We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel nothing was too much trouble”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have had 2 weeks at this fantastic hotel, when we arrived our cases were taken to our room(125) and we went in to the dinning room where a meal was waiting for us.
This was the first of many great meals.
This was our 3rd time here and as always we were made to feel like family.
Salvatore took care of my Gluten Free diet, I had the menu given to me at breakfast so i was able to chose my meal for the evening then the chef would adapt the food to my needs.
The food was lovely and i had my own supply of desserts (thank you) Many thanks to Rocco,Luigi and Genaro who made us laugh.
The hotel is 5minutes from the train station and the bus stop is right out side ,where you can go anywhere.
If you walk down the side of the hotel for about 10 minutes you can get to a beach which is called piano di sorrento which is lovely (all the locals use it at the weekend).
Thank you to all the staff for great holiday and we will definitely be back as we have so much more to explore.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back looking over the mountains are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Agree with many of the positive comments on this hotel. Staff are really excellent, food is great and rooms are clean even if a little basic. The area of Sorrento is very busy so there is always noise. Most hotels in the area will suffer from this but with the windows shut at night and air con on it's not a problem. Variable reports on the air con. Our room wasn't so brilliant but our daughter's room next door was fine. The pool is quite small but it doesn't matter since many people are off out sight seeing. No charge for the sun beds unlike one of the other local hotels we viewed. Gala night is great fun and the staff really seem to really enjoy it. The location is good for local transport to Sorrento and to Pompeii and, Herculaneum. Entertainment was low key but that was fine for us even with two daughters (10 and 16). We had done lots during the day and were glad to relax at night. Despite Italy being an expensive holiday choice we would definitely go back as didn't see everything we wanted to see. Although I have never holidayed at same hotel twice I would consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for one week, the last week in July. We travelled with Thompson and chose this hotel because of the reviews and the fact that it is a Thompson Gold hotel.

This hotel is very clean and the staff are very attentive and friendly. In our opinion the food is okay to good but nothing outstanding. We stayed in room 309 which is at the back of the main hotel in the original villa part of the hotel. The room was always cleaned well and adequate for our needs.

This is definitely a couples hotel and is a good base to explore the area. However, the downside is that it is half an hour's walk from the centre of Sorrento. Unfortunately if you catch a bus these stop relatively early in the evening so if you like to go for a walk after dinner then there isn't much around, Saint Agnello is very much a poor mans Sorrento. All in all an okay hotel but we couldn't see how it has managed to keep its gold standard for as many years?

Room Tip: We suggest that you try to get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a one week stay - 2 adults and 1 teenager - and agree with all the previous reviews. The only (minor) issues were with the inadequate air conditioning which meant the room was too hot at night, and slow wi fi, but otherwise this hotel was wonderful for the price. The staff are all stars - without exception they were professional, polite, friendly and helpful, and couldn't do enough to make guests happy and feel welcomed. Cleanliness was top notch and dining experience very good. Entertainment was low key which was fine by us, and there is plenty to do in the area, good public transport meant that we did not need any organised trips and could find our own way around. There was a real mix of guests, all ages, families, friends and couples, but the pool area was never too busy or noisy - in fact the whole place has quite a 'genteel' air, but without being stuffy or formal. They have managed to hit just the right note for a relaxing stay in a hotel, and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would stay there again. Keep doing what you are doing! Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on 1st floor (104 ) which overlooked the pool ( and road behind the trees) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for one week, early August. I wont repeat info from the previous few reviews about the area generally - it's all accurate. As for the Hotel Alpha - it was fantastic! Lovely surroundings, all clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. I had emailed to ask for a room that would be quiet at night (after reading reviews on here about motorbike noise - I suspect there are few hotel rooms in the whole area that you can't hear motorbikes from and many hotels are near much busier roads!). We were given a quiet room in the annexe, towards the rear, but really, I think all the rooms here would be quiet at night with the doors closed - you wouldn't need them open at night if you have had the air con on at some point beforehand (you can turn it off if you find it noisy - we never had it on overnight and were never too hot).

People have said to ask for the main hotel and not the annexe - maybe that's down to taste really - we were perfectly happy with our annexe room (301, ground floor, quiet big) it just might be old-fashioned for some, but we thought it was just traditional with a bit of character really! All the areas around the hotel were lovely! Nice verandah outside the bar to sit in the evenings - but take insect repellent.

The food was fabulous and there were several different choices every night. I'm vegetarian and staff were very helpful explaining out the options from the menu choices, and in most cases, offered to adapt the non-veggie choices too! The only slight downside was that you don't get any kind of drink with your evening meal included, but drink prices were reasonable and overall the meal portions were very generous and included an unlimited salad bar every night. There were drinks with breakfast though, which again had plenty of choices and was a buffet.

We were very happy with this lovely hotel and would visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear, facing the garden are probably quieter. Room 301 is in the annexe, toward th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cat139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I (early 50's) stayed here half board for a week from 25/7/14 - 01/08/14. Booked last minute and consider the hotel a gem. We stayed in the villa which was separate to the main hotel. The room (314) was fairly large and very comfortable. However, the shower was in a sloping part of the room and my husband who is 6ft caght the top of his head on the slope a couple of times. It was not a problem for me being a bit shorter at 5ft 7. I have no idea what the rooms in the main hotel are like or the other rooms in the villa as I think they are all different. I am wheat/gluten free. Not a problem for the hotel. I was well fed and catered for. Lots of choice. Pool and pool area was beautiful. Lined with orange and lemon trees - the fruit was very tasty. Never crowded around the pool, always had a choice of sun bed in shade or sun. It is about a 40 minute walk to Tasso Square down the Corsa Italia. You can catch a bus from outside the hotel into Sorrento. Bus tickets are available from the hotel reception. You can also catch a different bus from St Agnello Square, a 3 minute walk away. Again tickets available from hotel reception as well as the normal Tabachi shop. We walked down to the local marina and also walked to Piano Sorrento and Meta. A lovely area to walk around and discover. Just down the road from the hotel is St Agnello Square where you can buy the locally produced wine for less than 2 euros. It tastes great. Help yourself buffet style breakfast. A vast selection to choose from both hot and cold. Waiter service dinner but not stuffy, very relaxed. You can purchase snacks and lunch extra at very reasonable prices, which compare very well to the restaurants in Sorrento town. The staff are amazing. Very polite and friendly. Always happy to help. My husband and I will definitely return to this hotel. I would also recomnmend looking at the hotel's notice board (near Reception by the stairwell) for local trips etc as they are better value than the Thompson trips we were offered. The one and only negative point about the hotel is that they do not provide a spare room to shower after checkout. This was a bit of a problem as we had to checkout at 10.00 am but our flight wasn't until 7.00 pm. We were allowed to use the pool and also had lunch at the hotel but it would have been nice to have had the option to shower before going home. However, this did not in anyway spoil the holiday for us and as I said before - we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank axl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Alpha for a week in July. When we arrived we were given the wong room and when I mentioned it the staff were mortified that they had slipped up and immediately rectified the situation. giving us a room with a pool view which was fantastic.
The staff were always polite, cheerful and amazingly helpful and it was a pleasure to have met them. The food was also fab, very Italian with a good choice every evening.
The pool and bathing area were clean with piped music. It was easy from there to visit Sorrento on the bus , train or a half an hour walk. The bus stopped immediately outside the hotel and we foun it to be on time.
The train to Pompeii was just a gentle stroll away and the hotel sold train and bus tickets which made everything very easy.
The visit to Capri and Amalphi Coast was something to remember, we booked the Amalphi Drive Elite, we didn't fancy going on the basic buses as they seemed very crowded.
I could go on and on. The area is to die for with so much to see and do. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Alpha and Sorrento. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the pool are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susiequeue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: £82 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing