We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Sorrento”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Well what a find this was. A small hotel in Sant Agnello which is next door to Sorrento and a 25 minutes walk to the centre. It is well served by the local bus service and in particular the train station is only 5 minutes away and a cheap and frequent service takes you into Sorrento day or night.
The food in the Hotel was excellent. The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice but the main event is the evening dinner. A different menu every night with a wide choice served at your table by the extremely friendly waiters. The best recomendation I can give is that although we had booked half board, we had planned to go out for dinner on a couple of nights in the Trattoria's of Sorrento, but the food was that good in the Hotel we did not want to miss out and ate there every night. There is a good choice of wines at prices ranging from 12 euros a bottle to 50 euros, but we chose a couple of perfectly drinkable reds at around 15 euros each. There are a number of small friendly bars in Sant Agnello so a trip every night into Sorrento was not necessary. Other people stayed in the Hotel to enjoy the entertainment that they laid on some nights. The bedrooms were spacious and very clean and tidy. Ours overlooked the mountains inland but was away from the road so much quiter (except the sounds of the cockerel every morning!). The swimming pool is adequate size and the sun shines all day on it until late afternoon.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, giving tips on trips etc and selling tickets for the train and buses. We spent a day by taking the train to Sorrento then the bus to Positano and travelled back to Sorrento by boat, total cost 18 euros each. we also visited Pompeii by train which was very cheap. Don't bother with the tour operator trips as they are a rip off and it is much better to plan your own. We prferred the location way from the bustle of Sorrento and allowed us to explore the genuine non tourist areas of italy particulalry Piano di Sorrento and S'Agnello where we stayed. Would genuinely recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel overlooks the pool and main road, so could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, picked out as close to local train station, and therefore as a base to visit surrounding areas. The hotel is around 2 minutes away from Sorrento on the train, and trains run fairly regularly (approx 2 per hour). Also possible to walk to Sorrento, although the route we picked wasn't particularly scenic, and generally had to walk in single file, as pavements narrow.

We were given a room upgrade on arrival, to one of their recently refurbished rooms. This was clean, and comfortable. However, we did notice that noise seemed to transmit from downstairs, as well as a smoky smell in the bathroom.

All staff were very friendly and helpful, and the reception staff were a good source of information on getting around locally.

The hotel has a lovely garden area, with bright flowers and citrus trees.

The included breakfast was a fairly typical continental style, with a good variety, and included some nice torts. Fruit juice was a bit watered down. We ate in the restaurant on one night only, and contrary to the majority of the reviews here, did not find the food anything special. Glad we had bed and breakfast only, as there were quite a few local restaurants where we had a variety of dining experiences.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor above the bar and pool area and was quite noisy, particularly annoyi...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LouLouLouLouLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Thanks to tripadvisor I booked this hotel for a surprize 40th bday pressie for my hubby. Good value for money. Clean, close to bus/train stations, but in the suburbs so you can experience real italy. Also on the same street as a local cooking school, where I had a italian cooking lesson in english!! highlight of our trip. Very easy to get to as take the curreri bus from naples airport 10 euro per person, but drops you 200 m from the hotel!! Hotel staff always pleasant , and have had thomson gold medal certificates (proudly hung in the lobby) for about 8 or 9 yrs now. Lovely little pool area, but can't comment on food as only had breakfast there, which was great.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road. we got a free upgrade due to special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I returned from the Alpha Hotel on the 21st September following an 11 night stay in room 211. I know previous comments on this site have stated how good the staff are professionally but they are also genuinely nice people as well. Whats more, they are really good fun and we had so many laughs during our stay (particularly when we tried to check out a day early owing to us getting our dates mixed up - a story that spread like wildfire to everybody's amusement!).
We went on 5 or 6 organised excursions during our stay and, I'm not sure if anybody has mentioned this before, but the great thing about the Alpha Hotel's location is that we were always the last to be picked up (extra time for bed/breakfast) and the first to be dropped off at the end of the trip (extra time by the pool!).
Although it doesn't take an expert to recognise great customer service, I currently work in the hospitality business sector and believe me, Salvatore is a master with an excellent team around him. We had our favourites of course. As well as Salvatore there was Guinarro, Toninio, Rocco, a waiter that looked like a young Elvis Costello and two lovely young ladies who we didn't manage to get their names but the youngest had the most infectious smile. Lastly there was Luigi who mainly served us at the lounge bar. What an absolute star he was and we had many laughs as the banter increased during our stay. The only bad thing about Luigi is his hairstyle!
One of the things that I wanted to do during our stay was to go fishing in the Med on a boat. It was quite difficult to organise as the Italians do not appear to be geared up for sea angling (only siteseeing boat excursions) but got there eventually. Salvatore told us he was a keen angler as well as Rocco and gave us loads of advice on locations. Maybe the millions of English anglers could take advantage of this local knowledge?.... Keep catching the big fish guys!
The menu in Salvatores restaurant changes every day and the quality is exceptional. The gala nights every Thursday, the mandolin/guitar players on a Monday and the live singer on a Wednesday were excellent events.
Our room was great and kept spotlessly clean by a cleaner who greeted us whenever we crossed paths.
Salvatore and his team work exceptionally hard to please their guests. He would finish at 11pm following dinner and be in the hotel at 6am again to sort breakfast. He offered to and did come in early when we were checking out to ensure we had breakfast before we left as well as a packed lunch for the early morning flight home.....on two occasions!
We have visited many countries and always swore that we would never return to the same place again because the next time never seems to be as good. As far as the Alpha Hotel is concerned we will make an exception and definately return.
Salvatore, if you or your team read this, you are all a credit to the Alpha Hotel, Sorrento and, of course, Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We visited this hotel at the end of August for one week, nobody wanted to leave!!! We went with 3 children under 5 and they loved it! We are definitely going to try and get back to this hotel next year. This was an excellent hotel for children, every evening our girls were asked by Salvatore "what do you want me to cook for you"! absolutely priceless. At breakfast (when lets face it they are usually grumpy) they were greeted with jugs of hot chocolate! what more can we ask. On our arrival we even managed to leave a case at the airport which Citalia located for us and brought to the hotel.

From start to finish everything was fantastic, we cannot convey just how grateful we are to the staff at this hotel for helping to make it a holiday none of us will forget. The location is perfect, it is out of the noisy Sorrento, I think hotels actually in Sorrento are pricey and perhaps overcharge but ours did not overcharge us for anything. It was also convenient for the station.

If you do go with a baby I would recommend you take as much food/milk as you will need because although there is a very good pharmacist and supermarket in the area it saves you having to worry about it. Our taxi drivers generally had car seats with them we could use.

I had to include the picture of my girls with Salvatore because he certainly went the extra mile for us and they still talk about him. My little boy still copies the hand gestures he loved about the Italians!!

Also, the childrens pool is completely shaded the whole day which is ideal. The deeper pool is warmer because it has the sun on it all day.

Don't look anywhere else for a holiday with children!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Overall, an excellent hotel. We were in the villa annex at the back on the top floor - Room 314. Our balcony overlooked the road and had brilliant views of the surroundings (I understand the other top floor room was noisy because of the air con units outside).
Room was very clean and suited us fine with attractive patterned ceramic floor tiles, a comfy bed and adequate storage. It was a bit dated and could do with a smarten up - change those orange walls to cream to make it brighter. The room was a bit dark overall but we got by. Air conditoning unit looked ancient but it did work. Bathroom was excellent - large and clean. However, the ceiling over the shower area was very low so you might struggle if you are more than 5' 10". Ironically the rails in the wardrobe was very high so you needed to be tall to hang things up. I think these quirks are because these are rooms set into an old building. Hairdryer was just adequate but bring your own if you have high maintainence hair.
We were half board and the food was absolultely brilliant. Breakfast consisted of everything you might want - bacon, eggs, sausage, eggs to boil yourself, cold meats, cheeses, a variety of breads and cakes plus fresh fruit and fruit salad and cereals. Only niggle was that the fruit juices were diluted squash, not fresh or even long life.
Evening dinner was exceptional. Four courses with a choice of six or seven dishes for the starters and mains plus a choice of cakes from the trolley or ice creams. I will attach a photo of a typical menu. The food quality was very high - like dining in a good restaurant every night. The best thing though was the service. All the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful with service. Apparently, if you didn't like anything on the menu they would do something different for you, although we didn't need to do this with so much choice. We had a bottle of wine with each meal and there was quite a choice at reasonable prices - we had the dry Orvietto at 12Euros - not bad price for a restaurant wine. However, if you wanted water, you did have to have a paid for bottle. If any wine or water was left after your meal, it appeared on your table the next night - a good idea.
Bar was very good with the friendly Luigi who we enoyed chatting to and learning Italian. It really is worth trying to speak the language at least a little bit as it is very much appreciated and you can learn a lot more by chatting.
Everyone mentions Salvatore in the reviews and it is right that he is excellent, friendly and charming, but this is true of all the staff - sorry I can't remember all the names, only Gennario I think. Everybody was great and they felt like friends by the end of the holiday. This includes the reception staff who were most helpful. It is worth getting train tickets from reception. Some have said they charge a premium over the prices at the station, but this didn't appear to be the case.
We really enjoyed using the train to get to Sorrento from the station which was 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Also used it to get to Pompeii (only 2,10Euros each) and Herculaneum (also 2.10Euros for a longer journey). Trains were a bit tatty but efficient. This was so much cheaper and easier than using the Thomson trips which didn't include the entrance fee to Pompeii or Herculaneum anyway, so you were just paying a lot of money for a coach ride and guided tour. In any case, you could join a guided tour yourself.
So, overall, an excellent hotel in spite of a few little things that could be improved on. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarklyDarkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just returned from our third visit to this excellent hotel.
Where do I start - The food is fantastic, the staff are superb - nothing is too much trouble all are so friendly and helpful, rooms are always clean and well furnished.
We had another wonderful 10 days.
Thank you so much.
Chris & Maggie F

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#6 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £80 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing