel La Residenza
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#8 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eliseo Park's
Hotel Eliseo Park's
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mami Camilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mami Camilla

Property: Mami Camilla
Address: Via Cocumella 4, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mami Camilla 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family style B&B a very comfortable, relaxing place to stay. There are many ways to see the South of Italy. We'll take you with us, as part of our family, to see this special world through the lens of its food, its artisans, and its culinary traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Mami Camilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mami Camilla Hotel Sant`Agnello
Mami Camilla Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing