We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpha Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club Sorrento(Sant'Agnello)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Garden Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais Villa Savarese(Sant'Agnello)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$529
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$515
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Palace Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Esperidi Resort(Sant'Agnello)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Florida(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
US$820
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$777
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Cocumella(Sant'Agnello)
US$836
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$757
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveller rating
782
273
99
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
273
99
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationhead waiterhis teamfruit treessilver servicegala nightminute walkthe hotel receptioncomfort roomlovely hotelrestaurant staffthe main hotelsant agnelloamalfi coastreception staffhalf boardpompeii and herculaneum
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've just arrived home from a lovely two week stay at the Alpha hotel. This was our second visit as 1 week last year just wasn't enough! The hotel areas and room was spotlessly clean; the maids cleaned the room, changed the towels and made the bed every day. We asked for a quiet room and was given a room situated on the side of the hotel, lovely views of the hills from the balcony. Balcony had a table, chairs and sun chair loungers. The only negative was that we were near the main staircase and could hear everybody walking up and down the stairs but this didn't bother us too much!
The staff were amazing and definitely a credit to this hotel. Reception and restaurant staff were friendly, helpful and very attentive plus with a great sense of humour too. Salvatore was a true gent, always ensuring that we were having the best possible stay!
Half board consisted of a buffet style breakfast in the morning with plenty of choice. The evenings were a 3 course meal with a varied menu that wasn't repeated over the 2 weeks. The food was absolutely delicious and you were always left full! Gala night was a set menu but a real treat, not to be missed, especially the Vesuvius cake.
The pool is reasonably sized, gets deep quite quickly but with a baby pool on the side. Sun beds are comfortable and the pool area is kept clean. It was good that the pool opened at 9 because some people reserved beds with towels and then went off for the morning. We managed to get the beds we wanted at 9 if we fancied a day by the pool.
We were much more adventurous with exploring the area as this was our second visit. The hotel is a 30-40min walk from Sorrento and we would normally take the coast road, much nicer view points on the way. The train station was a 2 min walk from the hotel and one stop from Sorrento. We also used the train to travel to Pompeii and Herculaneum which are both on the same line from Sant'Agnello. This was cheaper then doing it through Thomson. We did book two excursions through Thompson which where the select boat trip to Capri and Ischia and the gardens. We didn't think much of Capri unless your somebody who likes designer shopping and we would have much rather explored Anacapri which is on the other side of the island. However the boat trip to Capri was the best bit of the trip. There was a max of 12 on the boat which took as along the Sorrentine coast and around the island of Capri. The boat anchored for lunch and a swim plus as it was select we were picked up and dropped back to the hotel. The trip to Ischia was good value, this included a coach pick up to the marina, a ferry (journey 1 hour) to the island and then a coach trip stopping of at various spots for pictures then lunch finished of with a 3 hour visit to the Mortella gardens which were simply stunning and tranquil (we enjoyed it even though we are not keen gardeners).
We would definitely recommend this area of Italy and the Alpha hotel! Looking forward to a 3rd visit in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandKate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am writing this review a bit late as we went at the end of June but we have had a bit of a dispute with Thomsons however more of that in a bit.The hotel as people have mentioned has really only one drawback and that is that it is on a main road and this is quite noisy.Everything else about the Hotel is very good from the staff to the quality of the food it cannot be faulted it is unfortunate that the hotel has to deal with travel companies such as Thomsons.This company was once noted for its exceptional commitment to the customer but since it sold out to TUI its focus seems to be solely on money and doing things on the cheap.This started at the airport when we arrived slightly early but had to wait a further two hours in the sun whilst the Newcastle flight arrived so that they could get more people on a cranky bus that had air conditioning but it didn't work properly.When we went for the Thomsons meeting the rep, quite a pleasant lad,gave the usual speel interspersed with how wonderful Thomsons are and how privileged he felt to have been chosen as a rep.My thoughts were if this is the standard of reps God help us, to say he was useless would be an understatement.To cut a long story short do not buy any trips from Thomsons reps as they are a waste of money and you can do them far cheaper yourself and if anything goes wrong at least you won't have been ripped off and if you have to deal with Thomsons after travel department you will find out how little they value their customers.The holiday was on the whole very good in spite of Thomsons who I would put on a par with Thomas Cook and that is meant as an insult.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GRACE45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just arrived home after a week at the Alpha. Lovely hotel. Nice public areas. Our room was lovely with a view of Vesuvius. The bathroom was a bit dated but perfectly functional. Really comfy bed and lots of storage space.Spotlessly clean in all areas. Brilliant air con.
The food made the holiday great,we enjoyed every mealtime. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Cereal,fruit,yoghurt,bread,cake,eggs that you boil yourself. Not so great on the english choice with only bacon,sausage and scrambled egg.But we didnt mind this.
The evening meals were fabulous every night with plenty of choice,all well cooked and not a chip in sight.Try the calfs liver. Great salad bar. Lovely cakes for desert. The only cake we didnt like was on gala night when it was baked alaska which was poor compared to the rest of the week.Gala night has a set menu which was good but we prefered the evenings with choice. The waiters were all lovely and very friendly. They do not serve coffee after dinner which was my only gripe about the evening meal.We had coffee in the bar after dinner at extra cost and the coffee in the bar wasnt much good to be honest.I think on half board in a nice hotel coffee should be offered after dinner.
The pool area is lovely but lots of it is shaded by fruit trees. We found that certain people tended to nab the sunny spots at 9am by claiming the beds with towels then clearing off. (this tends to happen everywhere I know ).The area is quite small too so the beds are very close together. The pool bar doesnt always have someone serving so you have to go into the bar to order drinks etc at the pool.
The hotel is quite a long walk into sorrento. About half an hour which is a bit far in the heat of August. Nice view points on the way though. It is easy to get the train from just a couple of hundred yards up the road. The hotel sells train tickets but they are cheaper if you buy them from the station.The trains are not very nice,always packed,hot and a bit scruffy. The train station is pretty grim too.
The hotel is on a main road which didnt bother us. We just thought the area of sant agnello was poor,no nice bars or shops to walk to.
Entertainment was low key on 2 evenings. The guitar and mandolin player were excellent on one evening,there was a singer another evening but we didnt like that,too cheesy for our taste,but I am sure some enjoyed it.
All in all we really liked the Alpha but if it had been closer to sorrento it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor at the side of the hotel have nice views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our first time at The Alpha hotel,and we werent disappointed.Was so impressed with the room,spacious bathroom,even a lovely big balcony with lovely wicker chairs.We only decided to go for a week but i wish we booked a fortnight now.As we are used to buffet style breakfasts and dinners we wasnt sure on how we would get on,but by golly no we loved it,contienental breakfast of cheeses,ham different salamis,fruit,cereal,do your own bolied egg,plenty of different bread for your toast,cakes.i tried something different each day.Dinner is 3 courses a choice off a menu,and there is always something for everyone but if there isnt then Salvatore who is a lovely kindly italian waiter will oblige and get you something else...There pasta in tomato sauce is to die for and the pudding well what can i say i came back stone heavier!!!but worth it..
Plenty of beds we managed to get one in the morning as they dont let you through till 9am which is good and there is some really comfortable deckchairs to sit in,lovely orange trees around so you can sit under when it gets to hot.
We did a trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii paid 94 euros but it only consisted of the coach transfer and a guide but we did the Vesuvius on our own,but had to pay 11 euros for entrance fee,then some lunch which we had to pay 13 euros for and then another entrance fee for Pompeii i think that was 11 euros each,all in all expensive,something to do with concessions but if you are over 65 or a studant or under 13 it was free!!!Its cheaper to go on the train for 3 euros return so we found out later on.
Sorrento a pretty town full of really quaint shops,we found a little shop full of Christmas trinkets...
Cannot fault anything at the Alpha,waiters obliging always smiling,extensive drinks menu.plenty of wine to choose from.
We had a superior room overlooking the pool,very quiet,had no slamming doors,scrapping of chairs,load voices,we were either lucky or the walls are thick.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and it deserves a 5*....
Next time i go it will be the trip to Amallfii drive,which i hear is spectacular,a excuse to go back i say.

Room Tip: We had room 205,which got the sun in the day, but very hot.But overlooking the pool..It was quiet but we may of been lucky that week..
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetter761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights from the 4th August this year. We arrived early, two hours before check-in but this didn't seem to be a problem at all and Igor (who never seems to go home!) took our suitcases up to our rooms for us. Our double room was spotlessly clean all week other than a few ants in the bath one morning. Towels are changed every day if you leave them in the bath. Our balcony overlooked the pool area and on most days you could see Vesuvius across the sea.

The food was also very good on the whole. We stayed half board so breakfast and dinner was included. Breakfast consisted of both plain and filled pastries, cold meats, cheeses, fruit and cereal as well as hot sausages and bacon, which we couldn't get enough of! The coffee is lovely and perfect if you like it strong. Dinner was three courses which you choose from an a la carte menu which changes every day, with some interesting and varied choices such as rabbit veal and rooster. The starters are quite large too! We had lunch time snacks on a couple of the days as well (choices such as pasta, salads, burgers and pizzas).

The bus into Sorrento stops right outside the hotel and you can buy tickets from the reception desk which was handy. It takes you right down to the harbour or you can stop in the town centre if you wish. The train station is also just a five minute walk from the hotel. From here you can travel to Sorrento or in the opposite direction towards Naples. We didn't book through a travel operator so we had to make our own way from Naples airport to Sant'Agnello. On the way there we travelled by the train which took about an hour and 20 minutes. If you can I'd strongly recommend paying a bit more and getting a coach transfer because the train journey back was something we were dreading all week as it was EXTREMELY hot on the train and we didn't manage to get seats so had to stand in between carriages.

The pool is lovely but to get the best sunbeds you need to be down there ready with your towel when the pool opens at 9am. Even if you don't manage that there are always enough loungers to go around. The pool is a bit deep (shallow end is 1.5m and deep end is 3m) but there is a separate 0.5m area.

The hotel is also smoker-friendly! You can smoke virtually anywhere outside, including on the balconies and by the poolside, where ashtrays are provided.

My only small complaint is that you have to pay 3 euros per day to use the small fridge in the bedrooms. Overall it was a great hotel and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasemin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews