We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a fantastic 11 days at the Hotel Alpha and can honestly say that we could not fault a thing. The fantastic service makes this hotel stand out and this was obvious from the moment we walked into the hotel. There always seemed to be somebody there if and when you needed them (very rarely in our case) and there is a definite sense of genuine care and consideration for every individual staying in the hotel, while maintaining a relaxed 'not in your face' attitude.

Much has been written in previous reviews about the restaurant experience and having visited Italy several times, I can honestly say that food served at Hotel Alpha is some, if not the best we have had. Nothing was too much trouble and every single member of staff deserves praise but Salvatore, Rocco and last but definitely not least Vittorio all stood out for their attentive care and for going the extra mile.

Thank you to everyone for some lovely memories, particularly those behind the scenes who make the hotel what it is.

We will definitely be back, but not soon enough.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms. You won't want to spend more time in it than necess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guests

our Staff is really committed to Customers' needs, and your words are important for us as an incentive to improve and do better and better.
Many thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor,
We really hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    261
    91
    12
    4
See reviews for
242
693
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel between 30.06-07.07 2014. We were on our honeymoon and also took our 2 year old little boy. The hotel was perfect. Great location. Supermarket and cafes 5 minutes to the left and the beach 10 minutes to the right. They had a large shallow baby pool and another big pool for adults. Food was a buffet style breakfast and al a carte for the evening. Service throughtout the whole hotel was amazing. Everyone had a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone spoke very good English and it was easy to communicate. Salvatore in the restaurant is definitely worth a special mention as he really made a fuss of our little boy which made meal times easier. Everyone in the hotel was extremely friendly and we met some really lovely people. A great stay all around and we will definitely be going back. Well done Alpha Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dandy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Sorrento is a great base for exploring as well as enjoying a holiday in the sun. We loved our trips (c/o Thompsons) to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Mt Vesuvio, Amalfi Coast and Capri. A price tag attached! But we had brill informative guides, everything arranged for us, and experienced the fantastic coastal views and travelled in a comfort which we would not have done on our own travelling by train. We went to Naples under our own steam (ie the local train!) specifically to the Muse Nationale to see the artefacts from Pompeii. An awful train journey because of the heat and no air con, hard plastic seats, very crowded - and the brief snapshot of Naples we experienced gave us a very different view of Italy, not particularly comfortable. But despite poor display of artefacts compared with our great London Museums! with very little info, we were bowled over by the exhibits and the discomforts of the day were worth it!
We stayed at Hotel Alpha for 11 nights, and were very comfortable. A spacious room with a view of the mountains and Vesuvio. It was quiet despite being on the outskirts of a busy town. Pleasant room, kept very clean by friendly maids. We found the mattresses (no double beds, just singles pushed together) too firm. The communal areas are spacious and friendly and well used by visitors. The pool is small, but sufficient for a small hotel, but there was a little competition for claiming the beds in the sun in the afternoons! The shade under the orange trees was very welcome in the heat of the day.
Many reviews wax lyrical about the restaurant... Our experience was a little mixed. We did not see any plates of food looking quite so exotic as shown on the hotel website, and we experienced some lovely evening meals, and some "interesting" ones! We were disappointed at the standard offering of tinned fruit and "economy" fruit juice at breakfast. We bought fantastic fresh fruit from the stall daily set up on the road side next to the hotel! We ordered fresh orange juice at the pool bar, and that was wonderful... Overall our experience was "good" but not amazing. Salvatore - who runs the front of the restaurant- is the key player in making it all happen, and he and his team do a wonderful job at providing an excellent service.
It is a bit of an effort to get into Sorrento central, but if that is not essential to you, overall hotel Alpha is a good place to stay, and we'd happily come back, as others already do!

Room Tip: ask for a paramic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryRuth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I cannot fault this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food at the restaurant was first class and plenty of it. The pool was excellent and not too noisy considering it was on a busy road and the pool snack bar was handy. The bedrooms were very clean as was the rest of the hotel. We stayed for two weeks but there was so much to do and see around Sorrento we could have stayed for another two weeks. I had never been to Italy before but I fell in live with it and would go again and I would stay at the Alpha .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just got back from a very enjoyable week at the Alpha. The hotel is spotlessly clean and provides clean sheets and towels daily. It has a good pool, providing the right mix of sun and shade - although the pool bar service could be erratic. We stayed in the annex, which is a little tired in some aspects and not as modern as the main building.The star of the show is the restaurant - the quality and service was excellent thanks to the incomparable Salvatore and his excellent team.

The hotel is conveniently situated for Sorrento and it's links if you do not mind a walk or short bus ride.

Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanniebensonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The old negative reviews had no relevance to our stay between 20 and 30 June 2014. The hotel is ideally situated for those who are happy to use the local bus service, which stops outside the hotel about every 30 minutes, and takes about 10 minutes to get you to the centre or the harbour for 2.5 euros return. I'm told you can walk to the centre in about half an hour, or you can catch the train from the St Agnello Station less than 10 minutes’ walk and costs about the same.

My wife and I highly recommend this hotel for those who are happy to use a hotel as a base to visit the Pompeii Ruins, Mount Vesuvius, Amalfi Coast, Island of Capri and museums in Naples etc. but not forgetting the local harbours and beaches of Sorrento itself.
All the Hotel Staff were very pleasant, helpful and courteous. The food in the Restaurant was prepared to a high standard and varied throughout our 10-day stay. Special mention to Salvatore the Head Waiter who makes sure you are well looked after, leads from the front and does an excellent job with staff and customers alike.

The Reception Staff were all very helpful too. Overall the hotel gets a 100% thumbs up. Don't be put off by what I said about using the hotel as a base - it may not have a Gym or Jacuzzi etc, but the lounge bar, pool and gardens are very pleasant and well kept. So you don’t have to go off exploring you don’t want to. Our room was also well kept and received the usual daily visit from the cleaner.

Oh, one last mention for the Thomson Rep - Sam, she also worked hard to make sure everyone got the most out of their holiday. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms with Garden or Pool View if you like to make the most of this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purchasesonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for spending your time in writing this nice review on trip advisor.
We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the simplicity of our house and
our efforts to make your holiday the most enjoyable and relaxing one.
We really like pampering our customers with full breakfasts and delicious dinners, carefully prepared by our chefs and served with care by our guys in the restaurant and than..... which gym is better than a nice walk into town centre? Thanks also for highlighting that the Hotel Alpha is located in a strategic position for visiting the area with public transport.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday overall and hope you'll be back here one day.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel that hasn't already been said?!! We stopped here as it was given rave reviews on Trip Adviser and we wasn't disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean and sheets and towels were changed daily. The view from the balcony was of mountains and trees( room 125). The food was out of this world, we were there for 2 weeks and it was a different menu every night. Salvatori and his staff were amazing and I can't speak highly enough of them as all of the hotel staff. Sam was our Thompson Rep and was always there to give advice on transport, trips or anything you needed to know about the surrounding area. The hotel was a 30 min walk to Sorrento or 1 stop from the local train station, or a 10 min bus drive where the stop was right outside the hotel. A great Base also for trips to Pompeii, Herculanium, Naples, or mount Vesuvius by train. The local town of Sant Agnello is a 5 min walk, a lovely little town with great bars and restaurants. My only little gripe being English was only one English channel (CNN News) and this was mainly the same stuff on every night. I would have no hesitation going back here again and would highly recommend it. Thanks again Alpha for making my Italian holiday one to remember.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing