We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014. We chose it after the good reviews we read on trip advisor and also thomson guest reviews. It was well run, very clean, had friendly efficient staff and the food was good (we were on half board). Special mention to the head waiter, Salvatore. He made time to speak to all the guests and nothing was too much trouble for him. We paid extra for a high floor room with a "panoramic" view. We had a view of the Sorrento bay in the distance plus mount Vesuvius. It was worth the extra. The only downside to the hotel was the lack of public transport later in the evening. It is possible to walk to and from the main square , piazza Tasso but it is around a 40 minute walk. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the train station is around 500 metres away but the last train from town was 9.37 and the last bus was 10pm. We were told a taxi would cost 25 euros for probably a ride of less than 10 mins. That was the only downside in what was a great holiday.

Room Tip: Request a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    249
    83
    12
    4
See reviews for
221
649
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Once you have adjusted to the bus timetable - it can run 10 minutes early to 10 minutes late to be on time-- life is a breeze at the Alpha -- start your day with a great breakfast and then climb on the bus and into Sorrento -- the town has so much to offer and you never get tired of watching the flow of people and traffic from one of the cafes -- get off the bus in the port and go on a day boat trip to Amalfi - 28 euros -- or Isle of Capri -- 38 euros -- Get the train to Pompeii -- 4.50 euros return plus 11 euros entry -- it s a full day job but worth it. -- you know when the days finished its back to the Alpha for dinner with Salvatore and staff in the dining room -- you will love the atmosphere and make lots of friends!

Room Tip: if you like to watch the scooters and traffic pick a room on the road side -- if you want morning su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel Alpha is in a good location outside of Sorrento in the quiet resort of Saint Agnello. The hotel was clean, welcoming and a good size. The pool area was great, surrounded by lemon trees and the road noise was not at all an issue. Breakfast was brilliant - a good selection of pastries, meats and cheese, fruit and cooked breakfast. The evening meals were relatively good for half board, although quite similar every night hence we chose to eat out three nights out of seven. Wine and beer selection was good however would not recommend the cocktails, especially for the price.

The area of Saint Agnello is a nice quiet area to be based, and had a couple of evenings spent having drinks in the area of La Marinella beach with great views of Sorrento and Vesuvius. Also would highly recommend Marinella beach over the Sorrento marinas- cheaper sun beds, black sand and water very child friendly. Often walked into Sorrento which took about 25 minutes flat walk but also used the train station for 1e30 which was very easy.

Travelled with Thomson and found the tour around Sorrento on the first day very worthwhile - especially the free tasters! The rep Sam was helpful however we avoided the Thomson excursions as they were very expensive and found we were able to do trips to Pompeii and Vesuvius on the train easily (train station in Saint Agnello only 5 minutes walk from hotel). Also explored the Amalfi coast using Sita Sud buses (tickets bought from hotel) and public ferry for at least a quarter of the price and enjoyed the freedom.

Brilliant holiday and would recommend Hotel Alpha as a relaxing base to explore the fantastic Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel Alpha was recommended to us by friends as a comfortable and convenient place to stay in Sorento and we were not disappointed The service was excellent particularly in the restaurant and bar. The food as really good and there was plenty of choice.
Our room was very clean and well furnished.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be well located and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this nice review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn we met your expectation and you were satisfied with our food, service and accommodation.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just back from another fantastic holiday at the Alpha.
This year the weather was against us with thunder, lighting and torrential rain and wind during our two week stay, but all the staff in the Alpha were their same sunny helpful selves.
Again at the helm we had Salvatore who still manages to run a tight ship even although there were new staff members, the food as always was of the very best and expertly served.
We cannot thank them enough for making our stay so enjoyable, nothing was ever any trouble and there was always helpful advice on hand.
The housekeeping was excellent with everything replaced as needed and we hired the fridge which was great for cold drinks and snack lunches.
This year we went to Naples to ‘Da Michele’ the oldest Pizzeria in the world. That was a great experience. you have to take a ticket and queue, but it was worth the wait.
We also went on a trip to Ischia and after lunch visited the Mortella Gardens, beautiful flowers, great cafe, very relaxing afternoon.
The Alpha has an amazing ambassador in Salvatore who is so kind and genuine and welcomes everyone with the same friendly smile.
We are grateful to all staff for their interesting conversations and helpful inter action with us, ensuring that we will return to this superb hotel.
Pauline and Ian (Dragon Tattoo)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windchime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Pauline and Dear Ian

It's been a pleasure to have you here again. We are glad to learn that also this year you enjoyed it with us. Thank you so much for this lovely review.
Your review is a pure moment of pride for us , since you are witness that we love our job and love our Guests , and we always do our best to make them feel in a friendly place with relaxing atmosphere.
Warm regards and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

From the moment you enter the reception you feel very welcome.We have been to this hotel five times and we would not go anywhere else in Sorrento. We have been to other hotels but this is the best so friendly and the staff can't do enough for you.The rooms are cleaned every day and the breakfast are excellent the so much to choose from as for the dinner's such a selection and the staff are wonderful especially Salvadore who could not do enough to please.I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes united kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having read many positive reviews of this hotel, we were really looking forward to a relaxing break. I will try to give a fair and balanced view of our stay. The main problem for us was the continual excessive noise. We had actually gone to the trouble beforehand of e mailing the hotel and asked if we could have a quiet room having read about noise problems, and this e mail was acknowledged by them and we were told by the hotel that they would do their best to meet this requirement.
Well I have to say, upon arrival, not only did we not get a room on the 'quiet' side of this hotel, we actually got what I think, must be the NOISIEST room there (Room 116) !!! We were as close to the road as any of the rooms could possibly be (just above the delivery entrance to the hotel) and we were also above the kitchens with all the associated noise that goes with that. We went straight down to reception and expressed our disappointment (particularly as we had gone to the trouble of e mailing the hotel prior to going away) and asked for a room change and, at first, the receptionist having looked at the computer, seemed hopeful although she didn't commit, but she said she would need to talk to the Manager first and told us to come back after our evening meal.
We went back to reception after our evening meal and were told that we would have to stay in this room until Monday (3 nights in total out of 7) until there was a changeover. I had felt from the receptionist's initial comments that there was hope and that an option may be available , however, the Manager for whatever reason did not agree to a move (maybe it would have involved an upgraded room) . As a result, we barely slept for the next 3 long nights which meant that the days were somewhat spolit as we felt so tired. I did also mention this again the next morning and tried to see if we could move but we were told again that there were no other rooms available until Monday. There was a continuous roar of Vespa motor scooters day and night right into the small hours. By trying to close this noise off, It was still impossible to sleep because the air conditioning was so noisy and rattled (and got louder after the first 20 mins) so you either had the doors open with the loud traffic or the noisy air conditioning!!
On Monday we changed room to the 'quiet' side and the room was fine.
On a positive note the hotel and bedrooms were kept spotlessly clean and the restaurant was very good. I'm sure the Head Waiter, Salvatore, is one of the main reasons that this hotel gets good reviews. He is a gentleman and very attentive and 'on the ball', with nothing being too much trouble. Breakfast can be taken outside on the terrace which is nice apart from the traffic noise.
The pool is lovely and surrounded by orange and grapefruit trees but again spoilt somewhat by the noisy road outside. You do eventually get used to it when by the pool, but for the money we paid, I would look elsewhere when returning to the Sorrento area. We actually live on a main road so we are fairly used to traffic but not at this level.
We booked with Thompsons and, if you look very closely you may see mention of a road but we could not have envisaged the impact this would have. Another holidaymaker suggested that the only way he could sleep at night was to drink loads!!!!
Although the hotel is within easy reach of Sorrento, it is not possible to go in for an evening without missing your meal at the hotel as the last train back is 9.40 p.m. and the last bus just before 10 p.m. (apparantely this bus does not always turn up and walking back is dodgy due to narrow pavements). Having enquiried, taxis cost about 25 euros from or to Sorrento which, for the distance involved is excessive.

The hotel is a little too remote from Sorrento and, having spoken to fellow holiday makers who were staying in Sorrento, there are quieter hotels in the side streets in Sorrento where you are in easy reach of bars and entertainment etc. Just be aware of this information before you book as there is little by way of entertainment here (we are over 50 by the way) and the bar was desserted by about 10 p.m. at night as most people had either gone out or gone to bed.

Room Tip: It is not always possible to get your choosen room location as we found out to our expense - be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliet060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry to read that your stay with us has not been very pleasant.
The Hotel Alpha is located next to the road that goes back and forth from the center of Sorrento. Sometimes it happens to be a little busy, especially at peak times, when the Sorrentini go to work or come back.
We actually receive many email from upcoming Guests, and we really try our best to satisfy all the requirements, and considering that this is high season a very busy period for us,sometimes it is a little complicated and not always possible; nevertheless we never say "no!", we only ask for some patience while we sort it out.
Actually we hope, if you will decide one day, to come back to Hotel Alpha and give us a second chance, you will see we really worth it.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing