We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and efficient hotel in a great location.”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and efficient hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the cleanliness and service at this hotel is first class. In the restaurant Salvatore is king. He oversees everything and ensures all guests needs are catered for quickly and efficiently. He is also a very charming man who makes you feel special - a real gentleman. All of the Restaurant staff are very friendly, especially Vitorio with whom we had some great banter over the football - Go Napoli!!
The food is also excellent with a varied menu to suit all tastes every evening. Normally, at predominantly 'British Guest' hotels, they try to cook 'British' food (fish & chips etc) thankfully they have resisted the temptation to follow this trend and have stuck to proper Italian recipes which are delicious.
Our room was located in the Villa though we did not experience the issues other guests have pointed out here - we had a great room on the ground floor with the afternoon sun making the patio a very warm and relaxing place to be after the days out to Pompei, Vesuvius etc. The room was also kept spotlessly clean with an evening turn down service included - faultless!
The Reception staff are also very friendly and efficient, particularly Luigi who was extremely helpful whenever we needed assistance - thank you all.
With regards to location we thought it was ideal. Although it's a 30min walk into Sorrento, 400m up the road is the railway station where, for 2euros you could catch the train in/back. We normally walked in and caught the train back. The Hotel is on a fairly busy road but we didn't experience any sleepless nights from traffic noise.
All in all we thought the hotel was excellent and would not hesitate to stay here again, we had a wonderful time made even better by the friendly staff.
We hired a car at the airport - driving in Italy is a unique experience. There do not appear to be any rules for scooters and bikes. They overtake on both sides with no regard to oncoming traffic - even on narrow streets - and pull out from side roads without looking to see what's coming. 90% of the cars have scratches, scrapes and dents - no wonder!! But it was still good fun and the winding road to Amalphi is special experience. We brought our own Tom Tom for finding our way around but it must be noted that you will need your computer recharging lead with you as the hire car companies disconnect the cigarette lighters in an attempt to make you pay 20euros a day to hire their systems!! The reception staff at the hotel recharged our device through the computer connection whenever we needed it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this nice review and for sharing your holiday experience at the Hotel Alpha, with all the Trip Advisor's readers.
We are more than glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday; Salvatore and his staff, the chamber maids and the reception staff, are all thankfull for your nice words.
We really hope you will come back again, we are ready to welcome you.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    262
    91
    12
    4
See reviews for
243
694
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The cleanliness and service in this hotel is excellent. All Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The restaurant is professionally managed by Salvatore who endeavours to meet everyone's needs and requests. As previously mentioned, the AC system in the Villa is very noisy and could not be controlled within the room, we had to keep requesting it to be turned on or off at reception. Our room had a very small shower unit and if we had been larger people it would not have been suitable . We viewed a comfort room within the hotel, the couple we met had paid less, got the better room and booked at the last minute? So, do we leave our bookings until the last minute!!!! I would recommend the hotel, it's a bit of a step from Sorrento town but ok if you enjoy a walk . We enjoyed our holiday despite the disappointment of not being part of the main hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask to be in the main hotel and not in the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WorcestershirePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We could not fault the service and cleanliness of this hotel. As per other reviews we had very good food served by Salvatore who was excellent and noticed everything happening in the restaurant. We had a mini heatwave with temperatures in the 30's and found the constant walk to Sorrento or waiting for a bus or train a little arduous. Our room was in the villa and air conditioning was operated by reception not so good when you wanted to go to bed and had to call to switch off the very noisy AC system. At the end of our holiday we viewed a comfort room in the hotel which was much nicer. When I asked at reception how rooms were allocated as people we met had booked last minute paid less and had the better rooms the reception informed us Thomson booked all the rooms in the villa first obviously much cheaper. Be warned check you are in the hotel not in the villa. Must say we will not rush again to book with Thomson having had this experience. Overall if you enjoy walking and the temperatures are more normal in the 20's it is a lovely place to stay and we enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor.
As matter of fact, this year the climate in the month of June, is not what we expected, sunny and warm, but not hot and muggy or rainy! Unfortunately a little bit of this, a little due to the regulations in force for the air conditioning, we were all a little disadvantaged. Sorry for this inconvenience.
We hope that you will give us a second chance.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were only there for 1 week........ Not long enough! From start to finish fabulous service from kind and very helpful staff. The hotel catered for our every need including giving every support in exploring the area ! A short bus ride to Sorrento ,with bus stop outside the hotel.....so easy! The hotel itself is so comfortable with a blend of old and new buildings which were kept immaculately clean and tidy including a fabulous pool and amenities. We had half board but often had lunch there as well, it was so lovely and tasty and with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 32Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks for the nice review. We are delighted to met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked this hotel based on its' location and the TripAdvisor ratings it had. Boy did we choose well ! We spent a week in the hotel and could not fault any part of the experience. We upgraded to a comfort room overlooking the pool . The room was spacious , well appointed and very clean with a super bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. The mini bar was good , the room safe was free of charge and the view from the balcony pleasing.
The reception staff were polite and helpful from start to finish , the maintenance manager a help when required and the chambermaids efficient and polite.
As for the restaurant I can only say that the experience was the icing on the cake ( no pun intended ). Salvatori was the the epitome of what a restaurant manager should be and he was backed up by a very good staff ( especially the chef ). The food was to die for and certainly was a great feature of the holiday.
The location of the hotel was convenient for Sorrento with a regular local bus service stop outside the hotel entrance and a train station just up the road. The more adventurous of the people we spoke with took the train to Pompeii , for example , and had no problems whatsoever.
Although not having a sea view I can honestly say it was not missed , and it is something my wife and I usually put on top of our requirements.
I genuinely could not find a negative thing re this hotel and our stay and thoroughly recommend it .

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which was an upgrade and overlooked the pool . A good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robroyBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here end of May to beginning of June. A very convenient location away from hustle and bustle but still close enough to centre of Sorrento, train takes 2 minutes, bus from outside hotel or nice stroll along road. We covered all the attractions whilst there Pompeii, Ercolano, Vesuvius, Isle of Capri and Amalfi coast, so it was delightful to return to the hotel for a jacuzzi bath in a very comfortable room overlooking the pool. When booking the accommodation we contacted Imma at the hotel by phone and she was very helpful in sorting the required rooms for us. She was also very helpful with any information we required during our stay, and spoke perfect English. Breakfast was delightful with plenty to choose from including boiled eggs. Salvatore always had a warm greeting for everyone.Perfect hotel in perfect location we would definitely recommend and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our 7 nights at the Alpha were wonderful. They deserve every one of their 4 stars. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable and all the staff go out of their way to be helpful, efficient and friendly. The food was excellent, we stayed half board, and the restaurant was run to a very high standard with Salvatore at the helm and all the waiters making a real effort to make sure you enjoy your stay, along with Luigi at the bar. The hotel is well placed for exploring the area - the buses stop outside and are fairly regular. The train service "circumvesuvio" is the best way to travel, only 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the station in St Agnello, very cheap and runs all the way from Naples to Sorrento, stopping at Pompeii and Herculaneum with a very short walk to the historical sites. If planning to see both, buy a combination ticket at either site, saving 2 euros per person. The little beach at Piano de Sorrento is also a short walk away from the hotel and well worth a visit, even if just for the lift down at 50c each way! Visitors need to be aware that the hotel is on a main road but although traffic noise can be heard on the balconies, it is not a problem if you shut the doors of your room. There are shops and a new little supermarket just down the road in St Agnello, with some nice bars in the square. I would like to return to Sorrento as there is so much more to see, and would definitely stay at the Hotel Alpha!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, they will oblige if possible, and request twin beds if you need them. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

MAny thanks on behalf of all the Staff for your nice words.
Customers' satisfaction is our main aim, we do all our best to succeed, and words like yours encourage us to do everyday more and more.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing