We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were on Honeymoon. Lovely hotel, more for couples, quite quiet. We had a garden floor room. It was clean and airy. Breakfast was good with a lot of selection and Salvatore would insist on carrying your plate to your table for you. Ever so helpful and friendly staff. Bed was turned down every night. Fridge in room was handy. Didnt eat in restaurant only cos we wanted to go out everynight. Train station is around the corner, takes you straight to Sorrento where all the night life is. There were a few bars just round corner if you did not want to venture that far. Supermarket nearby also. We loved the location as not being in "the middle of it" makes you venture out and look around more, but it wasn't too far from anything. Like this hotel very much!

Room Tip: Ground floor garden room did have lots of ants on patio, might want 1st floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrys3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

I guess I need to preface this by saying that I really wanted a nice view from the room and was willing to pay extra for it, but not the sort of extra that was required by staying right in Sorrento. The pictures on Hotel Alphas website seemed to promise this and there was a sea-view room option. There was an option on their website that offered a deluxe room with a balcony and either a pool view, sea-view, etc. room. I emailed in advance and asked for a sea-view room and was promised one.
Upon arriving there were no problems (although a note to anyone coming on the train: Get off at the Sant Agnello stop, the one before Sorrento. We didn't even think of it and then got an overpriced taxi), and we went to see our room....our room which did face the sea, but you would never know it because you say a road and then trees. The trees obscured the entire view. Obviously there is nothing they can do about that (they can't cut down the trees for me), but I felt very deceived by the pictures online and the promise of a sea-view!
Breakfast was standard for Europe...never expect an "American" breakfast here, so eggs very runny and "bacon" which is really fried ham, but there was a good selection and lots of seating inside and out.
Nice things included a medicore singer one night, by the pool, which we listened to from the balcony. She's not great, but its nice entertainment in the evening. The pool was excellent, but it closed very early at 7pm, which is usually just as you're coming back from the day out.
I noticed though that about 90% of the people at this hotel are from the UK and are really treating this as a sort of beach getaway, so they were perhaps sitting by the pool the whole day!
The hotel is close to the local train and it's just over 1 euro to get right to downtown Sorrento. It comes often and regularly. It's a 30-45 minute walk to get there, so not bad and it's in a very quite area with a grocery store a block away. That said, since what I had wanted was the view and I didn't get that, I would have then liked something closer to the city centre. A couple too many compromises.

I don't regret staying here at all and really this hotel deserves a 3-1/2 star rating, but that's not an option. Hopefully you have a better idea from this review of what you're getting and you can make your own decisions about what's important to you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka_schmeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was very pleased with the service received at the Alpha Hotel in Sant Agnello. Salvatrore the Head Waiter made us most welcome and prepared a meal even though we arrived close to midnight. The friendliness and efficiency of all the staff was excellent. Very good facilities, excellent pool, very good bar service. The room was spacious with a nice balcony. The quality of the food was excellent with high quality service from Salvatore and his team. Particular mention must go to Rocco and Roberto with bar/pool service, Louiggi the cheerful barman - and Sara the waitress who seemed to working at 100 mph.
I will definitely be returning to Sorrento and the Hotel Alpha and will recommend it to others. Well done!!
Brian Goredema-Braid

Room Tip: All rooms have a view - the view from my room was of the mountains. We requested connecting rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briangb210547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here after reading the many glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disapointed.

From our arrival on the first evening to our departure a week later, we found the reception staff helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. They were incredibly helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out of our safe twice in one day!!

Our room was spacious and clean. We booked a room with a panoramic view and this is exactly what we had, with views of the hills, the pool and the sea (including beautiful sunsets). The aircon was very effective and was alwasy on even when we weren't in our room, ensuring we always returned to a crisp room after a day in the sun. We particularly thought the electric shutters were excellent, adding to the keeping the room at a pleasant temperature as well as blocking out the early morning sun.
We kept the fridge in our room stocked up with wine and beer from the local supermarket (5 minute walk away), and unlike another reviewer we didn't ask the reception to empty the fridge at a cost of 5 euros a day...we did it ourselves for free!

We were booked in on a B&B basis and were always impressed with the selection available at breakfast. We only ate in the restaurant once (on our first evening) as it was convenient. The food was good, although we did feel rather rushed, eating a three course meal with a bottle of wine in 45 minutes! The restaurant is perhaps a little outdated, providing a silver service in the evening. It was "interesting" not to mention painstaking to watch a waiter try to silver serve my plate of spaghetti!
The only thing I did not appreciate about the restaurant was being given the trip advisor website and the name of a certain member of staff to mention how great he/it was. However, as his name is mentioned many times it would appear that this tactic works with others.

The location of the hotel was great, with the Circumvesuviana train station being only a 10 minute walk. The trains to Naples/Sorrento/Pompei were very regular, although sadly the last train from Sorrento to Sant Agnello in the evening was at 11.30pm. Buy your tickets at the station as they were more expensive when bought at the hotel reception.

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and would thoroughly recommend staying at the Hotel Alpha.

Room Tip: Book a room with a panoramic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the Sorrento area staying at the Hotel Alpha.
Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful, while being very professional - they also spoke English well. The bedroom was comfortable and the cleaning regime was excellent and we slept very well. All of the general facilities at the hotel (bar, gardens, pool, patio etc) are attractive and welcoming. The highlight, however, was the superb breakfast and dinner with excellent choice and quality, super service and a fantastic maitre d'.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our third visit to this hotel and it was just as wonderful. Hotel is immaculate. Staff very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Salvatore, Gennaro and Igor for looking after us so well although all the staff were equally as attentive. Food is amazing!! Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

As part of a tour of Italy, my wife and I (and friends) stayed at Hotel Alpha and were very impressed. Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and very good breakfasts made this hotel one of the best we stayed in on our 3 week tour of Sicily and Italy. We are a mature age couple from Australia who travelled with a group of people. The people are from an Italian class which is held in Canberra who decided to undertake an Italian tour with their partners. The tour was in a bus and started from Sicily and went north to Milan over 23 days.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niekvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing