We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond!”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We returned from a brilliant week staying at Alpha Hotel Sorrento last week. It was faultless from the flight to the hotel. The Head waiter could not have done more for us. He and his staff were so kind and went the extra mile to make your stay very special...thank you. We chose to see the various sights using local transport and it was very easy. The only slight problem we had was we didn't realise there are several bus companies and we didn't always have the right ticket for the bus that came along! But by the end of the week we had more or less used them all up. The train was easy to use but you do need to validate your ticket in the little orange box on the wall on the platform. Capri was expensive to get there but lovely. Head to Ana Capri on the local bus but it was packed hot and a little unnerving when the locals on the bus were crossing themselves! The chairlift up to Monte Solaro is worth it but make sure you get a clear sunny day for the view. Shope in Ana Capri were lovely..Capri was crowded I would recommend to go early. Pompeii, Herculanium and Vesuvuis were fabulous but again you need an early start to avoid the crowds.Hotel was quiet and excelllent. We would love to go back but may be at a cooler time of year because there is a lot to do and see. Thank you it was one of the best holidays we've had as a family...my teenage daughters agree! It's not a beach holiday and probably more suited to families of older children. Thank you! Mark and Cathy

Room Tip: Wifi and airconditioning works but a little inefficiently in rooms but it didn't bother us at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 255Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at The Hotel Alpha, the first time was 4 years ago & it is stll as good. Everything about the hotel is excellent. The food is amazing with a good choice of menu each night. All the staff make you feel special, they are so friendly & helpfull & nothing is too much trouble. The hotel & bedrooms are kept spotlessly clean & the gardens & pool area are beautiful. Although this is a small hotel, there are lots of lounge & terrace areas to sit & quite areas for those who just want to sit & read.
We often walked in to Sorrento approx 30 mins but you can take the bus which stops outside the hotel or take the train which is 1 stop to Sorrento, the train station is about 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. Most of the days out we did ourselves, Pompeii & Hreculaeum by train. Pompeii is huge & you would need nearly a full day to see everything. The only trip we did using Thomsons was to the temples at Paestrum & Solerno where alot of the soldiers in WW2 were stationed. This trip was 42euros each & was well worth the money. The temples were quite breathtaking as was the crypt in Solerno. We stayed at the Alpha for 14 nights & loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Room 203 overlooks the pool & you can see the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mandyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had an excellent trip to Alpha Hotel in July 2014. Warm welcome on arrival - we arrive late evening but a meal of cold meats and salad awaited us. Superb cuisine with a wide selection of choice at every dinner. Breakfast was extensive and the restaurant manager, Salvatore, was always eager to please. Genaro and the rest of the waiting staff were excellent. Clean, comfortable accommodation. Perfect! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel was in a quiet area and you had about a 35 minute walk into Sorrento or you could quite easily get the train or bus and the hotel could sell tickets for both the train and bus and had timetables which was very handy. It was also easy to get to Pompeii and Herculaneum on the train - again you could buy the train tickets at the hotel. The staff were excellent at the hotel and the food was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back over the garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Here with hubby and 18yr old daughter and having a fantastic time at this small and friendly Hotel. The food is 5*, the service is second to none. The whole experience is just wonderful. Salvatore and his waiting staff make every night a great experience. We would definitely return to this one. It's a little walk from Sorrento but has great transport links to Naples and beyond *****

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Alpha Hotel is just perfect. I struggle to find but a few faults with it. We stayed as a family, 3 of us in total, coming back a couple days ago. We booked this last minute through Thomson and came here purely because of the fairly reasonable price tag, and the stunning reviews. We were not disappointed! We had one of the garden rooms, overlooking the garden, which maybe wasn't quite the same views as the balcony, but was good nevertheless. The Rooms were very clean, being cleaned thoroughly every day, and there was plenty space for 3 people.

The staff were what really made the trip fantastic. They made us feel very welcome, and always were smiling and very helpful. To mention a few: Salvatore, Rocco, Genarro, Luigi among all the rest of the staff.

The food was very good. There was always so much choice, with a very nice waiter service each night and the food usually being tasty and presented well. Breakfast was also good, however there were a few corners cut, such as Tinned fruit being used instead of the masses of fresh fruit found around Sorrento.

The location was also good, as It was away from the busy confines of Sorrento so nice and quiet, but there are plenty transport options such as the train for 1.3 euros each way, and the Bus for 1.2 euros each way. The train station is maybe a 5 minute walk, The bus is either outside or a 2minute walk into the centre of Sant'Agnello.

We also visited many of the regular sights, such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, and the Amalfi coast. We chose not to do the trips provided by Thomson, as although they looked good and were available, the prices were quite high compared to us doing it on our own. For Pompeii, We took the train from Sant'Agnello, about a 30minute train ride, and got tickets there. We then decided to opt for an english tour there, by an independent tour company, which was 10euro for Adult, 5euro for Child. This was a great option and the travel/tour came to around 35euro for all of us, so much cheaper than Thomson. This was a similar story with Herculaneum, and for the Amalfi coast, we took the 'City Sightseeing,' which was 12 euros pp and dropped us in Amalfi and took us back, as well as a tour on the way there, using the beautiful coast road and headsets to hear details. This also came to a lot cheaper than the Thomson price, for an Amalfi tour.

Although Thomson holiday excursions may be expensive, Our rep, Sam, was great. She was very helpful in suggesting various places to go, and we went round the free Sorrento tour with her, which was also very nice.

All in All, A perfect holiday which even now, I struggle to find much fault with.

P.S. We also Recommend 'David's Gelateria' in Sorrento, for some of the best gelato around. It's a 1minute walk from the station, and also has a Gelato course which was great.

Room Tip: Maybe try go for a higher room with a balcony, as although the Garden rooms were nice, there was lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed with my husband & 16 year old daughter. From the start we were made to feel welcome and the service of Salvatorie, Rocco, Luigi & Genarro was second to none. Nothing was too much. The location was perfect for us being slightly out of busy Sorrento but able to travel in by bus or train for a few euros. The area of Sant' Agnello was safe and again the people were very welcoming especially in Bar Italia & Da Peppino where the food is very good.

We visited Pompeii and the Amalfi by train & local bus - much cheaper than through a tour and could take our time rather than being hearded around.

We really cannot fault our holiday and all thoroughly enjoyed it. We will return to the Alpha

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SLK1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing