We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spent a week here at the beginning of August 2012, what a fantastic place! The people are wonderful, can't do enough for you and so friendly. Food is excellent and the restaurant run under the masterful control of Salvatore who felt like an old friend by the time we left. Not to mention the killer cocktails mixed by Luigi! The hotel itself is very comfortable (air con in the rooms), beautiful pool and grounds. Location is good, 5 mins walk down the road to the cliff top coast and views of Vesuvius from a local cafe/restaurant. We had a car so a great base for exploring Pompei, Sorrento or driving down the Amalfi coast (amazing!). If you don't have a car then buses are easy and close to the hotel, as is the local train (which runs to Pompei). Overall, great place for couples or families with kids who don't need constant entertainment! Definitely recommend and would like to go back...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed at Hotel Alpha for 10 days mid July . Return visit as we had enjoyed our stay so much the previous year. We were not disappointed.
First thing i did after "check -in " was to visit the pool to see if there were" cocoons "in the bottom , as all the staff were the same and they looked younger! .it was really like Groundhog Day meets Cocoon.!. Salvatore, Genaro, Luigi and all the "front of house staff " are great. the food is worth looking forward to every evening and the rooms and pool are of a good standard
.
The real reason for the visit, the Amalfi region ,is stunning , from the manic that is Napoli and the Amalfi Drive by public transport to the sirenity of Ischia and the beauty of Positano and Capri. As for Pompei, Erculano, Vesuvius ? , no words can do them justice, just go !

.All the positive reports and reviews about the Alpha are correct, the staff all seem to enjoy what they do and the fact that the same staff were there on our return visit certainly reassured us (not that we needed reassurance),
Second time visits to Hotels, restuarants, etc can sometimes disappoint, not in the case of Hotel Alpha. We are already missing the area, the hotel, the staff, the food ( those tomatoes !!)

A great Hotel in a very special location. Thanks again, See you soon.

Room Tip: 2nd floor better for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravellerAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

So let me start with the caution part of this review. It was the height of the school summer holidays when we went but the Alpha is possibly a hotel best suited to couples or those with children who are quite happy to sit with or near their parents, read a book and have the odd dip in the pool. It would be fair to say the unwritten rule is nice to see you but keep the noise, especially in the pool area to a minimum if you are young. As that is nigh impossible your options are the beaches, which are not that great and partially fee-paying or the various trips on offer from your tour company or by use of the very efficient but busy transport system. If the weather was as hot for you as it was for us (average 35 degrees every day at least) then it might not be so easy.

We had two adjoining rooms between 4 of us which made it a very comfortable experience but judging by the other comments, the rooms were all of a good standard. They were cleaned daily, with fresh towels and necessaries provided. Satellite TV was available but it would mostly be a menu of Sky News and BBC World News outside of the Olympics period when we were there.

Much has been said and rightly so of Salvatore but it would be very wrong to disregard and forget the magnificent service of all those at the Alpha Hotel. From the reception we received through to the morning greetings and attentiveness to any needs we had we could not complain. We had half-board and the buffet breakfasts were primarily of a continental nature but eggs, bacon and hot dog sausages were also on offer. The dinners were fantastic and very indulgent if you wanted. A menu for the evening was available each morning, to salivate over during the day but they catered for particular needs which I think is essential for the more critical palate of young children, if you bring them of course!! Lunch was on offer at reasonable prices if you did not want to venture into town. I do think a free glass of water each would have been nice at dinner time but that is a minor gripe.

The evenings at the Alpha were fine if you don't mind a bit of locally provided music but there is nothing as such for young/teenage children, which could be a consideration for those with kids who need more entertainment than their digital media can cater for. Whether that is an issue the hotel can or should consider for the future would depend I suppose on the clientele it wishes to attract.

In conclusion the hotel is very well run, clean, has a nice pool, is set in lovely surroundings, has places to sit in and get out of the sun but mostly it has a very pleasant and calm feel to it. The food is as good as the majority of views suggest.

If you are the kind of people who like to get out and about here are a few tips, for you to ponder if you wish in relation to Sant Agnello and Sorrento.

Be careful of going into shops and ordering before you see the price of what you want to buy. The shop owners in Sant Agnello and Sorrento are mostly fine but no price means the tourist option sometimes rears its ugly head. The other thing to be mindful of are the roads or should I say the motorcycles and general disregard to many things Health and Safety. I think it would suffice to say be careful when walking around and don't assume a pedestrian crossing is all it appears to be!!

I would recommend the centrally located Bar Italia for coffee in Sant Agnello or a little cafe opposite the local supermarket. There is also a nice little food place in the extreme corner on your right as you come out of Sant Agnello station with 4 or 5 tables all outside. The pizzas there for example were lovely and at a reasonable price. Walking into Sorrento there is a new bar called SENYN, on the Corsa Italia, opposite Totalerg. It is bit eclectic, decorated uniquely and has a slightly different Italian feel to it.

Sorrento is very nice. It has pretty much all you want from fashion shops to coffee outlets to little bars set on and off the main road. There are multiple shops in and out of the lanes and that is where you will be offered Limoncello to tempt you. There are no real bar bars if you get my drift and I was told that it is not on offer as such in this part of Italy, with walking around and looking good, much more the done thing. as long as that is what you want, ands I would say it is a place for the slightly more cultivated individuals then you will get that and more.

So all in all I would recommend the Alpha Hotel with the rider as stated above, with Sant Agnello and Sorrento adding to this enjoyable flavour of Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks 27 July - 10 Aug. Can't fault it. Very relaxed, clean and friendly hotel. The staff can not do enough for you. Breakfast is excellent with lots of variety, hot and cold food eaten outside on a beautiful terrace. Half board is a good option and probably works out cheaper than eating out. Food is of a high standard with lots of choice and can be adapted to suit your needs. Entertainment includes a neopolitan night and gala night once a week and their are musicians and a live singer. Salvatore the Head Waiter is a real gem. He makes you feel valued and at home. He speaks many languages is full of local information and works extremely hard as do all the staff. The pool is clean and well maintained. Sorrento, Capri, Amalfi Coast, Pompeii and Versuvius are all easily reached by local transport. A real find!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The most important aspect of any hotel, the staff, is the Alpha's best quality.

There are very few places where you will find staff this good. Nothing too much trouble, constantly greeted with a smile. Knowledgeable and attentive, by the time you leave you will feel like you are leaving friends behind, not simply staff members of a hotel.

Led by the maitre d Salvatore, who went out of his way to make you feel like the most important person on the face of the planet, he is a focal point and an excellent source of local information. But every member of staff we came across was a real delight.

Make sure you try the hotel speciality of freshly squeezed orange and lemon juice, squeezed from the very fruit you recline amongst by the pool. Some of the loungers do go in an out of sun during the course of the day, but you will work it out.

Not quite enough sun loungers at times, and I think they should consider putting out extra sun loungers on the terrace behind the pool, but that is a small negative. We only found gaining a sun bed difficult on one day. We responded by heading to one of the local bathing platforms, which was a wonderful alternative day in the sun.

The restaurant food is exceptional and you will find it difficult to want to eat anywhere else.

A wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a vesuvious view instead of the pool as it is beautiful as the sun goes down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DietKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from the Alpha Hotel on Half Board basis and had a fantastic holiday. Salvatore and his team could not do enough to make out holiday any better, working tirelessly for long hours but always with a smile on their faces. Flight from Glasgow was late so arrived at the hotel close to midnight but the staff at reception quickly took our bags and directed us to the restaurant where a cold plate dinner awaited us with Salvatore promising the next meal would be delicious and it was. Each meal was as good a the last and staff could not do enough to make the holiday any more enjoyable and comfortable. Hotel is slightly outside Sorrento but local bus and train service made it very accessible, only one train stop which took about 3 minutes to get to Tasso Square.

Room Tip: As 2 couples we had an inter-connecting room which would have been excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a happy week at Hotel Alpha.
Really everything more than met our expectations. Our room was immaculate, cool and comfortable, the bathroom large and pristine.The balcony overlooked a small street market stall,an agricultural plot with Mt Vesivius in the distance.This was a great base for exploring Pompeii and Herculanium, Capri (with the beautiful villa at St Michel,Ana Capri} and the Amaalfi Coast. You can also reach Naples easily by train and there are day trips to Rome.How lovely to return to a dip in the pool shaded by citrus trees. I would recommend half board because of the
truly delicious food, made with care and skill. Grateful thanks to the chef who also catered brilliantly for my vegetarian husband and the splendid Salvatore. All staff were friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing