We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, too far from sorrento old decor”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

nice location in terms of san agnello and very close to local amenities and train station with access to sorrento, naples and pompii. the hotel decoration was very old which we think was suited to its target audience from taking a rough average age of the guests being 50-60s.
Breakfast was okay, a small selection of continental cold meats and pastries and hot breakfast but have had much better. staff were friendly and helpful.

wouldn't stay here again as it was too far from sorrento but we made sure we did a lot of day trip from here including pompii and position both places i highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LChale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at the Alpha and were greeted by the reception staff we were very friendly & helpful. Our room was on the first floor, beautiful mountainous views, very peaceful. The room was spotless & so was the bathroom, with a shower over the bath. The maids changed the towels daily & turned the bed covers over in the evening. The dining room was very airy and bright, there were different theme nights , music on different nights of the week. Breakfast was continental style & you could boil your own eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon were available too. The evening meal was 3 courses with silver service which was a lovely touch. Salviatore, the restaurant manager went out of his way to please you & so did the waiters/waitresses, nothing was too much trouble. Wi if was available free on charge around the whole hotel free of charge. There is also a beautiful roof terrace on the third floor with amazing views of Sorrento. The local bus service was a little unreliable as we had to wait over 20 minutes in which time we could have walked into Sorrento. The pavements are a little narrow so take care. It's a small hotel with amazing standards. My daughters & I highly recommend it. To continued success!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Louisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Difficult to say anything original to say about the Alpha that hasn't already been said by previous visitors..It is the friendliest of hotels from the reception staff to the bar,dining and domestic staff.
Nothing is too much effort from sorting out local travel tips along with providing tickets for trains and buses to providing a very welcomed late evening meal for late arrivals supervised by the excellent Salvatore who spoilt us all week with his attentive manner.The quality of the food especially during dinner exceeds the 4* rating given to the hotel.The rooms were well appointed with large comfortable beds..Our room, 219, overlooked the hills in the distance, wonderfully relaxing! The hotel is a short bus ride into Sorrento and ten minutes from the train station to visit places such as Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples.(best value travel) Best recommendation of all, the staff including Genaro were most generous with their praise of.the English team effort in their duel with Italy, in the heat of central Brazil!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 219/220 overlooked the gardens/hills. t.They had early morning sun up to midday. Quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Friendly, clean hotel a short bus ride from Sorrento. The staff are very friendly and the hotel smart and clean. Salvatore runs a very clean and efficient restaurant and the food was excellent. Some effort at improving the entertainment would go down well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We can highly recommend the hotel for not only a convenient location but also a wonderful team of friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant team are fantastic serving up great meals every evening organised by their manager Salvatore who makes every guest feel special. This was our second visit and we look forward to going again next year.
Peter and Jean Uk

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had, just melted away,after a mare of a trip from airport (2/6/14 was a bank holiday). Checking in at 10pm we were politely escorted to our restaurant table by the nicest most genuine waiter i have ever met. (This was the king of waiters....Salvatori). While our cases were taken up to our room 124 .(quiet over looking gardens,sun in the morning).
Because it was so late ,the kitchen had shut but laid out was a delicious cold mix fish platter. The stress of work,getting to /from airport etc vanished in the first 5 min of being in Hotel Alpha.
We were only here for a week,so some sightseeing was on the agenda.
we attended the Thomson meeting and were told of nightmare public transport and train travel......also spoke to other people who said they'd had no problems at all.
It seems Thomson reps are scaring people onto their trips at over inflated prices.
We went under our own steam. Train ticket into sorrento 1.30 euro ,5 min ride station only 400mts from hotel.
We went to Capri on the large ferry (ticket at the docking terminal 27 euro ret.)
At the sorrento tourist info we booked a full day trip to Pompeii and mt vesuvius inc boat trip and sandwich. (around 70 euro for us 2) Brill trip , tour guide inc.
The amalfi coast road trip with Thomson was 113 euro each.......We caught the red hop on /off tour bus.....8 euro each......we got a mini cruise back(21/2 hr)Amalfi to sorrento 13 euro. Visit the cathedral in Amalfi !!!
Back to the hotel, the food was spot on,our room was cleaned every day,a bed turn down service too,free safe, mini bar was not free Lol.
It was faultless other than all bar bills drinks etc were put onto your room number to pay when checking out (Note there is a service tax on top of all drinks bought).
The hotel and grounds/pool were kept spotless in the week we stayed. All the staff were on hand and so polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steelman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having just returned from the Hotel Alpha we wanted to express our sincere thanks to all the staff who made our stay so special. The hotel itself although slightly out of the centre was immaculate and well kept and exceeded all our expectations. Having celebrated a special wedding anniversary the staff made our three sons extremely welcome when they joined us for our second week. It was the best food we have experienced on a holiday giving plenty of choice and quality with the restaurant staff always going the extra mile to please and advise. Special thanks to Salvatore, Genarro and Rocco to whom we are most grateful.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Alpha as a perfect base to a holiday in Sorrento. Close to the railway station and bus routes into the centre making it easy to visit places of interest. This is our first holiday in Italy and we found the local people extremely friendly and welcoming and would give the Alpha 10/10!

Mi ha fatto piacere conoscerla,

Ciao! from the Gilberts (Lynne, Rob, Ben, Sam and Jack)

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the hotel away from the roads for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamGilbert90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Best wishes again for your wedding anniversary, we are glad you enjoyed it with us, and we are glad of being now part of your good memories.
We hope you will be back to the Hotel Alpha to celebrate many other occasions.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing