We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Alpha hotel staff are all very friendly and speak very good English. The hotel room's are very clean and are a good size. There is very nice menu which has a good variety of food which changes every day. The only thing that lets it down is the coffee.The location of the hotel is very good as it's in a quiet location. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the train station is about 5 minutes away if your want to get in to Sorrento or you can walk there which only takes 30 minutes. If you book through Thomson they offer you lots of trips to go on such as wine tasting and going up mt. vesuvius in a 4x4 which were very good but expensive for a family to do. The entertainment in the hotel was also good. On Wednesdays there was live music night. Thursday night there was a Gala evening that was very enjoyalbe and on Sunday night there was Neapolitan music and Neapolitan food which everybody enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a couple of years we decided to return to Sorrento to see more of the area. We had no hesitation on re-booking the Alpha hotel. We were not disappointed. Our flight was delayed so we did not arrive until late at night. Check in was quick and efficient and was told to leave our luggage and it would be taken to our room whilst we were shown into the dinning room and seated where a lovely salad was waiting for us. This was most welcome after a long day and plane food.Our room was 115 on the roadside and sitting on your balcony could be a bit noisy with scooters but once the door was shut and the shutters down there was total silence. The hotel staff were great and always had time for us. Our room was spotless and cleaned daily and the walk in shower was wonderful. What can we say about the dinning room that has not already been said. Salvatore ran this to perfection. The choice of food was excellent and well cooked and the portions were more than ample and the cakes were to die for. On the night of my wife's birthday,the lights were lowered and a birthday cake was presented, a really lovely touch (got the date off passport at check in) the pool area was lovely and was nice to get a swim on a hot day. Travelling around from this hotel was no problem, bus stop is outside the hotel gate, train station is five minutes walk away and all of your tickets can be bought at hotel reception, just remember to validate your ticket before boarding the train. If you do not want to use one of the expensive bathing platforms, turn right as soon as you leave the hotel follow the road to the t-junction, turn left and follow the road and on the right hand side is a lift which says " lift of the sea" , this takes you down to a lovely little village called Piano with small beaches and a nice wee cafe and less than half the price. The Alpha hotel is well situated for travelling to Sorrento, Naples or Capri and also the Amalfi drive is a must. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is so friendly by both staff and guests. As you are allocated the same table for the duration of your stay, you make friends with your neighbours. It was nice to see couples we met on our previous visit and like ourselves returned to this hotel as it is wonderful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sheand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We couldn't fault this hotel. The staff were helpful and went to a great effort to make sure everything was perfect. There was a different menu every night and the food was great. The room was perfectly clean - in fact housekeeping came in the morning and then again in the evening to turn the bed down! All such excellent value for the package price we paid. It was really easy to jump on a train to get to Pompei and Herkulanium (both definitely worth a visit and no need to book tours as it's so simple to do yourself). We often walked 5mins down the road for lunch, gelato or drinks but the hotel also did a good lunch and drinks menu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank T-Sheff47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We returned to Sorrento 20 years after our first visit, to find it much the same, a lovely town for a holiday. We booked the Hotel Alpha through Thomson as a late booking and were fortunate to secure a very favourable rate for a week's half board. Excellent value, the hotel is exactly as others have said (and that's why we chose it). We found the half board food very good indeed, much better than other hotels we have stayed in. And we really enjoyed the challenge of sorting out the public transport. Not only does it save you money, you feel as if you are in real Italy, not just a tourist resort. My favourite day out was to Ischia, and the gardens La Mortella. Really beautiful, peaceful and a complete change from the frenetic bus ride from Ischia Porto as Italians sorted out their holiday hotels (tip - don't visit on a Saturday as we did, but it's not open every day so check before travelling to Ischia). We also visited Herculaneum and found it fascinating. And spent a few days down at Marina Grande where there are lovely restaurants right on the water. A really good week, thanks Alpha and Thomson.

Room Tip: Better views from higher level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It was our fourth stay at this lovely hotel and we where pleased te see that nothing has changed: they maintain their quality and concept. As we wrote before and as other reviewers wrote: the staff is extremely friendly and helpfull, the rooms are great and very clean, the pool area is very nice and the food is super. Contrary to the big hotels, the service is personal and warm.
There are two bus companies who make a stop right in front of the hotel: the linea C (1,50 euro) and another (1,20 euro), ca. every 20' although the hours are indicative depending on traffic and # of stops. Both buses take you to the centre of Sorrento and the marina.
Tip 1: unless you prefer to be taken from A to B without having to think, both the travel to the hotel from home (from Naples airport the Curreri bus takes you to Sant'Agnello in ca. 75' for 10 euro) the visits of the sites (Pompei, Capri, ...) in the area are dead easy to organise yourself, at a far lesser price and at your own pace.
Tip 2: bus trips to Amalfi/Positano are cheap but crowded, a boat trip is much more pleasant. From Amalfi take a bus to Ravello, a true gem.
For us, the Alpha is the only hotel we will stay in the Sorrento area and we are not the only ones who keep coming back (we met two couples we had seen there before).

Room Tip: We had a panoramic comfort room (2° floor, main building) which was top ! Stayed in th villa twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermanandMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014. We chose it after the good reviews we read on trip advisor and also thomson guest reviews. It was well run, very clean, had friendly efficient staff and the food was good (we were on half board). Special mention to the head waiter, Salvatore. He made time to speak to all the guests and nothing was too much trouble for him. We paid extra for a high floor room with a "panoramic" view. We had a view of the Sorrento bay in the distance plus mount Vesuvius. It was worth the extra. The only downside to the hotel was the lack of public transport later in the evening. It is possible to walk to and from the main square , piazza Tasso but it is around a 40 minute walk. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the train station is around 500 metres away but the last train from town was 9.37 and the last bus was 10pm. We were told a taxi would cost 25 euros for probably a ride of less than 10 mins. That was the only downside in what was a great holiday.

Room Tip: Request a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Once you have adjusted to the bus timetable - it can run 10 minutes early to 10 minutes late to be on time-- life is a breeze at the Alpha -- start your day with a great breakfast and then climb on the bus and into Sorrento -- the town has so much to offer and you never get tired of watching the flow of people and traffic from one of the cafes -- get off the bus in the port and go on a day boat trip to Amalfi - 28 euros -- or Isle of Capri -- 38 euros -- Get the train to Pompeii -- 4.50 euros return plus 11 euros entry -- it s a full day job but worth it. -- you know when the days finished its back to the Alpha for dinner with Salvatore and staff in the dining room -- you will love the atmosphere and make lots of friends!

Room Tip: if you like to watch the scooters and traffic pick a room on the road side -- if you want morning su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £80 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing