We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very clean and comfortable hotel, well situated for local transport links to Pompeii and Herculaneum and good bus link to Sorrento. Definitely a hotel to suit the more mature who like to explore the area rather than relax round the hotel. We did not have dinner in the hotel but we did have a light lunch twice and it was very acceptable. My experience of "4 star" hotels in Italy is varied and this one would be mid-ranking. Small touches missing e.g. towels at the poolside. The Solarium on the roof is non-existant. Some nice restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned from this Hotel. Celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary on 15th Sept and the Hotel did us proud. Waiters and Staff superb. Excellent facilities in Hotel. In need of a ramp from road to Hotel Reception, not very good access for elderly people when having to drag cases up steps.

Room Tip: Rooms in modern Hotel better than the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The restaurant and its staff are the best this hotel has to offer. We had great food and nothing was too much trouble. I am not a lover of sweet croissants, I prefer the buttery flaky sort, this is probably typical of all of Italy. The same goes for the cornflakes.
Pool was a bit too cold for my liking and I agree with other guests, you have to get out there early to find a free sunbed in the sun. This hotel feels a little dated to me. The average guest is of retirement age I would say.
When booking in the lady at the front desk was a little curt when I asked for a quiet room not facing the road. There was no way she was going to offer us a different room. Perhaps there weren't any available but this was not mentioned.
I thought it odd that there was no mention of room service or an information pack in the room. Perhaps because it is a small hotel maybe?
Weather was delightfully hot when we stayed there. Air con was set at 27 degrees and was not able to be reduced. Some nights it turned off after only 20 mins, so all night long I was having to get up and turn it on again. Tried opening balcony door but too noisy, the sound of the air con at least drowned out the noise of the road. Got stuck on the plastic backed mattress cover most nights. Ended up laying wet towels on us to cool down.
The big guy and the lady with the long fair-ish hair on the front desk were not what you would call over friendly to say the least.
Alpha Hotel, you have a superb chef and waiting staff plus bar staff and chamber maids. Just upgrade your rooms by at least putting in electric fans and include an information pack about the hotel and its amenities.
We ventured up to the Solarium on the roof. Well there was nothing there apart from 2 broken deck chairs and the air con outlet. This could be made into such a lovely area to enjoy by your guests. Possibly include a gym maybe?
Also for your guests who have a late flight back home, it would be nice if you could instal a shower near the public toilets, as there was nowhere to freshen up.
Would I come back here again? Yes, but only to eat at the restaurant I'm afraid.

Room Tip: I believe the better rooms to be overlooking the lemon groves at the back. These are sunnier rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great wifi, most important to me as i have stated in all my reviews. all other hotels should take note as how hard can it be to provide this service. dont worry about a bidet, i know how to use wifi! Quite a large room, comfortable bed, quiet. Lovely balcony for ease of drying clothes overlooking he pool. Public transport, either bus or train to the centre of sorrento is a 6 minute walk. Excellent restaurants are available 10 minutes walk away ( I strongly recommend la marinella ). The restaurant here was not great on the night we ate there, but the breakfast was the best I have had in Italy ( not much to beat though ). Staff were extremely helpful, almost embarrassing to be waited on at breakfast. Only problem was they turn the air conditioning off at night, resulting in you waking up to 28 degrees in the early hours

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Well what a find this was. A small hotel in Sant Agnello which is next door to Sorrento and a 25 minutes walk to the centre. It is well served by the local bus service and in particular the train station is only 5 minutes away and a cheap and frequent service takes you into Sorrento day or night.
The food in the Hotel was excellent. The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice but the main event is the evening dinner. A different menu every night with a wide choice served at your table by the extremely friendly waiters. The best recomendation I can give is that although we had booked half board, we had planned to go out for dinner on a couple of nights in the Trattoria's of Sorrento, but the food was that good in the Hotel we did not want to miss out and ate there every night. There is a good choice of wines at prices ranging from 12 euros a bottle to 50 euros, but we chose a couple of perfectly drinkable reds at around 15 euros each. There are a number of small friendly bars in Sant Agnello so a trip every night into Sorrento was not necessary. Other people stayed in the Hotel to enjoy the entertainment that they laid on some nights. The bedrooms were spacious and very clean and tidy. Ours overlooked the mountains inland but was away from the road so much quiter (except the sounds of the cockerel every morning!). The swimming pool is adequate size and the sun shines all day on it until late afternoon.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, giving tips on trips etc and selling tickets for the train and buses. We spent a day by taking the train to Sorrento then the bus to Positano and travelled back to Sorrento by boat, total cost 18 euros each. we also visited Pompeii by train which was very cheap. Don't bother with the tour operator trips as they are a rip off and it is much better to plan your own. We prferred the location way from the bustle of Sorrento and allowed us to explore the genuine non tourist areas of italy particulalry Piano di Sorrento and S'Agnello where we stayed. Would genuinely recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel overlooks the pool and main road, so could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, picked out as close to local train station, and therefore as a base to visit surrounding areas. The hotel is around 2 minutes away from Sorrento on the train, and trains run fairly regularly (approx 2 per hour). Also possible to walk to Sorrento, although the route we picked wasn't particularly scenic, and generally had to walk in single file, as pavements narrow.

We were given a room upgrade on arrival, to one of their recently refurbished rooms. This was clean, and comfortable. However, we did notice that noise seemed to transmit from downstairs, as well as a smoky smell in the bathroom.

All staff were very friendly and helpful, and the reception staff were a good source of information on getting around locally.

The hotel has a lovely garden area, with bright flowers and citrus trees.

The included breakfast was a fairly typical continental style, with a good variety, and included some nice torts. Fruit juice was a bit watered down. We ate in the restaurant on one night only, and contrary to the majority of the reviews here, did not find the food anything special. Glad we had bed and breakfast only, as there were quite a few local restaurants where we had a variety of dining experiences.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor above the bar and pool area and was quite noisy, particularly annoyi...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LouLouLouLouLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Thanks to tripadvisor I booked this hotel for a surprize 40th bday pressie for my hubby. Good value for money. Clean, close to bus/train stations, but in the suburbs so you can experience real italy. Also on the same street as a local cooking school, where I had a italian cooking lesson in english!! highlight of our trip. Very easy to get to as take the curreri bus from naples airport 10 euro per person, but drops you 200 m from the hotel!! Hotel staff always pleasant , and have had thomson gold medal certificates (proudly hung in the lobby) for about 8 or 9 yrs now. Lovely little pool area, but can't comment on food as only had breakfast there, which was great.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road. we got a free upgrade due to special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing