We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at the Alpha”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation at the Alpha”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel is a good choice for anyone looking to holiday in the Sorrento area. Although not in Sorrento itself (it's situated in Sant'Agenllo) there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you directly into Sorrento and to the harbour which is very useful. The hotel is also only a 20min walk from the centre of Sorrento and its 5minutes from the main Circumvesuvia train which runs from Naples to Sorrento at regular intervals.

The hotel itself is set in beatiful grounds - even the pool is surrounded by orange and lemon trees - and is very clean. There are plently of sun loungers around the pool and the pool itself is good for swimming in (although it is a little chilly at times!). There is a nice terrace to have drinks on an evening or a bite to eat at lunch.

Food at the hotel is above average and the staff go out of their way to make sure you always have something to eat which you like. The gala evenings are a fun way to try new foods and make for a fun evening. The bar staff are also friendly and helpful although it can take a while to get your drinks! The prices are not cheap but then none of the bars and restaurants in this area offer any better value.

Overall, given the hotel facilities, the location and the friendly staff this hotel is a great choice if you are looking for a holiday in the Sorrento area

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    257
    89
    12
    4
See reviews for
230
680
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

First of all I must say we did have a lovely holiday staying at the Alpha. We chose it partly because of the reviews on the food. My first disapointment came with breakfast, if you went down before 8am there was no hot food (except boiled eggs) and when the cooked breakfast was available it was watery scrambled eggs and Italian bacon (not a problem). There was however a better choice of cold breakfast fare. We had lunch a few times at the hotel, the chicken salad being one of the highlights, lovely! Dinner for us, only got above a 90% score a couple of nights, the other nights it was fine but nothing to write home about. Reviewers had given a food score of 100%, we did not expect AL a Carte but we felt a bit let down. On the plus side are the staff, who were just great at making you feel pampered. Pre dinner cocktails are advisable, as are the post dinner cocktails. We had no problems with the temperature of our room, it was perfect. The pool is just big enough for a healthy swim, it does not open till 9am and no towels are allowed before then, but there was always somewhere to bed down anyway! The hotel is on a fairly busy road but we did not notice the traffic noise. As we were only there for a week and needed a rest from work etc. we went on Thomson trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum (a day trip with just 16 people) which we can recommend, Vesuvius, wear suitable shoes, and Capri, well you need a lot of money! The wine tasting evening was great! learnt a fair bit from a chap who loves his wine! So yes I can recommend this hotel, but the food score we believe to be overated.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Alpha for two weeks at the end of August and into early September. We had a lovely time and the hotel was an excellent base to see Sorrento and the surrounding areas.

We stayed on a half bord basis and the dinners were very good - although be warned you will put on a few pounds. There was a good variety of choices on the menu most nights. Tow nights each week were a little differnet though. One night was a sampling menu where you got two or three small portions of different dishes to try on each plate. The other was the Gala Dinner night. There are already plenty of pictures and comments in other reviews, so I won't say anything about the Gala dinner.

Service at reception, in reception and in the bar was always very good. A special thank you to Luigi for looking after us each night and for his (very good) cocktails.

The hotel location is a little out of Serrento, but we didn't mind having to take the single stop journey on the train. It is also walkable but takes a good half hour to get there. Wee made th mistake of walking along the main "Corso Italia" the first time we went into Sorrento. But the second time we went to the right when leaving the hotel and followed the slightly longer but altogether less hazardous route.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel Alpha.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The room was hot (26 degrees C/79 degrees F) resulting in an unpleasant stay. We asked several times for the staff to make the room cooler. The room temp was controlled by the front desk, not the thermostat in your room. If you opened your balcony door, the AC would turn off. So every morning when we left the hotel, we'd close and lock the balcony door and shut the blinds hoping to come back to a cool room. But the hotel staff would come into our room and crack open the balcony door.
The hallways were loud and the walls were paper thin. In fact, our room (223) had a locked door to the bathroom of the adjacent room. I could hear our neighbor on the toilet, brushing his teeth, and taking a shower (see picture, although I should have filmed a movie for the true effect!)
To enter your room, you swipe your key and the buzzer would notify you it was unlocked. You could here this wretched noise and doors slamming all around you.
On a positive note, hotel staff was nice, breakfast was good, rates were inexpensive, pool area and bartender were enjoyable. I would strongly recommend eating dinner at Il Capanno - a short walk from the hotel. It was the best meal we had in Sorrento/Sant Agnello area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha-Hotel, Manager at Alpha Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear VAtraveler57,

I am sorry if you felt the temperature of your room too high for you; I am writing to confirm that it is set on 23 degrees which is an average comfort temperature but with a range of – 5 or + 5 degrees that everyone can properly adjust by the A/C control to suit their own needs; it was exactly the same situation for the other approximately 130 guests who were in house at that time and did not complain at all, as in September the temperatures begin to fall compared to the muggy July and mid-August periods.

I assure you that none came in the room on purpose to open the balcony. Rather, the maids cleaned every day and tidied the rooms, sweeping, washing and replacing the towels, sheets, etc, as provides for a 4 star hotel service, leaving the balcony open to give an airing.
The A/C switch off automatically with the open balcony as the Hotel Alpha is equipped with a sophisticated building automation software that helps to avoid unnecessary wastage of energy in accordance with directions provided by the protocol UNI EN ISO 14001:2004 (Environmental Management System) that our hotel meticulously follows the guidelines and is certified with N. IT06/1351 since 2006, being very attentive to environmental issues that concern us. In fact, all this is written in the room directory that is located on the writing-table in the room, so if you did want to have the closed balcony when not in house you could have said it directly to the maid or simply calling the front desk and the problem could have been quickly resolved.

With reference to the locked door, I hereby inform you that the Hotel Alpha is equipped with some interconnecting rooms enabling to accommodate even large families that exceed the four persons. The door itself does not open at all in the bathroom but the next room lobby. While not experienced this problem with other clients, I can understand your nuisance and this issue will surely be one of the aspects to improve for next season.
We are all striving for continuous improvement of services offered, improved comfort and a greater satisfaction of our customers.

Finally, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Alpha Hotel in Sorrento Coast and to have found many positive features like a good value for money, a good breakfast, an enjoyable pool area and a nice Staff, whom I treasure and I'll be honoured to express the compliments from you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed at the Alpha for a few days in August 2009 and had a really lovely time. The hotel is well situated in our opinion. We didn’t feel it was at all noisy and after walking into the very noisy and busy Sorrento, we felt the Alpha was in a perfect spot – 5 minutes walk from Sant’Agnello train station, 25 minute walk into Sorrento itself and close to a supermarket and small selection of bars and cafes. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and the service was excellent, the staff could not do enough for you. We were half board and there was a brilliant choice on the menu each night. The first night we were there was a gala night and the selection on the buffet table for the first course was absolutely amazing. This was followed by a gorgeous pasta dish and then a choice of main course. The dessert table was also fabulous, with a choice of around 8 different desserts. Other nights there was a choice of around 7 starters and 7 main courses. The service was attentive in the restaurant but you could take as little or as much time over your meals as you wished. It was also possible to save any wine or water for the next evening, or if you had bought any at lunchtime, you could request for it to be put on your table to finish in the evening. There was also a good lunch menu, which included both snacks and more substantial meals. The waiter service by the pool was excellent and the pool itself was very clean and never crowded, good for either swimming (it’s very deep) or just sitting in! There is a small childrens pool too as the depth of the main pool is prohibitive. We often enjoyed cocktails which were expertly prepared by Luigi the barman who was very happy to make suggestions! There was always either a sun lounger or reclining chair available although it would have been better to have more sun loungers rather than chairs in our opinion. The pool area didn’t open till 8.30-9am which meant there was no early morning scramble to put towels on beds! Even when we put towels out at this time on the way to or from breakfast, there was plenty available. We arrived in Sant’Agnello via the circumversuviana train from Naples as we had been in Rome and travelled to Napoli Centrale station by train. However, we were flying back from Naples airport and decided to take the bus from the square which runs every 2 hours and takes an hour and a half. It was 10 euros each and was easy – it also took a route along the coast and the views were fabulous which was an added bonus. In the future, if we are going direct to Sorrento from Naples airport, we would take this comfy air conditioned bus rather than the rather hot and dirty circumversuviana! We would have no hesitation is recommending the Hotel Alpha and really hope we will be able to return there before too long.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTudors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Hotel Alpha was a pleasant base from which to explore Sorrento, Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a nice balcony facing the hills. The staff were very cordial and helpful. It offers a complete breakfast, with inside and outside tables. Nice pool and gardens. Despite the short distance to the center of Sorrento, it is not an easy walk, with limited sidewalks along narrow and busy streets. The immediate area has a few restaurants, but is not tourist oriented. There is frequent public bus service to Sorrento (about 15 minutes). The train to Naples and Pompeii is just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

A perfect base for visitng the Amalfi Coast. Away form the hustle and bustle and only a couple of minutes to Sorrento by train and or bus to the port which is very important for ferry access to Capri, Positano and Amalfi. The service was outstanding and all the staff were always more than willing to help. We had a room with a "pamormic view" which is worth the extra charge. We booked the half board option and the food was delicious especially the desserts!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing